LibGuides: BS in Education: Videos

Library Video Databases

The following library databases can be accessed from the Databases page.

Films on Demand - Provides streaming films from sources such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational.
Kanopy - Provides streaming videos on a variety of subjects; includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Alexander Street Videos - Multidisciplinary collection contains thousands of videos.

Videos from Library Databases

American Teacher
Films on Demand (1 hr 19 min)
This video chronicles the stories of four teachers who live and work in disparate urban and rural areas of the country. The film shows us the experiences of these four young teachers as they recognize the importance of what they do, and how much they love what they do, but ask: can I afford to continue to teach?
The Beginning Teacher
Films on Demand (23:24 min)
The Beginning Teacher provides valuable advice and a variety of strategies to support new educators as they prepare for their first teaching appointment.
Succeeding as a Teacher: Planning Instruction
Alexander Street Videos (28 min)
here are many aspects to planning meaningful instruction. Understanding your students’ physical, social emotional, moral and cognitive development and how these factors influence learning, will help you create developmentally appropriate learning opportunities for your students
What Kind of Teacher Will You Be?
Alexander Street Videos (45 min)
the lecture is about the students identifying themselves as learners to begin with and seeing what ways they create barriers to their own learning and how they overcome those barriers

Internet Videos

These videos are freely available online.

Common Core Implementation Video Series
To further aid states as they continue to implement the Common Core State Standards (Standards), the Hunt Institute and the Council of Chief State School Officers have commissioned a series of video vignettes that explain the Standards in far greater depth.

New Teacher Survival Guide Series (from the Teaching Channel)
See “Related Videos” for more videos from this series.

The New Teacher Experience Grades 9-12 (56 min, from the Teaching Channel)

BS in Education: Videos

EDUC 210 Videos

Library Video Databases

Videos from Library Databases

Internet Videos