It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MSM 500: Management of People in Society: Streaming Videos
This guide covers the context of management in the organization, skills needed to effectively work with people in organizations, such as emotional intelligence and the roles people fill on the leader- manager-innovator continuum..
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing. Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.
Need help? Sign up for a 60-minute Zoom session with the Library Reference Team. Sessions are offered Monday through Friday 9-6 PM.
Library Video Databases
The following library databases can be accessed from the Databases page.
Films on Demand - Provides streaming films from sources such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational. Kanopy - Provides streaming videos on a variety of subjects; includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Alexander Street Videos - Multidisciplinary collection contains thousands of videos.
Films on Demand (7:27 min)
The Management Essentials series demonstrates good and bad managerial skills. By the end of this episode, viewers learn that managers do not need a powerful magnetic personality to effectively lead people; an awareness of how leadership depends on the ability to motivate people is more important.
Films on Demand - Segment from "Q&A: Manager and Psychologist" (12:23 min)
People do not always express their preferred learning styles. Behavioral flexibility is important for explaining projects to staff. Managers should study adult learning principles.
Films on Demand - Segment from "The Value of Employee Ownership" (2min)
Most employees would rather work for a company when they have a stake in the business. As the workforce moves into the virtual world, employee ownership is the key to engaging employees.
Films on Demand (26 sec)
(Dr. Stephen R. Covey, leadership expert and chairman of the Covey Leadership Center, examines the roles of management and leadership in organizations. Dr. Covey argues that, while both are important, management always follows leadership.
Films on Demand (28:41 min)
Personality measures assess traits known as the 'big five': openness to experience, conscientiousness, extraversion, agreeableness, and neuroticism. Consider biological underpinnings of personality and the function of personality inventories.
Films on Demand (21:51 min)
This interview-led program explains what psychometric testing is and why it’s used, the various types of psychometric tests job candidates might encounter, how to prepare for the tests, and the advantages and disadvantages of psychometric testing
Films on Demand (13:05 min)
What is ethical behavior and does it really matter in today’s workplace? Can unethical behavior affect the performance of a business? In answering some common questions about ethics, Eve Ash and Peter Quarry tackle this sometimes sensitive subject with clarity and precision.