Reference Websites

From the American Psychological Association website, Provides reference examples, paper format, title page setup, in-text citations, bias free language, and sample papers.

Free interactive tool for generating APA, MLA, Turabian, and Chicago style citations.

From Villanova University Library this guide covers citing social media as well as other more common business sources.

Free version of EasyBib citation generator for APA, MLA, Chicago, and more.

This Online Writing Lab (OWL), maintained by Purdue University, provides writing resources and instructional material covering all aspects of writing and citing research papers.

Free tool for collecting, organizing, citing, and sharing research materials, right from your browser. Requires download.

Discusses how to avoid communication blunders and misunderstandings.

Searchable database that combines The Online Speech Bank and The Top 100 Speeches. It containing 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews and other recorded media events.

The top ten communication skills that give you the ability to communicate effectively with superiors, colleagues, and staff.

Top business communication tools. Other relevant pages in Mindtools linked in the left column.

From the Communication Theory website, a list of various ommunication theories by category. Some of these discuss different aspets of communication as well.

Provides resources for increasing, strengthening, and enhancing vocabulary., from the basics through uncommon and unusual words.

An award winning website provides a collection of tips to improve your writing. It covers tricky punctuation, grammar rules, and word choices, striving to make grammar fun rather than frustrating.

First in a series from Psychology Today discusses the role of non-verbal cues.

Part 2 of series from Psychology Today dicusses the function of verbal vs. non-verbal cues in face-to-face interaction.

Part three of a series by Psychology Today discusses six ways in which non-verbal cues provide meaning.

Nonverbal communication refers to gestures, facial expressions, tone of voice, eye contact (or lack thereof), body language, posture, and other ways people can communicate without using language.

(POWA) - Covers many topics associated with writing from beginning through advanced. Site developed by Chuck Guilford, professor emeritus at Boise State U and author of Beginning College Writing.

Free resources covering the writing process, APA and MLA citation, plagiarism, professional writing, and resume writing.

Part of The Writing Center, University of Wisconsin – Madison, which contains tools for successful writing, including citation help.

A variety of guides for writing, speaking, and research as well as guides for specific disciplines research from Colorado State University.

(University of Wisconsin-Madison) This page lists some of the stages involved in writing a library-based research paper.

Purdue Online Writing Lab. Covers genre, choosing a topic, identifying an audience, and links other resources as well as an overview of the final stages of writing a research paper