It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following library databases can be accessed from the Databases page.
Films on Demand - Provides streaming films from sources such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational. Kanopy - Provides streaming videos on a variety of subjects; includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Alexander Street Videos - Multidisciplinary collection contains thousands of videos.
Library Streaming Videos for Statistical Methods Courses
Films on Demand (6 min)
Statistics is the art and science of gathering, organizing, analyzing and drawing conclusions from data. Without rudimentary knowledge of how it works, people are ill-equipped to make informed judgments and evaluations of a wide variety of things encountered in daily life.
Films on Demand (29:12 min)
After concisely defining the purpose of statistics, section one of this program uses Five-Card Charlie’s Fuzzy Dice Cola to examine the concepts of population and sampling and to catalogue the elements of statistical problems. In section two, data derived from the National Martyr Competition provides an opportunity to set up a relative frequency histogram, which involves classes and their widths, boundaries, frequencies, and relative frequencies.