LibGuides: BS in Education: Videos

Library Video Databases

The following library databases can be accessed from the Databases page.

Alexander Street Video - Multidisciplinary collection contains thousands of videos.
Films on Demand - Provides streaming films from sources such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational
Kanopy - Provides streaming videos on a variety of subjects; includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.

Here is a FULL LIST of library databases that include streaming videos.

Videos from Library Databases

Communicating Social Support
Films on Demand, from Series, "Teaching Diverse Learners" ( 13 min)
Beginning teachers often don’t anticipate the challenges that high-needs students present. This video provides supportive strategies that boost the success of special needs learners
Balancing Learning Standards with Diverse Learning .Needs
Films on Demand, part of series "Teaching Diverse Learners" (17:50 min
If diversity and special needs are prominent factors in a learning environment, teachers may have to juggle mandated standards with students’ personal challenges. This video addresses that balancing act, demonstrating how experienced educators have mastered it.
ESL Students in the Mainstream Classroom
Films on Demand (24:45 min)
It is vital for teachers to consider the language used in their subject area from an ESL learner's point of view. This informative program helps teachers accommodate ESL learners with real-life classroom examples and practical strategies..

Internet Videos

These videos are freely available online.

CBS News - The difference between sexual orientation and gender identity

Meeting the Needs of Diverse Learners

Teacher Tube
Free video sharing site for educators. (Contains a lot of advertising and have to jump through some hoops to get to the actual video)

Teaching Channel
“Teaching Channel’s mission is to create an environment where teachers can watch, share, and learn new techniques to help every student grow. We believe teachers should have opportunities to learn from each other… whenever they want; and teachers tell us that video has become essential to helping them see a broad range of approaches for working with students and for fostering self-reflection.”

Contains a wide variety of videos for teachers on a variety of topics, grade levels K-12