LibGuides: Psychology: Counseling and Therapy Techniques

Counseling and Therapy Techniques

One major career path for psychologists is to be a counselor/therapist, either privately or on staff in a larger institution. This section provides resources on various counseling techniques, theories, and practices.

The resources on the right are arranged by type: eBooks, journal articles, videos, and websites. They all relate to counseling and therapy techniques in some way, though individual resources may focus on other aspects of the profession.

Quick Links

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Writing Center

Counseling and Therapy Techniques

The art of integrative counseling by Corey, G.
ISBN: 9781119535294
Publication Date: 2018
ProQuest Ebook Central
Contemplation and counseling: An integrative model for pratitioners by Blanton, P. G.
ISBN: 9780830828654
Publication Date: 2019
Ebooks in EBSCOhost
The skills training manual for radically open dialectical behavior therapy: A clinician's guide for treating disorders of overcontrol by Lynch, T. R.
ISBN: 1626259313
Publication Date: 2018
Ebooks in EBSCOhost
Wellness counseling: A holistic approach to prevention and intervention by Ohrt, J.H.; Clarke, P.B.; and Conley, A.H.
ISBN: 9781119535348
Publication Date: 2018
ProQuest Ebook Central

Counseling parents at the time of diagnosis: Moving toward client-centered practice by Luterman, D.
American Journal of Audiology, (2021, March), 30(1), 226-230.
Crisis counseling for black lives matter protests by Green, D. A., Williams, B. A., & Park, K.
Journal of Mental Health Counseling, (2021, July), 43(3), 198-211.
Effectiveness of solution-focused counseling therapy on pregnancy anxiety and fear of childbirth: A randomized clinical trial by Mortazavi, F., Mehrabadi, M., & Karrabi, R.
Nursing Practice Today, (2021), 8(3), 244-254.
Effect of solution-focused group counseling approach on the happiness of postmenopausal women suffering from empty nest syndrome by Mehrabi, N. et al
Journal of Midwifery & Reproductive Health, (2021, January), 9(1), 2548-2554.
Social justice and community-based rehabilitation counseling by Millington, M. J.
Journal of Applied Rehabilitation Counseling, (2021), 52(1), 18-25.
Wellness decolonized: The history of wellness and recommendations for the counseling field by Gamby, K., Burno, D., & Forristal, K.
Journal of Mental Health Counseling, (2021, July), 43(3), 228-245.
Why do men drop out of counseling/psychotherapy? An enhanced critical incident technique analysis of male clients’ experiences by Springer, K. L. & Bedi, R. P.
Psychology of Men & Masculinities, (2021, October), 22(4), 776-786.

Adlerian therapy
Alexander Street Video - 1:45:10
Intervention Techniques for Adlerian: Encouragement, Early Recollections, Spitting in the Soup, Push Button Technique, Acting “As If”, Task Setting
Crisis counseling: strategies and interventions to safely manage clients
Films on Demand - 5:49:43
Reviewing legal and ethical obligations in crisis situations, this video seminar teaches how to assess psychiatric issues and the influence of substances in mental health crises. It discusses different types of psychotropic medications, examines elements of risk assessment in suicidal clients, looks at homicidal and violence risk, and considers emergencies that stem from substance abuse. The video also discusses burnout, compassion fatigue, and vicarious trauma.
Gestalt therapy
Alexander Street Video - 1:44:09
Intervention techniques for Gestalt: Immediacy "Here and Now", Unfinished Business, Projection, Polarities, Empty Chair, and Body Awareness.
Multicultural feminist therapy
Alexander Street Video - 1:56:32
Intervention Techniques for Multicultural Feminist: Culturally Sensitive Engagement, Language as an Intervention, Understand a Client’s Worldview, Consciousness Raising, Strength-Based Empowerment, “Loteria” (part of Mexican culture and used to bring up memories in work with clients).
Psychodynamic therapy
Alexander Street Video - 1:51:43
Intervention techniques for Psychodynamic: Working Through, Free Association, Interpretation, Resistance, Confrontation, and Transference.

Association For Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies
(ABCT) The Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies is a multidisciplinary organization committed to the enhancement of health and well-being by advancing the scientific understanding, assessment, prevention, and treatment of human problems through the global application of behavioral, cognitive, and biological evidence-based principles.
National Institute of Mental Health
(National Institute of Health) The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is the lead federal agency for research on mental disorders.
The Nebraska Psychological Association
(NebPsych) The Nebraska Psychological Association is the only statewide organization dedicated solely to represent the interests of psychologists and psychology across Nebraska.
Society for Couple and Family Psychology
(American Psychological Association) Division 43 is one of an interdivisional group of child practice divisions, which also includes Divs. 16 (School Psychology), 37 (Society for Children and Family Policy and Practice), 53 (Society of Clinical Child and Adolescent Psychology) and 54 (Society of Pediatric Psychology).
Society for Psychotherapy Research
(SPR) The Society for Psychotherapy Research is an international, multidisciplinary scientific association devoted to research on psychotherapy. SPR encourages the development of research on psychotherapy as well as aims to support and enhance both the empirical basis and applied value of research on psychotherapy.
Society of Counseling Psychology
(American Psychological Association) SCP brings together psychologists, students, and international and professional affiliates who are dedicated to promoting education and training, scientific investigation, practice, and diversity and public interest in professional psychology. SCP advocates for Counseling Psychology within the field of psychology and in the public sector.
Web links by psychology subject area
(Social Psychology Network) Social Psychology Network contains thousands of links related to psychology and neuroscience. This page offers a directory of links organized by sub-field.

LibGuide Curator

Michelle Arnold

Email Me

Psychology: Counseling and Therapy Techniques

Counseling and Therapy Techniques

Quick Links

Counseling and Therapy Techniques

LibGuide Curator

Need help? Ask a Librarian!