LibGuides: Abnormal Psychology: Schizophrenia and Other Psychotic Disorders

Schizophrenia and Other Psychotic Disorders

Psychotic disorders are characterized by abnormal or disorganized thinking and a break from reality, generally in the form of hallucinations and/or delusions. Psychotic symptoms can sometimes appear in other disorders (such as depression), but in psychotic disorders these are the primary symptoms. The most well known of these disorders is Schizophrenia, but this category also includes schizophreniform disorder, schizoaffective disorder, delusional disorder, and brief psychotic disorder. Schizotypal personality disorder is also included with other disorders in the Schizophrenia Spectrum, but in this LibGuide that disorder is discussed alongside other Cluster A Personality Disorders.

The resources on the right are arranged by type: general collection books, eBooks, journal articles, videos, and websites.

Quick Links

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Writing Center

Schizophrenia and Other Psychotic Disorders

Integrative group therapy for psychosis: An evidence-based approach by Kansas, N.
Call Number: RC 454 K36 2021
ISBN: 9780367339425
Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group
Management of complex treatment-resistant psychotic disorders by Cummings, M. A., & Stahl, S. M.
Call Number: RM 333 .5 M36 2021
ISBN: 9781108965682
Cambridge University Press
Schizophrenia and genetics: The end of an illusion by Joseph, J.
Call Number: RC 514 J67 2023
ISBN: 9781032275505
Routledge

The American Psychiatric Association practice guideline for the treatment of patients with schizophrenia by American Psychiatric Association
ISBN: 0890424691
Publication Date: 2020
ProQuest Ebook Central
The American Psychiatric Association Publishing textbook of schizophrenia by Lieberman, J. A., et al.
ISBN: 9781615372911
Publication Date: 2020
ProQuest Ebook Central
Decoding delusions: A clinician's guide to working with delusions and other extreme beliefs by Hardy, K. V., & Turkington, D.
ISBN: 9781615372966
Publication Date: 2023
ProQuest Ebook Central
First Episode Psychosis Services Fidelity Scale (FEPS-FS 1. 0) and manual by Addington, D.
ISBN: 9781773852119
Publication Date: 2021
ProQuest Ebook Central
Intervening early in psychosis: A team approach by Hardy, K. V. et al
ISBN: 1615371753
Publication Date: 2019
Ebooks in EBSCOhost
Neuropsychology of schizophrenia: An introduction for psychotherapists by Thoma, P.
ISBN: 9783658364007
Publication Date: 2022
ProQuest Ebook Central
Psychosis, trauma and dissociation: Evolving perspectives on severe psychopathology by Moskowitz, A., Dorahy, M. J., & Schäfer, I.
ISBN: 9781118586037
Publication Date: 2019
ProQuest Ebook Central
Schizophrenia: Recent advances and patient-centered treatment perspectives by Yip, J.
ISBN: 9781803554051
Publication Date: 2023
Directory of Open Access Books
Schizophrenia spectrum and other psychotic disorders: DSM-5 selections by American Psychiatric Association
ISBN: 1615370110
Publication Date: 2015
ProQuest Ebook Central
Voices in psychosis by Woods, A., Alderson-Day, B., Fernyhough, C.
ISBN: 9780192898388
Publication Date: 2022
Directory of Open Access Books

Absence: Schizophrenia, schizoaffective disorder, and marriage by Singleton, S. W.
Schizophrenia Bulletin, (2021, April 29), 47(3), 590-591.
Addressing delusions in women and men with delusional disorder: Key points for clinical management by González-Rodriguez, A., & Seeman, M. V.
International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health, (2020), 17(12), 4583.
The affective core of delusional disorder by Pellegrini, R., et al.
Psychopathology, (2022), 55(3/4), 244-249.
Anti-MOG autoantibody-associated schizophreniform psychosis by von Zedtwitz, K., et al.
Acta Neuropsychiatrica, (2022, February), 34(1), 47-54.
The association between clinical symptoms and later subjective quality of life in individuals with ultra-high risk for psychosis and recent-onset psychotic disorder: A longitudinal investigation by Usui, K., et al.
Psychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences, (2022), 76(11), 552-559.
Care for social isolation and loneliness in a case with late-onset delusional disorder by Kanemoto, H., & Kawasaki, T.
Cureus, (2024), 16(3).
Cerebellar-cortical dysconnectivity in resting-state associated with sensorimotor tasks in schizophrenia by Kim, D. J., et al.
Human brain mapping, (2020), 41(11), 3119-3132.
Cognitive impairment in schizophrenia: Aetiology, pathophysiology, and treatment by McCutcheon, R. A., Keefe, R. S. E., & McGuire, P. K.
Molecular Psychiatry, (2023, May), 28(5), 1902-1918.
Collaboration between psychiatrists and other allied medical specialists for the treatment of delusional disorders by González-Rodríguez, A., et al.
Healthcare, (2022), 10(9), 1792.
COVID-19-associated brief psychotic disorder by Smith, C. M., et al.
BMJ Case Reports, (2020, August), 13(8).
Diagnostic stability of primary psychotic disorders in a research sample by Wood, A. J., et al.
Frontiers in Psychiatry, (2021), Vol. 12.
Elevated emotion reactivity and emotion regulation in individuals at clinical high risk for developing psychosis and those diagnosed with a psychotic disorder by Vines, L., et al.
Early Intervention in Psychiatry, (2022), 16(7), 724-735.
Functional and clinical outcomes of delusional disorder and schizophrenia patients after first episode psychosis: A 4-year follow-up by Hui, C. L. M., et al.
BMC Psychiatry, (2023), Vol. 23, 1-10.
Investigating differences of medications in hospitalized schizophrenia and schizoaffective disorder patients: Impact of substance use by Durmaz, O., et al.
Journal of Substance Use, (2023), 28(4), 602-609.
Mental health service use before first diagnosis of a psychotic disorder by Tempelaar, W., et al.
JAMA Psychiatry, (2024), 81(9), 928-935.
Molecular mechanism biomarkers predict diagnosis in schizophrenia and schizoaffective psychosis, with implications for treatment by Fryar-Williams, S., et al.
International Journal of Molecular Sciences, (2023), 24(21), 15845.
The neurobiology of schizoaffective disorder by Paudel, S., Brown, H., & Freudenreich, O.
Psychiatric Annals, (2020, May), 50(5), 190-194.
The overlooked part of flexible assertive community treatment - A retrospective study on factors related to discharge from FACT for clients with a psychotic disorder by de Bruijn, E., et al.
Community Mental Health Journal, (2023, October), 59(7), 1313-1320.
Predicting individual improvement in schizophrenia symptom severity at 1-year follow-up: Comparison of connectomic, structural, and clinical predictors by Kottaram, A., et al.
Human brain mapping, (2020), 41(12), 3342-3357.
The predictive validity and outcome of ICD-10 and DSM-5 short-lived psychotic disorders: A review and meta-analysis by Castagnini, A., et al.
European Archives of Psychiatry and Clinical Neuroscience, (2022, October), 272(7), 1157-1168.
Predictors of diagnostic stability in brief psychotic disorders: Findings from a 3-year longitudinal study by López‐Díaz, Á., et al.
Acta Psychiatrica Scandinavica, (2021, December), 144(6), 578-588.
Recency and intensification of positive symptoms enhance prediction of conversion to syndromal psychosis in clinical high-risk patients by Brucato, G., et al.
Psychological Medicine, (2021, January), 51(1), 112-120.
Recovering a sense of self in schizophrenia by Davidson, L.
Journal of Personality, (2020, February), 88(1), 122-132.
Schizoaffective disorder: Treatment considerations by Schnitzer, K., Beckmann, D., & Freudenreich, O.
Psychiatric Annals, (2020, May), 50(5), 200-204.
Schizoaffective disorder in homeless patients: A systematic review by Forte, A. S., Bento, A., & Marques, J. G.
International Journal of Social Psychiatry, (2022, November 1), 69(2).
Shattered self: Schizophrenia suffering, beyond logic and reason by Le. H., Awwad, N., & Vyas, A.
Psychiatric Times; MJH Life Sciences, (2022, April), 39(4), 26-27.
Single episode brief psychotic disorder versus bipolar disorder: A diffusion tensor imaging and executive functions study by Nagar, Z. M. E., et al.
Schizophrenia Research: Cognition, (2022, March), Vol. 27, 100214.
Sleep spindles in people with schizophrenia, schizoaffective disorders or bipolar disorders: A pilot study in a general population-based cohort by Petit, J. M., et al.
BMC Psychiatry, (2022), Vol. 22, 1-12.
Synaptic dysfunction in schizophrenia by Mısır, E., & Akay, G. G.
Synapse, (2023), 77(5), e22276.

Mr. Smith, delusional disorder
ProQuest Videos
A series of videos following a young man with delusional disorder or possible schizophrenia. Link is to one video in the series; you can find the others by clicking "Browse this series".
Mrs. Sanders, catatonia associated with schizophrenia
ProQuest Videos
A series of videos following a middle-aged woman with catatonia associated with schizophrenia. Link is to one of the videos in the series; you can find the others by clicking "Browse this series".
Psychosis understood: Making meaning of extreme states for lasting recovery
Alexander Street Videos: 2:57:00
Often misunderstood by both the public and the mental health community, psychosis is far more common than most realize and, more importantly, treatment has come a long way since the days of heavy medication and ECT. In fact, most people who receive adequate treatment go on to live healthy, productive lives with minimal distress.
Watch Dr. Chelsea Mackey, psychologist and psychosis expert, in this 3-hour recording that takes a deep dive into all things psychosis, from informal identification of psychotic symptoms to the latest evidence-based treatment approaches.

Brief psychotic disorder
(MedlinePlus) Brief psychotic disorder is a sudden, short-term display of psychotic behavior, such as hallucinations or delusions, which occurs with a stressful event.
Brief psychotic disorder
(National Library of Medicine) This activity describes the presentation and pathophysiology of brief psychotic disorder and highlights the role of the interprofessional team in its management.
Delusional disorder
(Cleveland Clinic) Delusional disorder is a type of mental health condition in which a person can’t tell what’s real from what’s imagined. There are many types, including persecutory, jealous and grandiose types. It's treatable with psychotherapy and medication.
Delusional disorder
(National Library of Medicine) This activity reviews the evaluation and management of delusional disorder and highlights the role of the interprofessional team in caring for affected patients.
Paranoia and delusional disorders
(Mental Health America) Paranoia involves intense anxious or fearful feelings and thoughts often related to persecution, threat, or conspiracy. Paranoia can occur with many mental health conditions but is most often present in psychotic disorders. Paranoid thoughts can become delusions when irrational thoughts and beliefs become so fixed that nothing can convince a person that what they think or feel is not true. When a person has paranoia or delusions, but no other symptoms (like hearing or seeing things that aren't there), they might have what is called a delusional disorder.
Psychotic disorders
(MedlinePlus) Psychotic disorders are severe mental disorders that cause abnormal thinking and perceptions. People with psychoses lose touch with reality. Two of the main symptoms are delusions and hallucinations. Delusions are false beliefs, such as thinking that someone is plotting against you or that the TV is sending you secret messages. Hallucinations are false perceptions, such as hearing, seeing, or feeling something that is not there.
Schizoaffective disorder
(MedlinePlus) Schizoaffective disorder is a mental health condition that includes features of both schizophrenia and a mood disorder such as bipolar disorder or depression. The prefix "schizo-" refers to the psychotic symptoms of schizophrenia that affect a person's thinking, sense of self, and perceptions. The term "-affective" refers to extreme shifts in mood, energy, and behavior.
Schizoaffective disorder
(National Library of Medicine) Schizoaffective disorder is among the most frequently misdiagnosed psychiatric disorders in clinical practice. Due to concerns about the reliability and utility of the diagnostic criteria for schizoaffective disorder, some researchers have proposed revisions, while others have suggested altogether removing the diagnosis from the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. This activity describes limitations and challenges related to the diagnostic criteria and highlights the interprofessional team's role in caring for patients with psychiatric disorders.
Schizoaffective disorder
(Cleveland Clinic) Schizoaffective disorder is a mental health condition with symptoms of schizophrenia and a mood disorder. People with schizoaffective disorder may experience depression, mania and psychosis. Schizoaffective disorder treatment often includes therapy and medications. This combination can improve symptoms and quality of life.
Schizophrenia
(National Institute of Mental Health) Schizophrenia is a serious mental illness that affects how a person thinks, feels, and behaves. People with schizophrenia may seem like they have lost touch with reality, which can be distressing for them and for their family and friends. The symptoms of schizophrenia can make it difficult to participate in usual, everyday activities, but effective treatments are available.
Schizophrenia
(MedlinePlus) Schizophrenia is a serious brain illness. People who have it may hear voices that aren't there. They may think other people are trying to hurt them. Sometimes they don't make sense when they talk. The disorder makes it hard for them to keep a job or take care of themselves.
Schizophrenia
(American Psychological Association) Schizophrenia is a serious mental illness characterized by incoherent or illogical thoughts, bizarre behavior and speech, and delusions or hallucinations, such as hearing voices. The age of onset is typically between the late teens and mid-30s.
Schizophrenia vs. schizoaffective disorder: What's the difference?
(Cleveland Clinic) The difference between schizophrenia and schizoaffective disorder is this: Schizophrenia is a condition characterized by hallucinations, delusions and/or disordered thinking. People with schizoaffective disorder also have those symptoms — and, additionally, they have symptoms consistent with episodes of depression, mania or both.
Schizophreniform disorder
(Johns Hopkins Medicine) Disorder characterized by symptoms of schizophrenia, with a total duration greater than one month but less than the six months required for a schizophrenia diagnosis
Schizophreniform disorder
(Cleveland Clinic) Schizophreniform disorder is a mental health condition that causes symptoms of psychosis, like hallucinations, delusions and disorganized speech. It lasts fewer than six months. Treatment includes medications and talk therapy.
Understanding psychosis
(National Institute of Mental Health) Psychosis refers to a collection of symptoms that affect the mind, where there has been some loss of contact with reality. During an episode of psychosis, a person’s thoughts and perceptions are disrupted and they may have difficulty recognizing what is real and what is not.
What is schizophrenia?
(American Psychiatric Association) Schizophrenia is a chronic brain disorder that affects less than one percent of the U.S. population. When schizophrenia is active, symptoms can include delusions, hallucinations, disorganized speech, trouble with thinking and lack of motivation. However, with treatment, most symptoms of schizophrenia will greatly improve and the likelihood of a recurrence can be diminished.

LibGuide Curator

Michelle Arnold

Email Me

Abnormal Psychology: Schizophrenia and Other Psychotic Disorders

Schizophrenia and Other Psychotic Disorders

Quick Links

Schizophrenia and Other Psychotic Disorders

LibGuide Curator

Need help? Ask a Librarian!