Skip to main content

Education: Videos

Click on the course tabs below for resources related to that course.

Streaming videos from the Library databases and the Internet for EDUC 360 - Secondary Reading and Writing Across the Curriculum.

Library Video Databases

The following library databases can be accessed from the Databases page.

Films on Demand - Provides streaming films from sources such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational.
Kanopy - Provides streaming videos on a variety of subjects; includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Alexander Street Videos - Multidisciplinary collection contains thousands of videos.

Important! 
If videos are not visible, they are being blocked by the security settings in your browser. Click on the red x in the address bar of your browser and allow content.

If you are not logged into the online library, please login before playing videos.

Videos from Library Databases

The Literacy Coaching Series (Kanopy), six videos total time 159 min. (2011)

The Literacy Coaching Series (LCS) is a "workshop in a box" for literacy leaders who want to help teachers enhance their practice and improve their students' reading achievement. The LCS is based on several research studies that were conducted to examine the relationship between literacy coaching and student reading achievement. The results of these studies were used to help develop the Targeted Coaching Model.

Internet Videos

These videos are freely available online.

AdLit.org (All about Adolescent Literacy) Video & Multimedia

Various videos related to adolescent literacy sorted by topic, including: comprehension, content area instruction, fluency, vocabulary, and writing.

Purdue OWL: An Introduction to Writing Across the Curriculum

by OWL@Purdue, June 24, 2011, 5:12 min.
This vidcast provides an overview of Writing Across the Curriculum (WAC)