What is JSTOR Business Collections?
JSTOR (short for journal storage) Business Collections is a searchable full-text database that contains the archives of academic business journals. The journals in this database are generally archived back to the original issue and most are current to within one to five years of the present.
How to access JSTOR Business Collections
Mouse over Find on the library homepage then click on Databases. Now click on "J" under "Browse by Title" then on JSTOR Business Collections. If off-campus, you will be prompted for your BRUIN Connect login. Once you are logged into one database, you are logged into all of them until you close your browser.
How to search
There is a quick search box on the homepage, as well as a link to the advanced search. Another option is searching by citation. Also available for testing is a new smarter search, still in Beta.
- Basic Search
Enter your search terms in the search box. Enclose search phrases in quotation marks.
- Advanced Search
Click on the advanced search tab for more search options. You may enter multiple search terms and use the drop-down menu to select search fields, such as title, author, abstract, and caption. You may also add rows for additional search terms. JSTOR also provides links to full-text articles on external sites outside of JSTOR though you can uncheck this option if desired. You can also select a date range and choose the type of document you want to view, and can further limit your results by choosing only the disciplines or specific journal you wish to search.
- Search Smarter (Beta)
This is still under development at this time, but give it a test drive and see what you think. Enter a search term or phrase as for Basic Search.
- Citation Locator
Click on the Search tab and choose this option if you have a specific article you want to find. Enter in as much information about the article as you have, including the article title (item title), author, volume, issue, and so on. Use the drop-down menu to select the publication title. If you are not sure of the journal title, you may make multiple selections from the drop-down menu by holding the ctrl key down.
Search Results and Viewing an Article
Once you have completed a search, a list of articles will be displayed by relevance, though they may be resorted by date. You may get a "Quick View" of an article in the results list by clicking on the magnifying glass nes=xt to the article title. There are two options for reading an article:
- Reading Pane.
Click on the title of the article to view it in a reading pane.
- Right above the reading pane, it will tell you how many times your search terms appeared in the article and link to the pages where the terms appeared. Your search terms are highlighted when the article is viewed in the reading pane.
- Use the back and forward arrows to “turn” the pages.
- You may use the links to the "previous" and "next" articles to view these without returning to your results list.
- Click on "Summary" to quickly view the abstract, references, times cited, and other information about the article. Some of this information is also found on the page to the right of the reading pane.
- On the page in the area above the reading pane are "Tools" which include viewing the PDF and viewing the citation. However, this citation is not in APA format.
- PDF Format.
Click on the PDF link on the results page to view it in this format, or click on the PDF link in the tools above the reading pane. The PDF will open in a separate window after you agree to terms and conditions.
Smarter Search Results (Beta)
This is still under development so features may change.
- Options for refining your search are displayed to the left of the search results. These include publication year, content type, and subject.
- Click on the double arrow to the right of the article information to display the abstract, tools, and a sampling of where some of your search terms appeared in the article.
- Choose from these available formats to view the article: View, PDF, and Summary. "View" is the Reading Pane format as described above. Clicking on the title of the article from the results list will also bring you to the Reading Pane format.
Browsing
This option is basically for locating publications and not specific articles. Click on the Browse tab at the top of any page. You have the option of browsing by subject or publication, publication title, or publisher:
- Browse by Subject
There are nine main subject areas, each with a number of topics listed, and in parentheses is the number of related publications.
- Click on a topic to see all the publications displayed alphabetically with the dates of availability. We have access only to journal articles and not books. An "x" to the left of the publication indicates that only the citation is available and not the full article. Most full-text content will be from the Business area,.as this is the Business Collection.
- Click on an available journal title to access, then click on the desired issue to view the articles in that issue.
- Browse by Title
Use this option to go directly to an alphabetical list of all publications included in this database. Since all publications for JSTOR are listed and not just the ones from the Business Collections that our library subscribes to, this is not the most efficient way to locate a specific journal in JSTOR. Use Journal Holdings on the library homepage instead.
- Browse by Publisher
You may also browse through the alphabetical list of publishers and their publications. This is also for the entire JSTOR collection and not just the business collections.
Printing, Saving, and Emailing Articles
Open the article in PDF format. You may print, save, or email your article from the PDF toolbar in the PDF view. You must have a PDF Reader installed to use this feature. There is also an email option on the reading pane view; however, only the citation will be emailed.
Other features and tips for using
- You can avoid this by logging into your account when you begin searching.
- You can set up a personal account in JSTOR to save articles and searches, by clicking on the MyJSTOR tab at the top of the page.
- JSTOR has many video tutorials and help screens to aid you. Click on Help in the top right area of the page, then click on Video Tutorials to see all the available tutorials. Click on General Support, then "Students & Users" and finally "Using JSTOR," now choose the "Search Help" tab or one of the other tabs, for detailed information on using JSTOR.
JSTOR (library research tutorial)
mm 8-13
