Reference Websites

Information on dozens of professions (primarily related to science, technology, and math), including salary data and professional advice. Draws from nearly 20 professional associations.

From CityTownInfo.com. Careers are arranged by category, with detailed information, some with related videos and career stories, and links to additional information. City and town section provides detailed descriptions and data form a comprehensive list of locations.

Career development resource for Nebraska and the surrounding region. Find jobs or access job resource tools, such as salary wizard, resume and interviewing help, and job search strategies.

Career development resource for Nebraska and the surrounding region. Find jobs or access job resource tools, such as salary wizard, resume and interviewing help, and job search strategies.

This free resource, which is owned by Dow Jones, provides career advice and information specific to the fields of finance, technology, and sales and marketing.

The latest Best Small & Medium Workplaces list, compiled by Great Place to Work and published in Fortune Magazine, is based on thousands of employee surveys.

Provides company information in regard to salaries, work environment, and interview questions. Much of the information is posted by employees.

Quick and easy way to prepare a resume using the forms and formatting options provided. Also includes a resume tutorial, samples, and tips for writing a resume.

ndeed is the #1 job site in the world1 with over 250 million unique visitors2 every month. Job seekers have free access to search for jobs, post resumes, and research companies.

Provides advice on internships along with internship listings, which can be searched by job title, state, academic semester, and industry.

This site was created for the U.S. Dept. of Labor and is a career exploration, job search, and job analysis tool, containing detailed job descriptions.

Provides templates, examples, and other tools for writing resumes and cover letters. Contains some links to outside sites that provide these services for a fee, however, the tools on the website are free.

The American Community Survey (ACS) helps local officials, community leaders, and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed population and housing information about our nation.

CensusScope is an easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends, brought to you by the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan.

A monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted for over 50 years by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Data includes employment, unemployment and other labor stats, available for a variety of demographic indicators such as age, race and educational attainmen

A great source of datasets; does not include data summaries.

MetroTrends features up-to-date indicators from numerous national data sources on conditions and trends, such as crime, employment, immigration, etc., in the nation's metropolitan regions, as well as commentary from the Urban Institute.

From the state division of the US Department of Labor. Includes job listings, cost of living guides, relocation information, workplace laws and regulations,

US Census data, projections, and estimates which allow users to generate community demographic information via ZIP code searching.

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.

Use the Datafinder to search hundreds of indicators in thousands of locations which can then be compiled into a downloadable custom report. Includes charts and mapsUniversity of Auckland Business and Economics Information Services maintains this site which provides access to free statistics from official sources on the web, arranged by country, region, or subject.

A combination of sites providing sports statistics and resources.

Sponsored by the Council of State Governments, this website provides users with access to interactive, customizable and up-to-date comparative performance measurement data for 50 states in six key areas: fiscal and economic, public safety and justice, energy and environment, transportation, health and human services, and education.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Located on the IRS website, this site provides information about taxes and the tax system in addition to all manner of statistics, including business tax statistics.

U.S. Census data, mined and distilled for Nebraska.

Includes price and spending data in addition to labor statistics.

The ation’s leading provider of quality data about the American people and economy.

Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.

Provides over 60 real-time statistical measures categorized under World Population, Government and Economics, Society and Media, Environment, Food, Water, Energy, and Health, which can be seen increasing continuously on counters. Sources are from global organizations, national research firms, and reputable private research firms.

Free version of the venerable Encyclopedia Britannica. Browse by category or search.

Dictionary.com is the world's leading online source for English definitions, synonyms, word origins and etymologies, audio pronunciations, example sentences, and word of the day..

Provides reference entries from credible, sources like Oxford University Press and Columbia Encyclopedia, Free access to over 300,000 entries and more than 50,000 topic summaries.

Find many activities and resources designed to help the English Language Learner improve their skills.

Online dictionary and thesaurus. Includes Spanish-English, and medical terminology. Other features are "Word of the Day," "New Words and Slang," and various word games and top ten word lists.

Not only defines, but explains computer and technology terms. Detailed explanations include examples. Browse by category or search for specific terms.

Search more than 275,000 synonyms, antonyms, related words, and idiomatic phrases. Find concise definitions pinpointing the meaning shared by synonyms, and sample sentences showing how words are used in context

An interactive dictionary and thesaurus that creates word maps that illustrate the connection between words and branches out to related words.

(Brigham Young University) Access to hundreds of databases, many are open access.

A comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online. Can be browsed by category and is updated several times a month.

Provided by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, this site provides free access to the largest collection of genealogical and historical records in the world.

Graves of thousands famous people can be searched by name, location, date, claim to fame, and so on. Information includes a biography. Primarily a grave registration site, you may also search for the graves of ancestors, if their grave has been registered with the site. Member ship is free.

A list of databases you can access free, without a subscription, from Ancestry.com. Some may require a free registration and some content might not be included.

From the National Archives, resources on starting your family research, charts and f orms, census record, military records, naturalization records, and other tools for genealogists.

Genealogy, Ancestry and Family History Research in Northern Ireland. This site offers paid genealogical search services but also has many links to free sites for those interested in their Irish ancestry.

(OCLC) WorldCat is a key website for genealogists and can be used to find historic newspapers, church histories, wills, manuscripts, maps, etc. This site will tell you how to use WorldCat for genealogical research.

The WorldGenWeb Project is a non-profit, volunteer based organization dedicated to providing genealogical and historical records and resources for world-wide access.

A Project of The Annenberg Public Policy Center. We are a nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.

The Gapminder World portion of this site shows the World's most important trends through visual representations of data. You can also find Data on over 350 indicators presented in tables. A number of videos on related topics are also available. The Labs portion allows you to sample new features and tools under experimentation for the site.

The definitive Internet reference source for researching urban legends, folklore, myths, rumors, and misinformation.Snopes’ fact-checking and original, investigative reporting lights the way to evidence-based and contextualized analysis. All sources are linked to and documented.

This site features links to online exhibitions that have been created by libraries, archives, and historical societies, as well as to museum online exhibitions with a significant focus on library and archival materials. The scope is international and includes: printed books, book illustrations, manuscripts, photographs, printed ephemera, posters, archival sound and video recordings, artist's books, and the book arts (engraving, marbling, and bookbinding, etc.). Keyword-searchable by title, subject, and the name of the sponsoring institution.

The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution and the largest library in the world. The LOC website features its Digital Collections, which focus especially on its most rare collections and those unavailable anywhere else. They include photographs, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, and more.

The Smithsonian Institution Libraries is a system of 20 libraries and support services. Its Digital Library contains digital publications, collections and objects including online exhibitions, webcasts, digital editions, bibliographies and fact sheets, as well as finding aids/inventories for collections .