LibGuides: Psychology: Personality

Personality

Personality is a set of relatively stable traits, characteristics, behaviors, and interests which define you as a person. There are many different theories which attempt to describe, explain, and/or categorize personalities, including trait theories (identifying and measuring one or more specific personality traits), psychoanalytic theories, biological/genetic approaches, and more. The resources in this section represent a variety of different approaches to personality. This section does not contain many sources discussing personality disorders; for more information on those, see the guide for Abnormal Psychology.

The resources on the right are arranged by type: general collection books, eBooks, journal articles, videos, and websites.

Quick Links

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Writing Center

Personality

Accidental brothers: The story of twins exchanged at birth and the power of nature and nurture by Segal, N. L., & Montoya, Y. S.
Call Number: BF723.T9 S434 2018
ISBN: 9781250101907
St. Martin's Press
Applying personality-informed treatment strategies to clinical practice: A theoretical and practical guide by Nevins, B.G.
Call Number: RC454 N48 2021
ISBN: 9780367371869
Routledge
Attachment and the defence against intimacy: Understanding and working with avoidant attachment, self-hated, and shame by Cundy, L.
Call Number: RC455.4.A84 A883 2019
ISBN: 9781138330450
Routledge
The biological mind: How brain, body, and environment collaborate to make us who we are by Jasanoff, A.
Call Number: RC321 J37 2018
ISBN: 9780465052684
Basic Books
The emotional foundation of personality: A neurobiological and evolutionary approach by Davis, K. L., & Panksepp, J.
Call Number: BF698 .D374 2018
ISBN: 9780393710571
W.W. Norton & Company
Handbook of personality: Theory and research by John, O. P., & Robins, R. W.
Call Number: BF 698 H335 2021
ISBN: 9781462550487
The Guilford Press
Personality, values, culture: An evolutionary approach by Fischer, R.
Call Number: GN504 .F57 2018
ISBN: 9781107087156
Cambridge University Press
Personality and individual differences: Revisiting the classic studies by Corr, P. J.
Call Number: BF698 .P47 2019
ISBN: 9781526413611
SAGE Publications Ltd
The personality brokers: The strange history of Myers-Briggs and the birth of personality testing by Emre, M.
Call Number: BF698.8.M94 E56 2018
ISBN: 9780385541909
Doubleday

Assessment using the Rorschach Inkblot Test by Choca, J. P., & Rossini, E. D.
ISBN: 9781433828812
Publication Date: 2018
APA PsycBooks
The balance of personality by Allen, C.
Publication Date: 2020
Portland State University
Open Textbook Library
Behavioral neuroscience by Palermo, S., & Morese, R.
ISBN: 9781789840520
Publication Date: 2019
Directory of Open Access Books
Case studies for interpreting the MMPI-A-RF by Davis, D. L., & Ben-Porath, Y. S.
ISBN: 9781452966939
Publication Date: 2021
ProQuest Ebook Central
Character strength development: Perspectives from positive psychology by Aneech, K. P., Tony, S. G., & Sudhesh, N. T.
ISBN: 9789352807772
Publication Date: 2018
eBooks in EBSCOhost
The development of Alfred Adler's individual psychology: Theory of personality, psychopathology, psychotherapy (1912-1937) by Eife, G.
ISBN: 9783647403847
Publication Date: 2019
ProQuest Ebook Central
Diversity-sensitivity personality assessment by Smith, S. R., & Krishnamurthy, R.
ISBN: 9781135912925
Publication Date: 2018
ProQuest Ebook Central
The ego and the mechanisms of defence by Freud, A., & The Institute of Psychoanalysis
ISBN: 9781849401227
Publication Date: 1992
ProQuest Ebook Central
Genes and behaviour: Beyond nature-nurture by Hosken, D. J., Hunt, J., & Wedell, N.
ISBN: 9781119313670
Publication Date: 2019
ProQuest Ebook Central
Inkblot personality test: Understanding the unconscious mind by Dubey, B. L., Banerjee, P., & Dubey, A.
ISBN: 9789353284633
Publication Date: 2019
ProQuest Ebook Central
The mechanics of passion: Brain, behaviour, and society by Ehrenberg, A.
ISBN: 9780228004431
Publication Date: 2020
ProQuest Ebook Central
Perfectionism in childhood and adolescence: A developmental approach by Flett, G. L., & Hewitt, P. L.
ISBN: 9781433833090
Publication Date: 2022
APA PsycBooks
Selfhood: Identity, esteem, regulation by Hoyle, R., et al.
ISBN: 9781000239355
Publication Date: 2019
ProQuest Ebook Central
What is healing and growth? Thoughts from Freud by Badalamenti, A. F.
ISBN: 9781527569386
Publication Date: 2021
ProQuest Ebook Central
The Wiley encyclopedia of personality and individual differences by Carducci, B. J., et al.
ISBN: 9781119793953
Publication Date: 2020
ProQuest Ebook Central

Assessing personality across 13 countries using the California Adult Q-set by Gardiner, G., et al.
International Journal of Personality Psychology, (2019), Vol. 5, 1-17.
Becoming who you are: An integrative review of self-determination theory and personality systems interactions theory by Koole, S. L., et al.
Journal of Personality, (2019, February 1), 87(1), 15-36.
The Big Five personality traits and brain arousal in the resting state by Jawinski, P., et al.
Brain Sciences, (2021), 11(10), 1272.
Convergence between Rorschach and self-report: A new look at some old questions by Morey, L. C., & McCredie, M. N.
Journal of Clinical Psychology, (2019, January 1), 75(1), 202-220.
The dynamics of personality approach (DPA): 20 tenets for uncovering the causal mechanisms of personality by Quirin, M., et al.
European Journal of Personality, (2020, November 1), 34(6), 947-968.
The genetics of human personality by Sanchez-Roige, S., et al.
Genes, Brain & Behavior, (2018, March 1), 17(3).
How did early North American clinical psychologists get their first personality test? Carl Gustav Jung, the Zurich School of Psychiatry, and the development of the "Word Association Test" (1898-1909) by Fierro, C.
History of Psychology, (2022, November), 25(4), 295-321.
Improving the measurement of "Big Five" personality traits in a brief survey instrument by DeBell, M., et al.
European Journal of Psychological Assessment, (2022), 38(2), 150-161.
Interpersonal dynamics in personality and personality disorders by Hopwood, C. J.
European Journal of Personality, (2018, September 1), 32(5), 499-524.
Linking individual differences in satisfaction with each of Maslow's needs to the Big Five personality traits and Panksepp's primary emotional systems by Montag, C., et al.
Heliyon, (2020, July), 6(7), e04325.
Linking personality and brain anatomy: A structural MRI approach to Reinforcement Sensitivity Theory by Adrián-Ventura, J., et al.
Social Cognitive & Affective Neuroscience, (2019, March 1), 14(3), 329-338.
Linking personality and cognition: A meta-analysis by Dougherty, L. R., & Guillette, L. M.
Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society B: Biological Sciences, (2018, September 26), 373(1756), 20170282.
Loneliness and the Big Five personality traits: A meta-analysis by Buecker, S., et al.
European Journal of Personality, (2020, January 1), 34(1), 8-28.
Maladaptive (dark-side) and adaptive (bright-side) personality traits and defense styles by Furnham, A., & Cuppello, S.
Acta Psychologica, (2023, September), Vol. 329, 104002.
Personality-place transactions: Mapping the relationships between Big Five personality traits, states, and daily places by Matz, S. C., & Harari, G. M.
Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, (2021, May), 120(5), 1367-1385.
Personality and developmental characteristics of primary school students' personality types by Yu, Y., & Zhang, Y.
Frontiers in Psychology: Personality and Social Psychology, (2021, August 18), Vol. 12.
Personality and local brain structure: Their shared genetic basis and reproducibility by Valk, S. L., et al.
NeuroImage, (2020, October 15), Vol. 220.
Personality neuroscience: An emerging field with bright prospects by DeYoung, C. G., et al.
Personality Science, (2022, January 1), Vol. 3, 1-21.
The psychanalitical approach of personality by Susanu, N.
EIRP Proceedings, (2020), 15, 341-349.
Self-actualizing people in the 21st century: Integration with contemporary theory and research on personality and well-being by Kaufman, S. B.
Journal of Humanistic Psychology, (2018, November 7), 63(1).
Three genetic-environmental networks for human personality by Zwir, I., et al.
Molecular Psychiatry, (2021, August), 26(8), 3858-3875.
Trajectories of the Big Five personality traits: A coordinated analysis of 16 longitudinal samples by Graham, E. K., et al.
European Journal of Personality, (2020, May), 34(3), 301-321.
Trust in name brand assessment: The case of the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator by Lake, C. J., et al.
The Psychologist-Manager Journal, (2019, May), 22(2), 91-107.
A typology of persona as suggested by Jungian theory and the evolving persona studies literature by Giles, D. C.
Persona Studies, (2020), 6(1), 15-29.
Uncovering the complex genetics of human character by Zwir, I., et al.
Molecular Psychiatry, (2020, October), 25(10), 2295-2312.
'Who is my Jung?' The progressive, though sometimes ambivalent, expansion of Jung's 'unconscious humanity' to - in all but name - the soul of the world by Cashford, J.
Journal of Analytical Psychology, (2018), 63(3), 322-335.

Library Database Videos

Delayed gratification and the quest to bridge the person-situation debate
Alexander Street Video: 4:00
re behaviors innate, or are they shaped by our surroundings? David Epstein poses this question as he examines the person-situation debate through the lens of the famed marshmallow test, an experiment in the self-control of children. Simple strategies can be taught to help delay gratification, which suggests our personality traits can undergo change depending on context.
Leadership and personality: Trait perspectives and "Great Man" theory
Sage Knowledge: 25:31
Alex Haslam, professor of psychology at the University of Queensland, discusses the limitations of the personality trait and great man leadership theories based on current leader-follower and group processes research.
Maslow's hierarchy of needs: Updated for the 21st century
Alexander Street Video: 7:00
When we imagine Maslow's famous hierarchy of needs, we visualize a pyramid. This is all wrong, says humanistic psychologist Scott Barry Kaufman... Kaufman rebuilt Maslow's hierarchy of needs, updating it for the 21st century with a solid scientific foundation.
Shaping the personality: The role of mother-child relations in infancy (silent)
ProQuest Video: 18:45
Rene Spitz child development film - 1953.

YouTube Videos

Behavior
(UCSF Weill Institute for Neurosciences) Changes to brain structure and function can lead to significant changes in personality and behavior.
Biological approaches to personality
(Pressbooks) How much of our personality is in-born and biological, and how much is influenced by the environment and culture we are raised in? Psychologists who favor the biological approach believe that inherited predispositions as well as physiological processes can be used to explain differences in our personalities (Burger, 2008).
Humanistic approaches
(University of Central Florida) As the “third force” in psychology, humanism is touted as a reaction both to the pessimistic determinism of psychoanalysis, with its emphasis on psychological disturbance, and to the behaviorists’ view of humans passively reacting to the environment, which has been criticized as making people out to be personality-less robots.
Maslow's hierarchy of needs
(Wichita State University) Abraham Maslow's pyramidal "Hierarchy of Needs" model is a highly-influential way of organizing human needs from the most "basic" to the most advanced.
The origins of personality
(BCcampus) Although measures such as the Big Five and the Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory (MMPI) are able to effectively assess personality, they do not say much about where personality comes from. In this section we will consider two major theories of the origin of personality: psychodynamic and humanistic approaches.
Personal construct theory
(University College London) Personal construct theory is a comprehensive theory of human action and perceptions, which takes as its central metaphor that man is a scientist, collecting data about the world, and forming and re-forming hypotheses about the nature of the world.
Personality
(American Psychological Association) Personality refers to the enduring characteristics and behavior that comprise a person’s unique adjustment to life, including major traits, interests, drives, values, self-concept, abilities, and emotional patterns. Various theories explain the structure and development of personality in different ways, but all agree that personality helps determine behavior.
Personality traits
(University of Saskatchewan) Personality traits reflect people’s characteristic patterns of thoughts, feelings, and behaviours. Personality traits imply consistency and stability—someone who scores high on a specific trait like Extraversion is expected to be sociable in different situations and over time. Thus, trait psychology rests on the idea that people differ from one another in terms of where they stand on a set of basic trait dimensions that persist over time and across situations.
The science of personality development
(Lesley University) Explore theoretical explanations for personality development, how psychologists study the topic, and why personality disorders occur.
What is personality?
(Pressbooks) Personality refers to the long-standing traits and patterns that propel individuals to consistently think, feel, and behave in specific ways. The unique constellation of the ways we approach the world, interpret events, and act consistently across situations is our personality.
What is personality psychology?
(University of New Hampshire) One of the missions of our laboratory has been to develop, expand and promote a new unified vision of personality psychology... By promoting a unified framework for the discipline's teaching and research we hope to improve and to promote the field by clarifying its central concerns and strengths.
What is psychoanalysis? - The ego, the id, and the superego
(Freud Museum London) Freud discovered a mind at war with itself.
What is social and personality psychology?
(Society for Personality and Social Psychology) Social psychology is the scientific study of how people’s thoughts, feelings, and behaviors are influenced by the actual, imagined, or implied presence of others. Personality psychology is the scientific study of individual differences in people’s thoughts, feelings, and behavior, and how these come together as a whole.

LibGuide Curator

Michelle Arnold

Email Me

Psychology: Personality

Personality

Quick Links

Personality

LibGuide Curator

Need Help? Ask a Librarian