It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BS in Education: Videos
Click on the course tabs below for resources related to that course.
Streaming videos from the Library databases and the Internet for EDUC 400 - Classroom Management
Library Video Databases
The following library databases can be accessed from the Databases page.
Films on Demand - Provides streaming films from sources such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational. Kanopy - Provides streaming videos on a variety of subjects; includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Alexander Street Videos - Multidisciplinary collection contains thousands of videos.
Films on Demand (32:15)
Classroom management includes teacher actions engaging students or eliciting cooperation. Teachers should help students separate themselves from their behavior, establish clear classroom rules, acknowledge appropriate behavior, provide prompt responses for inappropriate behavior, and be consistent with rewards and consequences.
Films on Demand (27 min)
This program takes a holistic approach to classroom management with a mix of preventive strategies and damage control that will enable teachers to retain order so they can more effectively educate their students.
Films on Demand (50:12 min)
Palming is an exercise that gives the visual system a chance to rest. Dr. Eddy demonstrates this technique. The retina needs darkness in order to refuel itself. Palming allows each child to create a quiet space.
Alexander Street Videos (14 min)
"Miranda Krestovnikoff tackles the topic of classroom environment for a primary NQT in Essex, Jamie Parker. First she meets Tim Benson, the head teacher of one of the UK's largest primary schools, who offers some advice on getting the students involved in displays and making sure they reflect the diversity of the school community.
Alexander Street Videos (5 min)
Sue Cowley reflects on a day's filming at Welford Primary in Birmingham with NQT Chris Farnen's Y5 class of thirty mixed ability pupils. In this video they focus on how Chris copes with the wide range of abilities in his class.
Alexander Street Videos (1 min)
This brief segment shows an example of how a teacher can diffuse the tension of a student's angry outburst in a classroom, and how to resolve the issue in a calming manner..
Alexander Street Videos (27 min)
Powerful, positive interventions for your most challenging students
Proven strategies for students with mental health conditions including ODD, ADHD, anxiety, depression and mood disorders
Specific intervention strategies for problem behavior in the classroom