LibGuides: MSM 500: Management of People in Society: Databases

Quick Links

Bellevue University Library
BUILD IT
An online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services
Copyright Center
Cyberactive Online Classroom
Interlibrary Loan
Library Databases
Library Hours/Contacts

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Research Assistance Program
A member of the reference team will work with you one-on-one throughout your academic career to answer your questions about the research process.
Writing Center
Zoom for Reference
Need help? Sign up for a 60-minute Zoom session with the Library Reference Team. Sessions are offered Monday through Friday 9-6 PM.

Recommended Databases

You will be prompted for your BU login when accessing the databases from off campus.
Search multiple databases simultaneously using the Search articles,eBooks, & more search box on the library homepage.
Or search a specific database from the list below:

Business/Management Subject Resources

You will need to login to BRUIN Connect to access the databases from off campus.

Search multiple Bellevue University databases simultaneously using Discovery Search..

ABI/INFORM Complete
Contains information from ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry; Hoover's Company Profiles; OxResearch; Wall Street Journal; and Snapshot Series.
ABI/INFORM Dateline
Local and regional business news of large corporations, private companies, local start-ups, and executive information. Full text coverage: 1985-current.
ABI/INFORM Global
Indexes 1800 worldwide business periodicals and contains information on over 60,000 companies with business and executive profiles. Includes The Wall Street Journal full text.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
750+ business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus. Coverage from 1971.
Academic Search Ultimate
Full text access to more than 3.300 journals (7,700 peer-reviewed) from a broad range of academic disciplines.

Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
A scholarly collection of journals relating to accounting, taxes, and banking.
What is it?
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection provides centralized access to top journals, reference reports, proceedings, and dissertations. It includes over 1,300 publications, almost 1,000 with full-text, and almost 500 with ongoing full text.
Why use it?
Use this database if you require scholarly sources on the topics of accounting, banking, insurance, tax management, and other related fields of study.
Video Tutorial

Alexander Street Video
A multidisciplinary collection of streaming video which includes content in 22 discipline areas.
more...less...
Also known as Vast Streaming Video
Books 24x7
Consisting of IT Pro (IT and Technical Topics) with 11,000+ eBook titles, plus the Leadership Channel and 50Lessons series in flash video format. Browse the collections by using "View by:" in the upper right hand corner of the screen.
Business E-books Online
Contains 500 of the best-known textbooks and reference materials in business education in convenient digital format.
more...less...
All of the texts in the collection are curated by expert editors to ensure their relevance to the full spectrum of business programs, including those at community colleges, four-year schools, and in MBA and executive education programs.
Business Education in Video
Features executive interviews, corporate training video, case studies, How To features and documentary films that focus on all aspects of the global business environment.
more...less...
Subjects covered include Globalization, Operations & Logistics, Management, Marketing, Finance, Strategy, Entrepreneurship, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, International Business, Negotiations, Ethics, Cross-cultural communication, Technology, and much more.
Business Expert Press
Access eBooks covering specific areas of business, including supply and operations management, international business, social media, finance, accounting, public relations, and marketing strategy.
Business Source Ultimate
Full text from business magazines and journals; includes country economic reports, monographs, company profiles, market research reports and SWOT analyses. Scholarly indexing back to 1886, full text dates vary by title.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Complete (CBCA)
Comprehensive full text coverage of Canadian business, current events, education and reference.
Canadian Newsstream
Full text of over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers.
Checkpoint (AICPA, FASB, GAAP, GASB, IASB, and RIA)
Provides online access to essential accounting and auditing resources and tools for tax research and preparation, including tax laws and regulations, tax court decisions and commentary, and tax periodicals.
Communication Source
A comprehensive communications database that provides content from academic journals, conference papers, conference proceedings, trade publications, magazines and periodicals.
Complete Business and Economics Collection
Contains more than 12,000 rights-cleared learning items that can be used for in-class, hybrid and online learning.
more...less...
Range of content includes textbooks, book chapters, cases from well-known case providers, corporate training video, sample business documents and executive-oriented research reports.
Credo Reference
One-stop access to over 275 reference titles from 57 academic publishers. Includes information in multiple formats: text, images, sound files, and more.

D&B Hoovers Business Browser (Formerly OneSource) This link opens in a new window
Provides business information and sales information on millions of companies and executives worldwide delivering targeted sales leads, actionable company reports, and company research.
What is it?
D&B Hoovers combines information covering North America, the UK, Europe, and Asia into a single product, providing unparalleled global scope along with flexible regional coverage. Students can use Precision Search to quickly find the right information from millions of global data points. It is also easy to export the needed information for integration into other applications.
Why use it?
Use this tool if you are looking for information regarding industries, companies, executives, and corporate family structures.
Video Tutorial

Demographics Now
Generate reports which identify cultural patterns or sociological trends and analyze geographic locations for business potential.
eBooks on EBSCOhost
An extensive collection of e-book titles representing virtually all academic disciplines.
eBook Business Collection on EBSCOhost
Search thousands of scholarly, reference, and professional full text books in electronic format from the world's leading university presses and commercial publishers.
EBSCOhost
Through this link you can search all of the EBSCO databases at one time, including Academic Search Premier, Biography Reference Bank, Business Source Complete, and International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center,
Electronic Books
Indexes 1.9 million+ online electronic books cataloged by OCLC members. Coverage includes all titles to present, updated daily. Abstract only.
Electronic Collection Online
Provides bibliographic information for over 5,000+ journals with original content and images of articles. Allows viewing of abstracts and full-text articles from journals to which Bellevue University Library subscribes..
Films on Demand
Provides immediate access to a streaming videos geared for the educational community.
Gale Business Insights: Global
A convenient and comprehensive way to find case studies, articles, data points and in-depth statistical information; covering international business topics.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover content from numerous reference works. Multi-disciplinary.
What is it?
Gale eBooks delivers titles covering the most studied subject areas. This database is optimized for search, accessible simultaneously from any device, integrated with Google, and loaded with tools for bookmarking, downloading, and sharing.
Why use it?
Use this database if you are looking for e-books on academic subjects.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is an academic search engine, which aggregates peer-reviewed resources on the web. Select Bellevue University Library resources are accessible via Google Scholar.
Grant Select
A database of funding opportunities such as grants, awards, and fellowships. Each record includes contact information, sponsor name and address, subject terms for related searches, and type of sponsor. Sponsoring organizations include federal government agencies, non-profit organizations, corporations, research institutes, state agencies, and universities.
Hoover's Company Records
40,000 company and 600 industry profiles, including company overview, history, officers and board members, competitors, rankings, and more.
Human Resource Management Online
Maps 4,000 learning items to the modern human resource management syllabus. Includes textbooks, book chapters, cases from well-known case providers, corporate training video, sample business documents and executive-oriented research reports.
International Business Online
Maps 4,000 learning items to the modern international business syllabus. Includes textbooks, book chapters, cases from well-known case providers like the Kellogg School of Management, corporate training videos, sample business documents and research reports.
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center
Contains thousands of full text sources, including journals, periodicals, selected articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, and more.
JSTOR Business Collections
An archive of back issues for 165 key business titles. Coverage varies by title but frequently goes back to initial volume.
Kanopy
Kanopy - Provides streaming videos for educational institutions on a variety of subjects,. and includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Key Business Ratios
Key Business Ratios on the Web (KBR) provides immediate online access to competitive benchmarking data. This powerful tool lets researchers examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&B®’s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.
MasterFILE Complete
MasterFILE Complete provides full text articles from over 2,400 magazines and journals, and indexing and abstracts of articles from over 3,400. While it is designed specifically for public libraries, over 400 of the full text journals are peer reviewed, as are over 900 of those with indexing and abstracts, making it appropriate for academic research as well.
Mental Measurements Yearbook & Tests in Print
Search 2,000+ contemporary testing instruments supporting psychology, education, business, and leadership; covering vol.9 to current. Works with Tests in Print, a comprehensive bibliography to all known English, in print, commercially available tests.
Military & Government Collection
Cover-to-cover full text from 300 journals to support all branches of the military and government.
Nexis Uni
A database of critical news and legal/business information. Nexis Uni allows users to search full-text documents from 17,000+ credible sources of information for a wide range of academic research projects. Users can also access authoritative news content, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, and business information on 80 million+ companies and 60 million+ executives.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Delivers a range of perspectives on important issues from proven reference content, including expert selected full text articles as well as national and global news sources. Includes multimedia sources such as video, audio streams, podcasts, image gallery, and interactive maps.
Oxford Reference Online
Comprehensive searching of over 170 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works.
ProQuest
Search all of the ProQuest databases at one time
ProQuest Asian Business and Reference
This database focuses on business and financial news from the eastern hemisphere. It covers Asian business and financial information from key international publications
ProQuest Career & Technical Education
Full text of over 460 titles covering a wide variety of research in many technical areas, including computing science, healthcare, accounting, law, and nutrition.
ProQuest Central
This database covers more than 160 subjects areas searching more than two dozen ProQuest databases simultaneously.
ProQuest Ebook Central
Ebook Central provides users with powerful tools to help find, use, and manage needed information. More than 500 of the world's most authoritative publishers distribute e-books via this database. Users can enjoy intuitive navigation and streamlined key tasks with Ebook Central's online Reader, as well.
ProQuest European Business
This database contains the latest European business and financial information.
ProQuest Health Management
Full-text information from leading publications covering diverse health administration topics.
ProQuest Research Library
2,550+ full text titles chosen to support research in popular academic subjects. Includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
ProQuest Telecommunications
100+ full text titles covering computer applications, data communication and transmission, electronic data processing, information science, information theory, as well as radio and television.
Small Business Reference Center
Learn how to start, finance, or manage a small business.
Value Line Investment Research
Value Line includes financial measures for over 6,000 stocks, 18,000 mutual funds, 200,000 options, and other securities. Browse accurate estimates, projections and historical data to discover opportunities that fit your investment strategy.
Wall Street Journal
Full text of the world?s leading financial newspaper. Complete coverage from 1984 on.
Wall Street Journal Archives
Complete page images of The Wall Street Journal from the first issue in 1889 through 1990 are available through this interface.
WestLawNext
A comprehensive collection of full text news and business information and law-related resources.
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
OCLC online catalog of library materials from across the globe. Includes local library holdings.

Need Help? Ask a Librarian

Sarah Alston

She/Her(s)

Email Me