Reference Websites

AHRC is lead Federal agency that develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system.Website includes Fat Sheets on their research and programs, data on the healthcare system, tolls to find healthcare, and more.

The Census Bureau collects health insurance data using three national surveys: the Current Population Survey's Annual Social and Economic Supplement (CPS ASEC), American Community Survey (ACS), and Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP).

All you need to know about enrolling in affordable healthcare insurance. Includes a dates and deadlines, quick start guide, finding local help,

An open access, monthly, peer reviewed journal.on health care systems, industry, technology, policy, and regulation.

This is the nation's principal agency for collecting health statistics, which are used to monitor trends, spot problems, document the health status of the U.S., etc. Use the search box, menus, links, or the A-Z index to locate statistics and health information on a comprehensive list of topics.

Data Collections by state from the Kaiser Family Foundation covering 12 categories.

Allows users to browse and compare cancer statistics from 1999-2008 by state, race, ethnicity, and type. This site is administered by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Contains brief biographies for ten influential psychologists, with links to details of their most well-known theories.

Full texts of historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology, including over 25 books and about 200 articles and chapters. The site also contains links to over 200 relevant works posted at other sites.

Useful articles, websites and research tools arranged by topic.

Traces important psychology events from the 19th through the 21st century.

Internet's largest and oldest independent mental health and psychology network run by mental health professionals. Mainly a consumer site, but does have links to many resources. Medication Library has information on hundreds of drugs, also information on clinical trials.

Sponsored by Hanover College Psychology Department, site contains links to known experiments on the internet that are psychologically related.

From the APA website, provides articles and information on a long list of psychology topics.

The oldest psychosynthesis site on the web (1993), this site offers links to resources related to psychosynthesis, which is sometimes used in psychotherapy.

The aim of the site is to write engaging and informative articles in an academic style, but still clear and simple enough to be understood by psychology students of all educational levels. . Articles are grouped by categories, including Approaches, theories, Research methods, and more.

Maintained by Dr. Scott Plous from Wesleyan University, SPN contains thousands of links related to psychological research. Click on Social Psychology Topics for a linked Table of Contents.

an award-winning resource for reliable, compassionate, and up-to-date information on t mental health topics.A-Z. The Psychlogy section ncludes theories, history and biographies, therapy, and more.

The American Nurses Association (ANA) is the premier organization representing the interests of the nation's 4 million registered nurses. ANA is at the forefront of improving the quality of health care for all. Founded in 1896, and with members in all 50 states and U.S. territories, ANA is the strongest voice for the profession.

(APHA) APHA champions the health of all people and all communities. We strengthen the public health profession. We speak out for public health issues and policies backed by science. We are the only organization that combines a nearly 150-year perspective, a broad-based member community and the ability to influence federal policy to improve the public's health.

(CSS) The Cognitive Science Society brings together researchers from around the world who hold a common goal: understanding the nature of the human mind. The mission of the Society is to promote Cognitive Science as a discipline, and to foster scientific interchange among researchers in various areas of study.

HIMSS is a non-profit organization focused on technology and management systems for healthcare. Website provides resources and news related to these topics, especially in the Topics and Tools area.

The only organization of its kind, their website provides some free resources, including benchmarking surveys and other online resources in the Institute Resource Center.

(National Institute of Health) The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is the lead federal agency for research on mental disorders.

(American Psychological Association) SCP brings together psychologists, students, and international and professional affiliates who are dedicated to promoting education and training, scientific investigation, practice, and diversity and public interest in professional psychology. SCP advocates for Counseling Psychology within the field of psychology and in the public sector.