LibGuides: MIOP: Streaming Videos

Library Streaming Videos for MIOP 521

Business strategy
Films on Demand - (18:14 min)
This program explores various aspects of business strategy through street and expert interviews, features a range of individuals experienced in developing and implementing business strategies. Topics discussed include mission statements, aims and objectives, business culture, measuring success, and growth.
Change management and strategic planning
Kanopy (47 min)
Dr. Katz explains six principles for effective implementation: leadership, persistence, exibility, a clear vision, a comprehensive perspective, and a process for adverse opinions. She shares examples and efforts within Stanford University that provide a model for successful change.
Critical Issues in Business: Success and Failure
Films on Demand (16:46 min)
This program reveals the inner workings of organizations and the factors that influence their effective operation. Business experts from a range of industries discuss the importance of the business plan, financing and budgeting, management of staff, SWOT (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats) analysis, trend analysis, investment in technology, and ways to identify competitive advantage in the market.
Introduction to Strategic Planning: Increasing the Impact
Alexander Street Video (1 hr 1 min)
This instructional video, produced by Wisconsin Public Television, is about creating strategic plans, with special emphasis on non-profit organizations.
Managing Change in a Large Organization
Films on Demand (29:41 min)
This program explains how Club Med on Lindeman Island, Australia, effectively retooled itself to comply with the law. Topics covered include driving forces and restraining forces, the importance of strong leadership and open communication during a period of change, potential resistance from employees and external stakeholders, the benefits of hiring a change agent, and the use of key performance indicators to help define and evaluate progress during a change.
Organizational Structures: Introduction and Case Study
Films on Demand (32:16 min)
All businesses have structures. Some may be hierarchical, some may be flat. But how does the structure affect the way decisions are taken? This program discusses “span of control” and “chain of command”and differentiates between a centralized and a decentralized organization? It also considers the problems of silos as opposed to establishing cross-functional teams.

Internet Videos for MIOP 521

These videos are freely available online.

LibGuide Curator

Sarah Alston

She/Her(s)

Email Me

Need help? Ask a Librarian!

Library Video Databases

The following library databases can be accessed from the Databases page.

Films on Demand - Provides streaming films from sources such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational.
Kanopy - Provides streaming videos on a variety of subjects; includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Alexander Street Videos - Multidisciplinary collection contains thousands of videos.

Quick Links

Bellevue University Library
BUILD IT
An online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services
Copyright Center
Cyberactive Online Classroom
Interlibrary Loan
Library Databases
Library Hours/Contacts

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Research Assistance Program
A member of the reference team will work with you one-on-one throughout your academic career to answer your questions about the research process.
Writing Center
Zoom for Reference
Need help? Sign up for a 60-minute Zoom session with the Library Reference Team. Sessions are offered Monday through Friday 9-6 PM.