Library Policies & Procedures: Information Academic Freedom Process/Policy

 

Document Title:                     Information Academic Freedom Process/Policy       

Supports Policy Number:        PS1011, PS1977

Applies to:                              All Students, Faculty, Staff, Alumni, Community User, General Public & Reciprocal Borrowers

PURPOSE

To provide an interpretation of general intellectual freedom principles in an academic library setting and to raise awareness of the intellectual freedom context within which academic librarians work.

PROCEDURES

1. Intellectual Freedom – The Library adheres to the principles of intellectual freedom as outlined in the Library Bill of Rights of the American Library Association. It is the responsibility of the library staff and all faculty selecting materials to ensure that all points of view on current and historical issues are represented in the collection and that materials are not removed from the collection because of partisan or doctrinal disapproval.
2. The privacy of library users is and must be inviolable. Policies should be in place such as FERPA that maintain confidentiality of library borrowing records and of other information relating to personal use of library information and services.
3. The Freeman Lozier Library strives to include a diverse range of physical and electronic resources to serve the varied needs and interests of the students, employees and community members who use the library. The materials in the library collection are selected and deselected based on the guidelines in the Collection Development Statement.
4. Libraries should provide materials and information presenting diverse points of view on current and historical issues. Materials should not be prescribed or removed because of partisan or doctrinal disapproval.
5. The Library offers access to its collections and services to all patrons, regardless of race, age, educational level, socioeconomic status, sexual orientation, or any other qualification or condition. In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, individuals with disabilities will be able to access the same services the University offers to non-disabled individuals. 
6. The Library provides open and unfiltered access to the Internet. Content filtering devices and content-based restrictions are a contradiction of the academic library mission to further research and learning through exposure to the broadest possible range of ideas and information. Such restrictions are a fundamental violation of intellectual freedom in academic libraries. Computer usage is subject to the university’s Code of Conduct policy.
7. The Freeman Lozier Library endorses the following statements from the American Library Association, which further explain the core principles supported by libraries:
   1. Intellectual Freedom Principles for Academic Libraries: An Interpretation of the Library Bill of Rights
   2. Privacy: An Interpretation of the Library Bill of Rights
   3. Core Values of Librarianship for ALA
   4. Diverse Collections: An Interpretation of the Library Bill of Rights

Reconsideration of Library Resources

1. Library staff recognize the right of library users to raise concerns about resources, programs, displays, services, and exhibits in the library and will listen to the concern respectfully.
2. A library supervisor will then provide an explanation of the library policy.
3. If, after discussing the policy, no resolution has been reached, the supervisor may invite the patron to submit a Request for Reconsideration of Library Resources form. The form will be sent to Library administration for review.
4. An acknowledgement of the form submission will be sent within 15 days. The Library administration may invite the patron for a meeting to discuss the concern.
5. The person making the challenge will be notified in writing by the Library Director of the final decision and any action to be taken within 60 business days.

Supports Policy:                    Collection Development Statement , Code of Conduct policy

Supporting Documentation:    Library Bill of Rights  

Intellectual Freedom Principles for Academic Libraries: An Interpretation of the Library Bill of Rights

Privacy: An Interpretation of the Library Bill of Rights,

Core Values of Librarianship for ALA

Diverse Collections: An Interpretation of the Library Bill of Rights

FERPA

Keywords:                              Information Freedom, Library, Bill of Rights, Code of Conduct, Diversity, Inclusivity, Equality, Resources, Library collection, Displays, Programs, Services, Exhibits, Reconsideration, Privacy, Core Values, 

Responsible Office:                Library

Contact Information:              Library

                                                402-557-7314

Approved by:                          Robin Bernstein         

Effective Date:                        6/26/2023