Skip to main content

Troubleshooting Guide for Bellevue University Library: Database Troubleshooting

Database Troubleshooting

1. The following pages outline basic troubleshooting steps for various databases that the Bellevue University Library subscribes to and offers to its patrons. This includes information on recommended browsers, browser troubleshooting, using databases on mobile devices, and downloading content from databases.

2. Not all of the databases the Library subscribes to will have troubleshooting instructions in this LibGuide. You can find generic database troubleshooting instructions in the box below this one. If you need assistance with the operation of a database and you cannot find any information about it here, please contact the Library's reference staff via phone at: 402-557-7313 (or 800-756-7920); or via email at: library@bellevue.edu; or via the 24/7 Librarian chat service.

3. This LibGuide will be undergoing consistent growth as its scope expands to cover new databases that may present difficulty for users. If you have a database in mind that you'd like to recommend for inclusion in this LibGuide, please contact Colin Kehm, Electronic Services Specialist, at colin.kehm@bellevue.edu.

Generic Database Troubleshooting

If you are having difficulty viewing content in a database, try to:

  • Clear your browser's cache. Here are the instructions on doing so for several popular web browsers, courtesy of Indiana University.
  • Ensure that cookies are enabled. Here are the instructions on enabling cookies for each of the most popular web browsers:
  • Pay close attention to your web browser. Many web browsers will notify you when a web page isn't working correctly, but if you don't know where to look, you'll probably miss these notifications. For most web browsers, these notifications appear either at the top of the open window or at the bottom of it, and they most commonly appear when the browser is trying to block something, especially pop-up windows, which you may need to enable to view database content.
  • Install another web browser, or the latest version of your current one, and attempt to view the content on it. You can get the latest versions of the recommended web browsers at:
  • Ensure that any firewall or security software you use is not blocking the database you are trying to access.
  • Close all unnecessary browser tabs and windows.