Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works
A Bellevue University library Guide
What is Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works?
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works contains more than 2,000 transcripts of therapy sessions, 44,000 pages of client narratives and 25,000 pages of major reference works. There are diaries, letters, autobiographies, oral histories, and personal memoirs along with the full text of therapy and counseling sessions. All accounts are non-fiction, delivered in the first person and, where possible,contemporaneous.
How to access Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works
Mouse over Find on the library homepage then click on Databases. Now click on the letter C under Browse by title and scroll down. If off campus, you will be prompted for your BRUIN Connect login. Once you are logged into one database, you are logged into all of them until you close your browser.
From off campus, proceed as above. You will be prompted for your BU login when you click on any database on the list. Once you are logged into one database, you are logged into all of them, until you close your browser.
Homepage
-
Quick Search - Search box in the top toolbar allows you to do a quick search on text, titles, and authors across the entire database in a single search. Simply type in a search term and click Go.
-
Browse - In the drop down menu you can choose to browse by all works, session transcripts, client, narratives, reference, subjects, symptoms, and therapies.
-
Browse All Works - includes every book title in the database listed alphabetically in the Work column. Table also lists Author, Publisher, Publication Date and Language. Click on a work title to see the Table of Contents and book metadata. Clicking on the author of that work will take you to details about the author.
-
Browse Client Narratives - lists all titles of client narratives included in the database alphabetically. Browse table lists the title (of either a work or a chapter),
-
Browse Subject or Browse Symptoms are a list of 50 terms that have been indexed most commonly in the database. The more often texts have been indexed for a particular subject or symptom, the larger the subject or symptom will appear in the map. Clicking any of the terms will take you to a result list of all texts indexed for that subject or symptom. Click "View a list of all subject terms or "View a list of all symptom terms" will give you a list and the number of items associated with each term.
-
Browse Therapies - alphabetical list of all therapies that have been indexed to texts in the database. "Items" column shows you how many items are associated with each therapy.
-
Navigating - Sort results by any column by clicking on that column heading. The A-Z list at the top of the table allows you to sort your results by a particular letter. The All option shows all titles in the database. If you want to search within the columns listed, enter a search term in the Search box above the table, choose the field you'd like to search on, and click Go.
-
Search - Takes you to the Advanced Search screen. Here you can enter multiple terms; such as, search text, title, author/editor, subjects, symptoms, therapies, publisher, and date. Use the drop down to the right to select terms to search. You can select material type from session transcripts, client narratives, reference, and editorial. Sort results by title, author, or date. Limit by client details or therapist details. Use the drop down menu to select your limiters.
-
Help - opens the Table of Contents for the help file.
-
Print - Click on the Icon in the upper right hand corner.
ca 7-17
