Films on Demand (10:49)
In this video, you will discover how compassionate leaders care about their team's emotional and life needs and recognize that happier employees are more engaged and perform twice as well as those whose staff feel unvalued and uncared for.
Films on Demand (7 min)
Conflicts are a good opportunity to build trust and intimacy in business and personal relationships. Letting go of right and wrong is essential to resolution.
Films on Demand (4:37 min)
According to Percolate’s James Gross, social media is now an integral part of doing business today. This ABC News report discusses how businesses need to constantly create new content to feed to these sites and keep their customers interested.
Films on Demand (47 min)
Defining organizational culture, this program looks at power culture, role culture, task culture, and people culture in a business. It also discusses group norms in a business.
Films on Demand (31 sec)
Using the metaphor of what he calls the "emotional bank account," Dr. Stephen R. Covey, leadership expert and chairman of the Covey Leadership Center, talks about creating trust among employees. He notes that, just as a bank account can be added to over time through deposits, trust can likewise be gradually increased by keeping promises, treating employees with kindness and dignity, and apologizing for mistakes.
Films on Demand (31 sec)
Dr. Stephen R. Covey, leadership expert and chairman of the Covey Leadership Center, talks about the relationship between trust and communication. According to Dr. Covey, when trust is high, communication is effortless and instantaneous.
Films on Demand Segment from "Selling Yourself First: Sales and Service Masterclass" (2:17 min)
Peter Quarry introduces his panel of experts. Trust is critical in successful business relationships.
Films on Demand (13:35 min)
In this episode, Anne and Kim have multiple issues with each other, from personal hygiene and personal space, to insensitive comments and work attire, this relationship is spinning out of control. Finally, Anne takes the lead and starts an open discussion on their differences.
Films on Demand (13:33 min)
This episode is an excellent case study of a major product delivery disaster and a very angry client—all superbly managed by a very skillful account manager.
Films on Demand (15 min)
Bullying, harassment, and sexual harassment are not acceptable in any workplace, but workers don’t always know when they’ve crossed the line, and victims don’t always know how to report it. This episode features dramatized scenarios that provide triggers to help identify these situations, and help employees discuss strategies for reporting and overcoming them.
Internet Videos for MIOP 516
These videos are freely available online.
"Best Internal Social Networks for Business" - Social Media Minute with Jan Rezab
"Creating a culture of trust, one slice at a time" - Nick Sarillo (TEDxTU)
"Equity Theory and Organizational Justice" - MeanThat & Authentic Data Science
"Measuring Trust and Social Capital" - Joseph Stiglitz (Sciences Po)
"The Importance of Trust in an Organization" - HRAttitudeNow
"The Myths of Employee Motivation" - Dan Lok
"The Sociological Science Behind Social Networks and Social Influence" - Nicholas Christakis (Big Think)
"Opening new organizational communication loops" - Sarah Magill (TEDxCoMo)
"The Psychology behind social media" - Barbara Dolgova (TEDxLSE)
"A Quick Look at Social Network Analysis" - Mod•U: Powerful Concepts in Social Science
"Social Capital and New Communication and Information Technologies" - Social Media & Society Cluster (Rutgers School of Communication & Information)
"Trust in Organisations" - Pauline Voortman (TEDxRadboudU 2013)
"What is Organizational Communication?" - Matthew Koschmann
"What is Organizational Communication? 2.0" - Matthew Koschmann
The following library databases can be accessed from the Databases page.
Films on Demand - Provides streaming films from sources such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational. Kanopy - Provides streaming videos on a variety of subjects; includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Alexander Street Videos - Multidisciplinary collection contains thousands of videos.
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing. Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.
