This companion website to the PBS television series, is organized into four parts and tracing the history of the slave from the 15th century to the Civil War. Each section links to related resources from the Resource Bank including biographies and historical documents.
American Memory is a digital record of American history and provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
This project of the University of Iowa contains over 400 biographies of prominent Iowans. It can be browsed by name, by date from the 1600's through present, by topic, and even by contributor.
This Library of Congress project contains over one million pages from newspapers published between 1860 and 1922. Twenty five states, including Nebraska, and the District of Columbia are represented; all 50 states will eventually be represented.
Drawn from special collections of libraries in the region, this site provides online access to archival and historical materials related to the culture of the southern and central Appalachian region.
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s. Maintained by Middle Tennessee State University Digital Archives.
University of Maryland site featuring a collection of electronic texts and links to texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820. Includes Gateway to Early American Authors on the WEB.
A project of students of the University of Groningen, The Netherlands, containing biographies, presidential speeches, historical documents and essays from the colonial period until modern times.
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. MoA is a collaborative endeavor between University of Michigan and Cornell University.
Mapping History wasd developed with funds provided by the University of Oregon. It was designed to provide interactive and animated representations of fundamental historical problems and/or illustrations of historical events, developments, and dynamics.Besides American History, there are sections for European, Latin American, and African history.
A project of the Nebraska Library Commission to digitize Nebraska-related historical and cultural heritage materials, and includes photographs, documents, artifacts, papers, manuscripts, maps and audio files.
This project of the Illinois Historic Preservation Agency is long-term, dedicated to identifying, imaging, transcribing, annotating, and publishing all documents written by or to Abraham Lincoln during his entire lifetime (1809-1865) and making them freely available.
This site from the Institute of European History is a free online resource that covers the "transcultural history of Europe" over the past 500 years by investigating intercultural exchange in European history whose impact extended beyond borders.
Links to Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Covers prehistoric to present time.
This site includes documents, photographs, films, speeches, interviews, and other artifacts that represent JFK. Personal Papers collection contains many interesting items as well.
Sponsored by Georgetown University, this site provides free, organized access to electronic resources on medieval studies and can be search by category, subcategory, type of materials, and/or keyword.
Mapping History wasd developed with funds provided by the University of Oregon. It was designed to provide interactive and animated representations of fundamental historical problems and/or illustrations of historical events, developments, and dynamics. Besides European History, there are sections for American, Latin American, and African history.
Features over 4,000 entries, over 1500 pictures, and over 370 maps, spanning Greek and Roman warfare to the 1991 Gulf War. Most detailed are the Napoleanic Wars, American Civil War, and World War II.
Perseus is a non-profit enterprise, located in the Department of the Classics, Tufts University. Its flagship collection covers the history, literature, and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
Sources for study of Elizabethan era, including an 88 page Compendium of Common Knowledge, 1558-1603, primary sources, and links to over 100 related sites.
Several hundred images from the British Library are arranged by decade from the 1200s through the 2000s, including maps, charters, speeches, posters, and various other writings. Descriptions and background information are provided.
With support from the UN Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization, this site makes available free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Provided by Stanford University, this comprehensive site contains resources on all countries and dozens of topics related to Africa. It can be browsed by country, by topic, or searched.
Chinaculture.org offers broad access to up-to-date cultural news about China with a wealth of information about Chinese history, culture, politics and economy. See Culture A-Z.
Provides basic iinformation on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world countries.
Provides an overview on the many aspects of the culture of hundreds of countries around the world, including a special section on Multicultural America.
Library of Congress site which presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, and political systems countries throughout the world. Information originally published 1988-1998, so not be up to date.
This site is published by the Swiss Federal Department of Foreign Affairs and provides information and resources on the people, culture, history, politics, geography and much more, of Switzerland.
This is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD, that allows you to graphically compare nations. You can generate maps and facts and find all manner of statistics
From the Paideia Project of Boston University, this site provides access to the nearly 1000 papers presented at the Twentieth World Congress of Philosophy.
Peer reviewed site of non-profit organization of same name that provides detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. Search or browse by topic or title; includes a history of philosophy.
Through the Islamic Heritage Project (IHP), Harvard University has cataloged, conserved, and digitized hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, maps, and published texts from Harvard's renowned library and museum collections. These rare—and frequently unique—materials are now freely available to Internet users worldwide.
An Israeli American Co-operative Enterprise, this site provides provide educational materials on Jewish history and culture, and includes a comprehensive Holocaust section, as well information organized under many other library wings.
A comprehensive directory of online articles and books by academic philosophers. Site maintained by Institute of Philosophy, University of London and Centre for Consciousness, Australian National University.
This is a non-peer-reviewed electronic journal and archive of philosophy. The essays and topics on this site address many philosophical, historical, scientific, religious, economic, legal, and political issues.
Developed by Stanford University, each entry of the SEP is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and updates are refereed by the Editorial Board.
