Reference Websites

On-going project at Agnes Scott College to illustrate the achievements of women in the field of mathematics. Search alphabetically, chronologically, or by birth location.

Contains the complete text of all 13 books of Euclid's Elements.

A collection of links to real world applications of computational geometry, as well as some more general geometric pointers. Site maintained by a professor at University of California, Irvine.

An extensive and searchable archive covering famous people and concepts, as well as describing the development of mathematics in various cultures. Continuously updated . Edmund Robertson, and John O'Connor, of the School of Mathematics and Statistics at the University of St Andrews, and is hosted by the University.

Contains over 23,875 calculators and spreadsheets, over 4,285 courses, lectures, manuals, and handbooks, and thousands of movies, videos, simulations and animations.

A free electronic copy of NIST Handbook of Mathematical Functions. Contains notation, properties, applications, and computation.

Free resource for math review material from Algebra to Differential Equations from high school through college to adult learners.

Over 130 online math tutorials from Texas A&M University which are freely available to all, covering mainly algebra but also preparation for the math portions of tests such as the GRE.

Compute expert-level answers using Wolfram’s breakthrough algorithms, knowledgebase and AI technology.

An extensive mathematical resource from Wolfram Research that is updated daily and checked for quality and accuracy. It provides many interactive resources including thousands of downloadable Mathematica notebooks. It also serves as a clearinghouse for new mathematical discoveries that are routinely contributed by researchers.

Provides good educational information about exhibits , as well as topics to explore. You can also search the various "Science Departments" for resources and information.

From NASA, each day a different image or photograph of our fascinating universe is featured, along with a brief explanation written by a professional astronomer.

Timeline of the universe illustrated and describes

Views of cosmic wonders from the Hubble Space Telescope which has been recording amazing views of space since 1990.

From NASA, information, photos, real-time movement of planets, and more organized under solar system, planets, moons, asteroids, comets & meteors.

Free online model of solar system and night sky. Online 3D simulation of the Solar System and night sky in real-time - the Sun, planets, dwarf planets, comets, stars and constellations.

Cellular and microbiology news, updated hourly. Also contains links to sites.

The aim of this catalogue is to collate the names of all species. It provides critical species information on synonymy, higher taxa, and distribution around the world.

A collaborative encyclopedia of living organisms; content from databases, scientists, and other sources.

Dept. of Plant Biology, Southern IL U, Carbondale. Repository of information on parasitic plants, including photographs, species lists, distribution maps. Also provides links to other sites and contact info of specialists.

Search or browse for compound information across the web.

Provides easy access to chemical and physical property data for chemical species through the Internet. The data are from collections maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors.

This Periodic Table from the Royal Society of Chemistry brings the elements to life by providing an interactive visual elements table, interactive history of the elements and periodic table, and more.

Search this compound database using a chemical structure as the query. Structures may be sketched or specified in a variety of formats.

British site providing free access to articles from chemistry related journals, chemistry blogs, and the Chemsoc section which includes hot topics, chemistry timeline, and more.

From Kent State University, an extensive list of famous physicists from 1544 through the present. Provides a brief description of what they are most noted for . Note, many of the links to more details are broken.

The laws of physics are considered fundamental, although many of them refer to idealized or theoretical systems that are hard to replicate in the real world. Explains the main laws of physics, providing links to more informaiton.

Browse videos, articles, and exercises by topic. The library is kept p-to-date, with new or improved material..

Physics is a free, online magazine from the American Physical Society. The publication primarily reports on papers from the Physical Review journals, focusing on results that will change the course of research, inspire a new way of thinking, or spark curiosity. The stories behind these findings are written by experts, journalists, and our staff writers for the benefit of the physics community and beyond.

This website forms part of the Physics World portfolio, a collection of online, digital and print information services. Keep up with the latest physics research and news, or check out the topics and ollections. It also include videos, blogs, and podcasts.

This site is a real time simulation of the CO2 emissions of every country in the world, as well as its birth and death rates. Click on the “?” and scroll down the page for more information.

Use The Nature Conservancy's carbon footprint calculator to estimate how many tons of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases your choices create each year. Other climate change information can be found at this site as well.

Primarily a site to identify green products and the companies who produce them , it also has links to many environmental resources and organizations, as well as to articles in its online Green Living Magazine.

Provided by the Environmental Protection Agency, this site provides a variety of environmental information tailored to your community or any other geographic area.

The EnviroLink Network is a non-profit organization which has been providing access to thousands of online environmental resources since 1991. You can locate information by topic, by category, or by using the search feature.

Environment 360 is an online magazine, published by the Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies. It provides opinion, analysis, reporting, and debate on environmental issues. It includes original articles by scientists, journalists, environmentalists, academics, policy makers, and business people, as well as multimedia content and a daily digest of major environmental news.

This site publishes both original content and news from over 40 affiliates, on environmental issues. It also publishes articles from a variety of other news streams, including major wire services, freelance & citizen journalists, and research associates from around the world.

A consortium of top research universities in the U.S., U.K., and Canada, gather together the best research news produced by universities in a range of topics, including the environment, health, science, and society.

This center is part of the Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences at the University of Colorado at Boulder and supports research into frozen areas of the earth. Datasets, research, and other information is available.

From the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, this database provides detailed chemical toxicity data based on animal testing results. Contains detailed study and effect information on 474 chemicals, primarily the data rich pesticide active ingredients.

Focuses on six areas of environmental challenges providing news and information, as well as its publications for download.

This comprehensive government site provides information on all topics related to the environment. Click on the map to get information specific to your area.

Provides free publications, charts & maps, news, and other information related to the environment.