Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These websites provide many additional maps of various types and periods of American History.
U.S. History Maps Websites
Provides maps, charts,& trends, and rankings. Click on Maps tab, then look at demographic options in menu to the left. Maps are interactive with data for each state.Provided by the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan..
David Ramsey Map Collection
The David Rumsey Map Collection was started over 30 years ago and contains more than 150,000 maps. The collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. Items range in date from about 1550 to the present. Digitization of the collection began in 1996 and there are now over 91,000 items online, with new additions added regularly. The site is free and open to the public.
Mapping History: American History
Mapping History wasd developed with funds provided by the University of Oregon. It was designed to provide interactive and animated representations of fundamental historical problems and/or illustrations of historical events, developments, and dynamics.Besides American History, there are sections for European, Latin American, and African history.
Mapping the Nation
A collaboration between the University of Denver Penrose Library and the Office of Teaching and Learning,
Maps of 19th century America. "From maps of disease and the weather to the earliest maps of the national population, this was a period when the very concept of a map was reinvented.
Maps ETC - United States
This portion of Maps ETC provides maps for various periods and areas of the United States. National, regional, state, and thematic maps are all available.
National Atlas of the United States of America (970)
U.S. government publication with general reference maps as well as maps representing historical eras, physical landforms, transportation, agriculture, social-cultural data, manufacturing, and much more
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - United States Maps
The collection is housed at the University of Texas at Austin. Digitizing the entire collection is an ongoing process. The collection of U.S. Historical Maps is categorized by time periods This site also includes links to other map sites
Statistical Atlas of the United States: 1870 Census
Statistical atlas of the United States based on the results of the Ninth Census 1870 with contributions from many eminent men of science and several departments of the government.
Compiled under authority of Congress by Francis A. Walker, M.A., Superintendent of the 9th Census, Professor of Political Economy and History, Sheffield Scientific School of Yale College.