It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BS in Education: Videos
Click on the course tabs below for resources related to that course.
Streaming videos from the Library databases and the Internet for EDUC 240 - Educational Psychology/Human Growth and Development.
Library Video Databases
The following library databases can be accessed from the Databases page.
Films on Demand - Provides streaming films from sources such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational. Kanopy - Provides streaming videos on a variety of subjects; includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Alexander Street Videos - Multidisciplinary collection contains thousands of videos.
Films on Demand (26 min)
This program traces the history of educational psychology from ancient philosophy to modern theories. It explores the ideas of such figures as Plato, Aristotle, Vives, Herbert, Thorndike, James, Hall, Dewey, Cubberley, Binet, Piaget, Steiner, Bloom, Bandura, Vygotsky, and Bruner.
Films on Demand (32:15 min)
This program explores instructional design, educational technology, curriculum development, organizational learning, special education, and classroom management. It outlines the cognitive, academic, social, and moral goals of learning; presents behavioral, cognitive, functionalist, and constructivist theories of learning; and looks at qualitative and quantitative methods of pedagogical analysis.
Films on Demand, segment from "Educational Psychology in the Classroom" (32:15 min)
n constructivism, students take charge of learning, rather than receiving knowledge. Motivation theory increases student self-esteem by promoting self-reliance and self-determination. Learn about the attention perception memory retrieval continuum and the Atkinson-Shiffrin memory model.
Films on Demand, part of series "The Learning Classroom: Theory into Practice" (28 min)
This program introduces the main themes of the course. Teacher interviews and classroom footage illustrate why learning theory is at the core of good classroom instruction and demonstrate the broad spectrum of theoretical knowledge available for use in classroom practice.
Films on Demand (57"11 min)
This program studies the knowledge-building process that typically occurs in childhood by observing 25 six-year-olds as they adapt to the challenges of their surroundings. Focuses on seven key areas in which learning takes place—musical ability, logic, emotional understanding, creativity, narrative skill, spatial reasoning, and physical dexterity,