This section contains websites relevant to the social sciences, except for psychology which is found in the
Healthcare, Human Services & Mental Health section.
This detailed article in Britannica discusses the central tenets of cultural anthropology and social anthropology, archaeology, and physical anthropology. I then goes on to discuss world anthropology and some special fields of anthropology..
National, regional, and international economic data is available on this government website. Its annual Survey of Current Business is also found here. Also check out the Current Releases page for economic indicators.
Provides access to state and substate socioeconomic data from both public and private sources. Search the 10 subject categories or search by provider (ex. Census Bureau). Icons designate which data is free and which is for a fee.
A collaborative database of working papers, journal articles and software components in the field of economics. All RePEc material is freely available.
The official website of the US Department of Commerce,whose mission is to create the conditions for economic growth and opportunity. Its main goal is to help the American economy grow.
APSA is the leading professional organization for the study of political science. This site contains many free journal articles, divided by topic. Scroll down to "The Profession" and click on "journal articles."
CFR's website is a trusted, nonpartisan source of timely analysis and context on international events and trends. CFR.org publishes backgrounders, interviews, "first-take" analysis, expert blogs, and a variety of multimedia offerings that include videos, podcasts, interactive timelines, and the Emmy-winning Crisis Guide series.
This is the official website of the European Union and provides basic information on how the EU works, and links to EU information on the websites of EU institutions and agencies.
Links provided by University of California Berkeley Library, arranged by subject, document type, EU institutions, etc. The UC Berkeley libraries have been a depository for documents from the European Union since 1964.
The directory is a partnership of Louisiana State University and the Federal Depository Library Program and lists and provides links to current/active/existing U. S. Federal Government agencies as represented in the United States Government Manual.
Authoritative source of news, information and commentary on First Amendment issues. It features daily updates on news related to the First Amendment, detailed information, as well as analysis and special reports.
A section of the Council of Foreign Relations website, organized into 13 categories, including civil society corruption, democracy, elections and voting, heads of state and government, political history and theory, political movements, and more.
Nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing sociology as a scientific discipline. Website contains information on its latest research, trends in sociology, and various data resources.
The General Social Survey (GSS) conducts basic scientific research on the structure and development of (http://www3.norc.org/GSS+Website) - American society, monitoring societal trends within the United States, and comparing it to other nations. Funded by National Science Foundation and headquartered at the University of Chicago.
This site provides resources for the study of social movements in the US. Use menu on the left for specific movements. The emphasis is on recent and contemporary movements, but also provides materials on earlier movements. Not-for-profit site managed by T.V. Reed, Washington State University and York University, Toronto.
(NOW) is the largest organization of feminist activists whose goal is to take action to bring about equality for all women. Website has information about issues and current actions of NOW.
Women's eNews is an award-winning nonprofit news service covering issues of particular concern to women and providing women's perspectives on public policy. The homepage includes a Feature story, highlights from the latest news affecting women, and links to about twenty "Special Series" topics. Other categories are available from the top navigation bar.
