Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Reference Websites

This guide contains links to websites with descriptions grouped by subject area. .

Welcome

Welcome to the Bellevue University Reference Websites LibGuide.  The Internet is literally exploding with information, but can you trust it? It can be a great source of information, or it can also lead you down a path of misinformation. The problem is that no one organizes the information on the web or checks it for accuracy. Anyone and everyone can post their opinions and promote their agenda, but good information is out there if you know how to find it.

The websites in this guide have been curated for credibility and accuracy. They are grouped by major category and subdivided within each category. They provide current information, statistics, and other relevant reference content. Og course, there are many more good websites out there; this LibGuide includes a sampling but is not  comprehensive list. Here are some strategies for locating more useful credible websites:

  •  Use the search tips here when using a search engine like Google..
  • Put websites to the test using these 5 criteria.
  • Apply the CRAAP Test (Currency Relevance Authority Accuracy and Purpose) to websites you use.

For further assistance, please contact the Library Reference Staff.

Off-Campus Access

You will be prompted for your BRUIN Connect login when you attempt to access the online library databases from off-campus. .Your password is the same one you use for Blackboard. If you experience issues logging in, try clearing your browsing history and/or change browsers  Make sure your password is current; it must be changed every 90 days. Click here to change your password

BUILD IT

BUILD IT

BELLEVUE UNIVERSITY INFORMATION LITERACY DEVELOPMENT

INTERACTIVE TUTORIAL

http://library.bellevue.edu/find/tutorials/build-it/

BUILD IT is an online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services. It  is made up of five self contained modules, each followed by an interactive quiz. Go through BUILD IT from beginning to end or start at the Site Map using just the pages you need. Click on the link above or on one of the modules below, or look for BUILD IT in the left menu of the library homepage under Tutorials.

Module One: Getting to Know the Bellevue University Library
An overview of library resources and services and introduction to the library homepage.

Module Two: Planning Your Project
The steps involved in planning your research paper: Includes focusing your topic, outlining, identifying keywords, Boolean searching, and more.

Module Three: Locating Information
Finding and evaluating information, including books, eBooks, articles, and websites. Includes sample and interactive database searches.

Module Four: Citing Your Sources
Covers the basics of plagiarism, citation, and copyright.

Module Five: Putting it all together
How to organize your research into a formal paper, includes note taking, revising, and formatting.