LibGuides: Psychology: General Texts

Schools of Thought

This section contains resources for general psychology. These resources provide an overview of the subject of psychology, explore basic and/or broad concepts, discuss issues which span multiple psychological perspectives, and/or discuss general research methods and experimental designs.

The resources on the right are arranged by type: general collection books, eBooks, journal articles, videos, and websites.

Quick Links

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Writing Center

General Texts

Advertising, gender and society: A psychological perspective by Zawisza, M. J.
Call Number: HF 5822 Z39 2019
ISBN: 9781138501379
Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group
APA handbook of sport and exercise psychology, volume 1: Sport psychology by American Psychological Association
ISBN: 9781433830402
Publication Date: 2019
APA PsycBooks
Handbook of health psychology by Revenson, T. A., & Gurung, R. A. R.
Call Number: RC454 .H36 2019
ISBN: 9781138052826
Routledge
Psychological testing: Theory and practice by Cooper, C.
Call Number: BF176.C656 2019
ISBN: 9781138228894
Routledge
Psychology & behavioral health by Moglia, P.
Call Number: BF 636 P86 2023
ISBN: 9781637004630
Salem Press
Reporting qualitative research in psychology: How to meet APA style journal article reporting standards by Levitt, H. M.
Call Number: BF76.5 L458 2020
ISBN: 9781433833434
American Psychological Association
The Routledge international handbook of military psychology and mental health by Kumar, U.
Call Number: U 22 .3 R68 2020
ISBN: 9780367237073
Routledge
Science and philosophy of behavior: Selected papers by Baum, W. M.
Call Number: BF 199 B32 2022
ISBN: 9781119880868
John Wiley & Sons
Success as a psychology major by Copeland, D. E., & Houska, J. A.
Call Number: BF 77 C67 2020
ISBN: 9781544334714
Publication Date: 2021
SAGE

50 psychology classics by Butler-Bowdon, T.
ISBN: 1857886747
Publication Date: 2017
Credo Reference
Advances in psychology research; volume 146 by Columbus, A. M.
ISBN: 9781685071158
Publication Date: 2021
Ebooks in EBSCOhost
Elementary psychology by Sinha, J.
ISBN: 1642873241
Publication Date: 2018
Ebooks in EBSCOhost
The first century of experimental psychology by Hearst, E.
ISBN: 9781000766837
Publication Date: 2020
ProQuest Ebook Central
An inquiry into the foundations of psychology by Saugstad, P.
ISBN: 9781000024715
Publication Date: 2020
ProQuest Ebook Central
New developments in psychology research by Grove, L. E.
ISBN: 1536154245
Publication Date: 2019
Ebooks in EBSCOhost
The Oxford encyclopedia of educational psychology by Zhang, L.
ISBN: 9780190874780
Publication Date: 2021
Oxford Reference
Plato's psychology (2nd edition) by Robinson, T. M.
ISBN: 0802075908
Publication Date: 2018
Ebooks in EBSCOhost
Psychology by Spielman, R. M., et al.
ISBN: 9781951693237
Publication Date: 2020
OpenStax
Psychology: The science of human potential by Levy, J.
Publication Date: 2019
Open Textbook Library
Psychology for a better world: A cross-cultural anthology on emotional well-being by Prasad Regmi, M.; Schmaling, K.; and Sochos, A.
ISBN: 9781527524378
Publication Date: 2019
ProQuest Ebook Central
The psychology of prejudice: From attitudes to social action (2nd ed.) by Jackson, L. M.
ISBN: 9781433831485
Publication Date: 2020
APA PsycBooks
Psychology of religions, violence, and conflict resolution by Ngale, I. F.
ISBN: 9781536155365
Publication Date: 2019
Ebooks in EBSCOhost
Qualitative research in psychology: Expanding perspectives in methodology and design (2nd ed.) by Camic, P. M.
ISBN: 9781433834455
Publication Date: 2021
APA PsycBooks
Reporting qualitative research in psychology: How to meet APA style journal article reporting standards by Levitt, H. M.
ISBN: 9781433833434
Publication Date: 2020
APA PsycBooks
Rewriting psychology: An abysmal science? by Ho, D. Y. F.
ISBN: 1627347186
Publication Date: 2019
Ebooks in EBSCOhost
What the children told us: The untold story of the famous doll test and the black psychologists who changed the world by Spofford, T.
ISBN: 9781728248097
Publication Date: 2022
ProQuest Ebook Central

The 8 pillars of metacognition by Drigas, A. and Mitsea, E.
International Journal of Emerging Technologies in Learning, (2020), 15(21), 162-178.
Early experimental psychology: How did replication work before p-hacking? by Mülberger, A.
Review of General Psychology, (2022, June 1), 26(2), 131-145.
Four decades of challenges by culture to mainstream psychology: Finding ways forward by Smith, P. B., & Bond, M. H.
Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology, (2022, August 1), 53(7-8), 729-751.
General psychology as common ground and point of view: Enduring and evolving features by Osbeck, L. M.
Review of General Psychology, (2020, March 1), 24(1), 6-17.
Ground-break innovations in general psychology by Aboulafia, A. L. T., Dahl, M.
Integrative Psychological & Behavioral Science, (2019), 53(2), 207-222.
Imagination in general psychology: Thinking with Luca Tateo's "A Theory of Imagining, Knowing, and Understandind" by Gozli, D. G.
Integrative Psychological & Behavioral Science, (2020), 54(4), 920-932.
Psychology's status as a science: Peculiarities and intrinsic challenges. Moving beyond its current deadlock towards conceptual integration. by Uher, J.
Integrative Psychological & Behavioral Science, (2021, March), 55(1), 212-224.
Realistically re-envisioning general psychology and its relation to specialization by Hibberd, F. J., & Petocz, A.
The Journal of Mind and Behavior, (2022), 43(2), 85-109.

Library Database Videos

Making friends with research methods
Alexander Street Video: 10:00
Understanding research methods isn’t easy for many students and a lot of them also find it boring. This film uses different techniques to make research methods more interesting, accessible and easier to understand. It looks at three key questions: Why do students have to study research methods? What are research methods? And how are they evaluated?
Maths in psychology
Alexander Street Video (series)
A series of videos covering different math concepts in psychology, including Spearman's rank order correlation coefficient, the sign test, Chi-square tests, the Mann Whitney U test, probability, and the Wilcoxen signed ranks test.
Parenting is overrated
Films on Demand - 1:22:04
What shapes us more: our DNA, or the way we are raised? This debate, commonly referred to as "nature versus nurture," has stirred controversy for thousands of years.
Revising core concepts in psychology
Alexander Street Video (series)
A video series exploring key concepts in psychology, including reductionism, reliability and validity, sampling, and variables.
Revising debates in psychology
Alexander Street Video (series)
A series of videos discussing debated issues in psychology, including free will and determinism, individualistic and situational explanations, nature/nurture, and psychology as a science.
Revising experimental research methods
Alexander Street Video (series)
A series of videos exploring different experimental research designs in psychology, including field experiments, laboratory experiments, and natural experiments.
Revising issues in psychology
Alexander Street Video (series)
A series of videos discussing issues in psychology, including ethics, ethnocentrism, socially sensitive research, and the usefulness of research.
Revising non-experiemtnal research methods
Alexander Street Video (series)
A series of videos exploring different methods of non-experimental research, including case studies, correlations, naturalistic observation, and self-report methods.

YouTube Videos

American Psychiatric Association
(American Psychiatric Association) The American Psychiatric Association is to be the premier psychiatric organization that advances mental health as part of general health and well-being.
American Psychological Association
(American Psychological Association) APA is the leading scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States, with more than 146,000 researchers, educators, clinicians, consultants, and students as its members.
APA dictionary of psychology
(American Psychological Association) More than 25,000 authoritative entries across 90 subfields of psychology.
Milestones in neuroscience research
(University of Washington) The following dates are a selection of important events to take place in neuroscience.
Office for human research protections
(U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) OHRP provides clarification and guidance, develops educational programs and materials, maintains regulatory oversight, and provides advice on ethical and regulatory issues in biomedical and behavioral research. OHRP also supports the Secretary's Advisory Committee on Human Research Protections (SACHRP), which advises the HHS Secretary on issues related to protecting human subjects in research.
Perspectives in psychology
(Grand Canyon University) The history of professional psychology is marked by a variety of approaches and perspectives. These are distinct ways of observing and analyzing human behavior and thought processes. Students earning a psychology degree are often curious about which perspective is correct. The truth is that no approach is necessarily better or more accurate than the others.
Psychology resources
(Athabasca University) This list of psychology resources is based at the Centre for Social Sciences - Psychology of Athabasca University in Athabasca, Alberta, Canada.
Society for general psychology
(American Psychological Association) Div. 1 (The Society for General Psychology) promotes the creation of coherence among psychology’s diverse evidence based specialties, other scientific disciplines and the humanities. It encourages analysis of the merits and challenges of bridging concepts, methods, and theories.
Society for the history of psychology
(American Psychological Association) We are an international organization of scholars, teachers, and members whose interests and scholarship are concerned with understanding the historical events and important people who have shaped the development of psychological thought and practice.
Web links by psychology subject area
(Social Psychology Network) Social Psychology Network contains thousands of links related to psychology and neuroscience. This page offers a directory of links organized by sub-field.

LibGuide Curator

Michelle Arnold

Email Me

Psychology: General Texts

Schools of Thought

Quick Links

General Texts

LibGuide Curator

Need help? Ask a Librarian!