LibGuides: Psychology: Perspectives and Schools of Thought

Perspectives and Schools of Thought

The field of psychology is divided into many different schools of thought. Some of the major perspectives in psychology are the Biological, Behavioral, Cognitive, Humanistic, Psychodynamic, and Sociocultural perspectives. This section contains resources for these perspectives and more, though it does not necessarily include all psychological perspectives. Be aware that a few of the resources are from the original founders of the perspective, and therefore are fairly old.

The resources on the right are arranged by type: general collection books, eBooks, journal articles, videos, and websites. They all relate to psychology schools of thought in some way, though individual resources may cover more focused specializations.

Quick Links

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Writing Center

Perspectives and Schools of Thought

About behaviorism by Skinner, B. F.
Call Number: BF199.S54
ISBN: 0394492013
Publication Date: 1974
Knopf; distributed by Random House
Accidental brothers: The story of twins exchanged at birth and the power of nature and nurture by Segal, N. L., & Montoya, Y. S.
Call Number: BF723.T9 S434 2018
ISBN: 9781250101907
St. Martin's Press
Behave: The biology of humans at our best and worst by Sapolsky, R. M.
Call Number: QP351 .S27 2018
ISBN: 9780143110910
Penguin Books
Behaviorism by Watson, J. B.
Call Number: BF199.W3 1958
University of Chicago Press
Cognitive psychology: Revisiting the classic studies
Call Number: BF 201 C635 2023
ISBN: 9781529781434
SAGE
Handbook of cultural psychology by Kitayama, S., & Cohen, D.
Call Number: GN502 H3615 2019
ISBN: 9781462544172
The Guilford Press
The neurobiology of brain and behavioral development by Gibb, R., & Kolb, B.
Call Number: QP376 .N48 2018
ISBN: 9780128040362
Academic Press
Also available online (click link)
The new reflectionism in cognitive psychology: Why reasons matter by Pennycook, G.
Call Number: BF201 .N48 2018
ISBN: 9781138208094
Routledge
On becoming a person: A therapist's view of psychotherapy by Rogers, C. R.
Call Number: RC480.5 .R62
ISBN: 9780395755310
Publication Date: 1961
Houghton Mifflin
The Oxford handbook of positive psychology by Snyder, C. R., et al.
Call Number: BF 204 .6 O95 2021
ISBN: 9780199396511
Oxford University Press
A way of being by Rogers, C. R.
Call Number: BF204.R64
ISBN: 0395299152
Publication Date: 1980
Houghton Mifflin

Applied behavior analysis advanced guidebook: A manual for professional practice by Luiselli, J. K.
ISBN: 9780323995955
Publication Date: 2023
ProQuest Ebook Central
Cultural psychology of intervention in the globalized world by Schliewe, S.
ISBN: 9781641132855
Publication Date: 2018
Ebooks in EBSCOhost
Eco-neurobiology, and how the environment shapes our brains by Grabrucker, A. M.
ISBN: 9781527542068
Publication Date: 2019
ProQuest Ebook Central
Evolution and contextual behavioral science: An integrated framework for understanding, predicting, and influencing human behavior by Wilson, D. S., Hayes, S. C.
ISBN: 9781626259133
Publication Date: 2018
Ebooks in EBSCOhost
Evolutionary psychology meets social neuroscience by Morese, R., Auriemma, V., & Palermo, S.
ISBN: 9781839688713
Publication Date: 2022
Directory of Open Access Books
Handbook of positive psychology, religion, and spirituality by Davis, E. D., Worthington J., E. L., & Schnitker, S. A.
ISBN: 9783031102745
Publication Date: 2023
Springer Link
The interpretation of dreams by Freud, S.
Publication Date: 1913
APA PsycBooks
The neurocognitive theory of dreaming: The where, how, when, what, and why of dreams by Domhoff, G. W.
ISBN: 9780262544214
Publication Date: 2022
Directory of Open Access Books
Psychoanalysis: A new overview by Irtelli, F, Marchesi, B., & Durbano, F.
ISBN: 9781839627811
Publication Date: 2021
IntechOpen
Psychoanalysis and psychoanalytic therapies (2nd ed.) by Safran, J. D., Hunter, J.
ISBN: 9781433832321
Publication Date: 2020
APA PsycBooks
Psychology of health: Biopsychosocial approach by Taukeni, S. G.
ISBN: 9781838802172
Publication Date: 2019
Directory of Open Access Books
Selected papers on psychoanalysis by Abraham, K., Bryan, D., & Strachey, A.
ISBN: 9781849400558
Publication Date: 1988
ProQuest Ebook Central
Stevens' handbook of experimental psychology and cognitive neuroscience: Learning and memory by Wixted, J. T., Phelps, E. A., & Davachi, L.
ISBN: 9781119170037
Publication Date: 2018
ProQuest Ebook Central
Think tank: Forty Neuroscientists explore the biological roots of human experience by Linden, D. J.
ISBN: 9780300235470
Publication Date: 2018
ProQuest Ebook Central
The truth of psychoanalysis by Feyaerts, J., & Beer, P.
ISBN: 9789461664167
Publication Date: 2022
ProQuest Ebook Central
Understanding and enhancing positive regard in psychotherapy: Carl Rogers and beyond by Farber, B. A., Suzuki, J. Y., & Ort, D.
ISBN: 9781433836695
Publication Date: 2022
APA PsycBooks
What is cognitive psychology? by Dawson, M. R. W.
ISBN: 9781771993418
Publication Date: 2022
Directory of Open Access Books

Being and becoming: Celebrating women in humanistic psychology by Rockwell, D., & Brown, V.
The Humanistic Psychologist, (2022, September), 50(3), 329-332.
Beyond the "third wave of positive psychology": Challenges and opportunities for future research by Wissing, M. P.
Frontiers in Psychology, (2022, January 14), Vol. 12.
Common factors: What are they and what do they mean for humanistic psychology? by Elkins, D. N.
Journal of Humanistic Psychology, (2019, June 28), 62(1).
The critiques and criticisms of positive psychology: A systematic review by van Zyl, L. E., et al.
The Journal of Positive Psychology, (2023, February 23).
The cultural in the social: A reflection on sociocultural models approaches by Kashima, Y.
Asian Journal of Social Psychology, (2020, June), 23(2), 135-142.
Current diversification of behaviorism by Araiba, S.
Perspect Behav Sci., (2020, March), 43(1), 157-175.
Does social psychology persist over half a century? A direct replication of Cialdini et al.'s (1975) classic door-in-the-face technique by Genschow, O., et al.
Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, (2021, February), 120(2), e1-e7.
Epistemological foundations of humanistic psychology's approach to the empirical by DeRobertis, E. M.
Journal of Theoretical and Philosophical Psychology, (2022, May), 42(2), 61-77.
Extending B. F. Skinner's selection by consequences to personality change, implicit theories of intelligence, skill learning, and language by Goddard, M. J.
Review of General Psychology, (2018, December), 22(4), 421-426.
Historical foundations of existential-humanistic developmental psychology by DeRobertis, E. M.
The Humanistic Psychologist, (2023, February 9).
How humanistic is positive psychology? Lessons in positive psychology from Carl Rogers' person-centered approach - It's the social environment that must change
Frontiers in Psychology, (2021, September 28), Vol. 12.
Humanism's revival in third-wave behaviorism by McLaughlin, J. E.
Journal of Humanistic Counseling, (2019, April), 58(1), 2-16.
The humanistic revolution in psychology: Its inaugural vision by DeRobertis, E. M.
Journal of Humanistic Psychology, (2020, September 10), 61(1).
An introduction to the theory of sociocultural models by Chirkov, V.
Asian Journal of Social Psychology, (2020, June), 23(2), 143-162.
Learning theories: Behaviorism by Clark, K. R.
Radiologic Technology, (2018), 90(2), 172-175.
On two foundational principles of the Berlin School of Gestalt Psychology by Greenwood, J. D.
Review of General Psychology, (3030, September 1), 24(3, 284-294.
Positive psychology is value-laden - It's time to embrace it by Prinzing, M. M.
Journal of Positive Psychology, (2021, May), 16(3), 289-297.
Relationships between Carl Rogers' person-centered education and the Community of Inquiry framework: A preliminary exploration by Swan, K., Chen, C.-C., & Bockmier-Sommers, D. K.
Online Learning, (2020), 24(3), 4-18.
The rise and fall of behaviorism: The narrative and the numbers by Braat, M., et al.
History of Psychology, (2020, August), 23(3), 252-280.
The sociocultural movement in psychology, the role of theories in sociocultural inquiries, and the theory of sociocultural models by Chirkov, V.
Asian Journal of Social Psychology, (2020, June), 23(2), 119-134.
A sociocultural theory of creativity: Bridging the social, the material, and the psychological by Glăveanu, V. P.
Review of General Psychology, (2020, December), 24(4), 335-254.
States of mind in conflict: Offerings and translations from the psychoanalytic and psychosocial fields by Seu, I. B.
New England Journal of Public Policy, (2021), 33(1), 1-24.
Systems informed positive psychology by Karn, M., et al.
Journal of Positive Psychology, (2020, November), 15(6), 705-715.
Third wave positive psychology: Broadening towards complexity by Lomas, T., et al.
Journal of Positive Psychology, (2021, September), 16(5), 660-674.

Agency and positive psychology
Alexander Street Video: 1:07:00
Join the father of Positive Psychology in this session as we explore the world history of Agency and its relation to the past, present, and future of Positive Psychology, Positive Education, and Positive Psychotherapy.
B. F. Skinner, part 1
Alexander Street Video: 51:00
Dr. Skinner evaluates Freudian theory and discusses his views on motivation, operant conditioning, schedules of reinforcement, punishment, and teaching machines. From the Notable Contributors to the Psychology of Personality series. Produced by R.I. Evans.
Beyond Brain: Exploring the Future of Consciousness
Alexander Street Video: 53:00
This video elucidates exciting questions in contemporary consciousness studies and brain sciences, inspiring the viewer to explore the relationship between brain, mind, and consciousness. It discusses how such interrelations provide insightful responses to understand the place of self and subjective experience. Through the video, the reader gets enormous details in the field of consciousness research.
Dr. Carl Jung: part 1
Films on Demand: 58:44
In this video discussion, Dr. Carl Jung presents his views on personality organization and discusses the fundamental concepts of his theory.
The inner world of counseling with Carl Rogers, part 1
ProQuest Video: 27:10
Dr. Rogers uses client-centered counseling while Sylvia discusses her problems as a divorcee and single parent, and her fears about going to work full-time. Through use of freeze frames and voiceover commentary, Sylvia comments on her feelings at various points in the interview, and Dr. Rogers discusses his counseling techniques and the feelings Sylvia seems to be expressing.
The inner world of counseling with Carl Rogers, part 2
ProQuest: 30:31
Dr. Rogers uses client-centered counseling while Sylvia discusses her problems as a divorcee and single parent, and her fears about going to work full-time. Through use of freeze frames and voiceover commentary, Sylvia comments on her feelings at various points in the interview, and Dr. Rogers discusses his counseling techniques and the feelings Sylvia seems to be expressing.
Jung speaks of Freud
Films on Demand: 28:22
In this video interview with Richard Evans, Carl Jung talks about his early acquaintance with Freud and why he broke from some of Freud's theories to form his own school of thought. He explains how he came to the conclusion that Freud's theories on the ego, id, and oedipal complex were too limited.
Maslow's hierarchy of needs: Updated for the 21st century
ProQuest Video: 6:39
When we imagine Maslow's famous hierarchy of needs, we visualize a pyramid. This is all wrong, says humanistic psychologist Scott Barry Kaufman... Kaufman rebuilt Maslow's hierarchy of needs, updating it for the 21st century with a solid scientific foundation.
Rollo May on existential psychology
Films on Demand: 29:22
In this video discussion with John Whiteley, Rollo May speaks about the theory and practice of existential therapy.
TEDTalks: Kay M. Tye - What investigating neural pathways can reveal about mental health
Films on Demand: 13:00
Neuroscientist Kay M. Tye investigates how your brain gives rise to complex emotional states like depression, anxiety or loneliness.

About Div. 32
(Society for Humanistic Psychology) Humanistic psychologists are oriented toward systematically promoting psychological development and growth and supporting the creative and self-initiated efforts of individuals, families, and communities.
About psychoanalysis
(American Psychoanalytic Association) Psychoanalysis arose from an appreciation of the power of people talking directly to one another about questions that matter and issues that are difficult to understand. In examining what lies beneath the surface of human behavior—in providing multi-layered and multi-dimensional explanations—psychoanalysis teaches us about the unconscious psychological and psychosocial forces that fall outside of everyday awareness.
Association for Humanistic Psychology
(Association for Humanistic Psychology) AHP is for everyone who wants to become more creative, loving, playful, and vibrantly alive. We explore what people are like when they are at their very best, and how we can each live that way more every day.
Behaviorism
(EdTech Books) Behaviorism is an area of psychological study that focuses on observing and analyzing how controlled environmental changes affect behavior.
Behaviorism
(Berkley Graduate Division) Methodological behaviorism began as a reaction against the introspective psychology that dominated the late-19th and early-20th centuries.
Biopsychology
(Oakland University) Biopsychology (also known as physiological psychology, behavioral neuroscience or psychobiology) is an interdisciplinary field that analyzes how the brain and neurotransmitters influence our behaviors, thoughts and feelings.
Cognition and the brain
(American Psychological Association) Cognition includes all forms of knowing and awareness, such as perceiving, conceiving, remembering, reasoning, judging, imagining, and problem solving.
Cognitive psychology explores our mental processes
(American Psychological Association) Cognitive psychologists, sometimes called brain scientists, study how the human brain works — how we think, remember and learn. They apply psychological science to understand how we perceive events and make decisions.
Cognitive Science Society
(CSS) The mission of the Cognitive Science Society is to promote Cognitive Science as a discipline, and to foster scientific interchange among researchers in various areas of study, including Artificial Intelligence, Linguistics, Anthropology, Psychology, Neuroscience, Philosophy, and Education.
Evolutionary psychology
(Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy) Evolutionary psychology is one of many biologically informed approaches to the study of human behavior. Along with cognitive psychologists, evolutionary psychologists propose that much, if not all, of our behavior can be explained by appeal to internal psychological mechanisms. What distinguishes evolutionary psychologists from many cognitive psychologists is the proposal that the relevant internal mechanisms are adaptations—products of natural selection—that helped our ancestors get around the world, survive and reproduce.
Humanistic psychology: Honoring the whole person
(Michigan School of Psychology) During the first half of the twentieth century, American psychology was dominated by psychoanalysis, followed later by behaviorism. Neither school fully acknowledged qualities of human potential or the study of values, intentions and meaning in human existence. There was need for a new paradigm that celebrated the inherent value and dignity of human beings. That paradigm was to be called humanistic psychology.
Learning theories for educators
(University of Wyoming) In contrast to behaviorist theories that concentrate on observable behavior shaped by environmental forces, and cognitivist theory that deal with the mental processing of information, humanist theories consider learning from the perspective of the human potential for growth.
Maslow's hierarchy of needs
(Wichita State University) Abraham Maslow's pyramidal "Hierarchy of Needs" model is a highly-influential way of organizing human needs from the most "basic" to the most advanced.
The Person Centered Association
(The Person Centered Association) We are an association of people committed to the person-centred experiential family of therapies and to the wider person-centred approach. Membership is open to everyone who has an interest in or a passion for person-centred experiential theory and practice and, although most members are therapists, we support and encourage our members who are nurses, teachers, managers ...
Perspectives in psychology
(Grand Canyon University) The history of professional psychology is marked by a variety of approaches and perspectives. These are distinct ways of observing and analyzing human behavior and thought processes.
Positive psychology
(Harvard Health Publishing) Positive psychology helps to foster happiness and emotional wellness. It does this by helping people capitalize on their strengths, heighten their gratitude and awareness, connect to others, and develop the wisdom needed to live a more meaningful and fulfilling life.
Psychoanalytic and psychodynamic psychology
(American Psychological Association) Psychoanalytic and psychodynamic psychotherapies help people to improve their lives by gaining a better understanding about how they think and feel. Talk therapies can help create better relationships, more manageable emotions, and the ability to make better life choices.
Sigmund Freud’s The Ego and the Id
(JSTOR) Freud died 80 years ago this week. In this “Virtual Roundtable,” three scholars debate the legacy of his 1923 text.
Skinner and behaviorism
(Harvard University) Considered the father of Behaviorism, B.F. Skinner was the Edgar Pierce Professor of Psychology at Harvard from 1959 to 1974. He completed his PhD in psychology at Harvard in 1931. He studied the phenomenon of operant conditioning in the eponymous Skinner Box, still used today.
Society for Humanistic Psychology
(American Psychological Association) In the science and profession of psychology, humanistic psychologists recognize the full range and richness of the human experience and are dedicated to understanding and appreciating people holistically, phenomenologically, and systemically; as continually evolving; and as uniquely situated in their intersecting sociocultural and eco-psycho-spiritual contexts.
Types of psychological perspectives
(The College of Saint Rose) Psychological perspectives, also called approaches or schools of thought, are interpretations of psychology that help professionals in the field understand an individual.
What is cognitive psychology?
(The British Academy) Cognitive psychologists are often hesitant to explain what they do for a living. The reason is that most people don’t know what cognitive psychology is – and to be honest, we are not very good at explaining what it is either. Let me try to set the record straight.
What is psychoanalysis? - Is it weird?
(Freud Museum London) These films are intended to facilitate first encounters with Freud’s thought. If you’re studying the psychodynamic approach, this resource is for you!
What is social psychology? Definition, key terms, and examples
(Maryville University) Social psychologists explore the power of thought and perception to shape action and cement emotional connections.

LibGuide Curator

Michelle Arnold

Email Me

Psychology: Perspectives and Schools of Thought

Perspectives and Schools of Thought

Quick Links

Perspectives and Schools of Thought

LibGuide Curator

Need Help? Ask a Librarian