It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MISC - Management of Information Systems: Streaming Videos
This LibGuide contains electronic resources to support all the courses within the MISC degree, including eBooks, journal articles, streaming videos, and websites. Choose the appropriate tab for your course to access the resources.
The following library databases can be accessed from the Databases page.
Films on Demand - Provides streaming films from sources such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational. Kanopy - Provides streaming videos on a variety of subjects; includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Alexander Street Videos - Multidisciplinary collection contains thousands of videos.
Films on Demand (59:21 min)
This high-tech romp reveals exactly what data is and how it is captured, stored, shared, and made sense of. Meet Dr. Hannah Fry who sees data as the essential bridge between two universes; Claude Shannon, who devised a way to digitize all information and launched the ‘information age’; and Donald Davies, the inventor of packet switching. Along the way the film reveals the connection between Scrabble scores and online movie streaming, explains why a herd of Wiltshire dairy cows are wearing pedometers, and uncovers the remarkable network map of Wikipedia.
Films on Demand (22 min)
This program examines the transmission, storage, and use of electronic information, with the Australian Web site Seek serving as a case study. Seek’s security manager discusses commercial storage methods, privacy, maintaining backups, and the importance of keeping data safe from accidental or deliberate harm.