Reference Websites

Part of the U.S. Dept. of Labor, BLS publishes statistics on employment, pay and benefits, workplace injuries, and more.

From the US Bureau of Labor Statistics, this authoritative, free government resource offers valuable information about consumer spending in the US, along with related items such as consumer characteristics and product types.

A project of the Urban Institute's Center on Nonprofits and Philanthropy, this site provides, among other things, an overview of data on nonprofits, public charity finances, voluntarism, and foundation giving, from a variety of official sources.

Contains many tables related to the North American transportation industry, allowing you to easily compare data among the three countries.

Publishes research covering the breadth of Nebraska's economy.

AllBusiness contains a large library of resources for small businesses,. Every day, AllBusiness posts original feature stories showing you how real business owners and experts are dealing with the issues and challenges facing all small businesses.

Over 500 ree sample business plan eamples, as well free templates, guide to starting a small buiness, and other res ources..

A large resource of histories of business, business biographies, histories of companies including photographs, timetables of business history.

Provides free access to reports of companies doing business or headquartered in NYC or nearby between 1849 and 1960s.

The 4th edition of a guide originally prepared by the Library of Congress, it contains a compilation of business sources for the small business owner. Sources include both subscription databases as well as publicly available websites. Citations include handbooks, guides, dictionaries, and directories. A link to the LOC catalog record and often links to the table of contents are provided.

Provides thousands of international business and trade related resources, selected by Michigan State University and organized into four main categories.

A Harvard Business School site that provides information about 20th century business leaders by name, company, industry, or era.

Information for starting a business includes guides and tools. Also addresses technology and finance, and provides top company lists. Daily online content from Inc Magazine, as well as archived articles.

Information on starting or locating a business in Nebraska, including financing, laws, tax, and building and site information.

Learn the steps to start a small business, get financing help from the government, and more. From USA.gov website.

Small Business Planner and Tools has information and resources for every stage of the business life cycle. There is also a helpful link to local resources.

National, regional, and international economic data is available on this government website. Its annual Survey of Current Business is also found here. Also check out the Current Releases page for economic indicators.

Provides objective measures of business regulations for local firms in 190 economie.s.

From the U.S. Census Bureau, urrent and archived monthly economic indicators releases. Businesses rely heavily upon these indicators to make decisions every day.

The ESA provides timely economic analysis and disseminates national economic indicators, provided by the U.S. Census Bureau and the Bureau of Economic Analysis. These economic indicators, as well as other reports, are available at this site.

Provides thousands of international business and trade related resources, selected by Michigan State University and organized into four main categories.

Website of the U.S. Senate Joint Economic Committee containing maps illustrating economic conditions as well as reports and charts.

From the digital collections of Duke University Libraries this site provides over 7000 advertising images from U.S. and Canadian newspapers between 1911-1955.

History of advertising in the 20th century, 1900-1999.

From the digital collections of Duke University Libraries, this site provides access to thousands of vintage television commercials during the 1950s - 1980s.

(Forbes) The availability of analytic data has propelled marketing forward in many ways, helping to identify patterns and behaviors that can shape marketing messages as well as improve product development.

Contains free downloadable marketing charts and excel spreadsheets. Also contains articles and news. Published daily.

From Marketing Business News, explains both the 4Ps and the 7Ps of Marketing. Includes a video.

Mplans.com contains the largest single collection of free sample marketing plans online. In addition to that, it has helpful articles and know-how for managing your business….Mplans.com is owned and operated by Palo Alto Software, Inc. as a free resource to help entrepreneurs plan better businesses.

(Smart Insights) The STP model is useful when creating marketing communications plans since it helps marketers to prioritise propositions and then develop and deliver personalised and relevant messages to engage with different audiences.

(American Marketing Association) The definition of marketing and following definitions were approved by the American Marketing Association Board of Directors.

Article from Michigan State University explains the differences and intersections between supply chain management and logitsics.

Supply Chain Digest is a weekly, on-line newsletter that reviews hundreds of news articles, research reports, analyst opinions and other news sources to identify the information and news. This information is provided with expert commentary that puts the news in context, and offers insight into important issues and trends.

SCMR primarily publishes columns and features contributed by business school professors, supply chain management practitioners and industry analysts. Topics including sourcing and procurement, software and technology, transportation and logistics, supply chain education, and other topics relating to the supply chain. SCMR also publishes numerous case studies featuring companies such as Wal-Mart, Motorola, IBM and Pfizer.

Article from Michigan State University explains the important role of logistics in the supply chain.