Sage Business Cases
A Bellevue University Library Guide
Sage Business Cases is a growing digital collection of over 2,500 business case studies, bringing business to life.
How to Access Sage Business Cases.
Mouse over Find on the library homepage then click on Databases. Now click on the letter S under "Browse by title." If off-campus, you will be prompted for your BRUIN Connect login. Once you are logged into one database, you are logged into all of them until you close your browser.
How to Use
The homepage provides several options for finding business case studies by either browsing or searching.
Search Business Cases
Use the search box at the top of every page to do a basic keyword search, such as grocery, marketing, or Uber. For more options, use the Advanced Search. You can add search boxes to combine multiple search terms, then choose options such as the case length, academic level, and subject. We subscribe only to the case studies, so other options under document type do not apply.
Note, The search feature searches across other Sage Knowledge databases, so may bring up other types of content, such as books and videos. However, you will get a message that this content is not available as we do not subscribe to other Sage Knowledge databases. To see only subscribed content, under Availability, in the right column, mark "Available to me." You will have to do this every time you do a new search.
Browsing
There are three ways to browse the business cases:
- Browse by Subject
Most likely this is the one you will find most useful. There are 16 categories.
- Click on one of the categories; more specific sub-categories will appear with the number of case studies for each in parentheses. . Cases are alphabetical by title but you can change this to either relevance or date by using the drop-down menu under "Sort by."
- You can use the search box on the right side of the page to search within the results.
- Under "Content Typ"e on the right side of the page, you can select an academic level, a case document length, and ja publication date/
- Browse by Content Partner
This refers to the source of the case study. At present, there are 23 providers, most of them university business/management schools.
- When you click on one of the partners, you will see a list of cases provided by this partner.
- You will have the same choices as above for re-sorting and filtering results.
- Browse by Academic Level
This allows you to choose either a basic, intermediate, or complex case.
- Each of these levels provides the same choices for sorting and filtering the results as do the others above.
Featured Cases
Another option on the homepage is the Featured Cases section in which three cases are spotlighted and periodically changed.
About the Cases
- All cases are full text, and many include discussion questions and learning objectives.
- In the results list, you will see the author, the content partner, publication date, the number of words, and the academic level.
- Click on the case to see the full text. Other options will become available, such as the citation, email function, and an option to download in PDF format and save. Always check the citation for accuracy.
- Suggested cases with similar content are in the right column, as well as keywords to use for future searching
- Cases may be saved to a list when you create a personal profile. To do so, click on Profile at the top of the page.
mm 1-19
