Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Troubleshooting Guide for Bellevue University Library: Alexander Street

Recommended Browsers

  • Microsoft Internet Explorer version 8.0 or later
  • Apple Safari version 1.0 or later
  • Google Chrome version 1.0 or later

General Browser Troubleshooting Tips

If you are having difficulty viewing a document or video in this database, try to:

  • Clear your browser's cache. Here are instructions on doing so for several popular web browsers, courtesy of Indiana University.
  • Ensure that cookies are enabled. Here are the instructions on enabling cookies for each of the database's recommended web browsers:
  • Pay close attention to your web browser. Many web browsers will notify you when a web page isn't working correctly, but if you don't know where to look, you'll probably miss these notifications. For most web browsers, these notifications appear either at the top of the open window or at the bottom of it, and they most commonly appear when the browser is trying to block something, especially pop-up windows, which you may need to enable to view database content.
  • Install the latest version of Adobe Reader
  • Install the latest version of Adobe Flash Player.
  • Install another web browser, or the latest version of your current one, and attempt to view the content on it. You can get the latest versions of the recommended web browsers at:
  • Ensure that any firewall or security software you use is not blocking the database you are trying to access.
  • Close all unnecessary browser tabs and windows.

Mobile Device-Specific Troubleshooting

If you are having difficulty viewing content in this database while on a mobile device (smart phone or tablet), try to:

  • Install the latest version of your device's operating system. Alexander Street databases support iOS and Android operating systems--if you are using a mobile device that does not use one of these two operating systems (such as Windows Phone, Blackberry, or Firefox OS), you may not be able to view content as expected. Here on instructions on updating iOS and on updating Android. Note that updating your mobile OS may have unintended, negative consequences for the performance of your device and for your apps.
  • Confirm that you have a 3G or 4G data connectionIf you do not, you may need to establish a stable, high-speed connection to a local wireless network in order to successfully view content (particularly audio/visual content) in Alexander Street databases.
  • From a PC or Mac desktop environment, use the database's Send to mobile feature. The Send to mobile feature is available on most content, and can be found under the Cite, Email, Share, Playlist, etc. features. Making use of this feature would first require you to know what content specifically you wish to try viewing later on your mobile device. It allows you to send to your mobile device a link to the content you wish to view, presented in a simplified media player format that mobile devices with older hardware and/or software should be able to run.

Safari-Specific Troubleshooting

If you are having difficulty viewing a document in this database while using Safari, try to:

Downloading, Printing, and Saving Content

There is no built-in way to download or save content from Alexander Street Press databases. Textual content may be printed by using the printer icon within the text viewer.