Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BUILD IT Express

A short version of the Bellevue University Information Literacy Development Interactive Tutorial aka BUILD IT

DISCOVERY SEARCH

Another option for finding library resources is Discovery Search which searches multiple databases simultaneously.
It is a great way to find articles, but you can also use it to locate books, eBooks, book chapters, and more. 

This can be a real time saver but there are a few tricks you need to know to get good results.

For more details, see the pages on Discovery Search in BUILD IT

Using Discovery Search

The Discovery Search box is found on the library homepage. It will search nearly all databases simultaneously for all types of resources related to your search term. It can be a real time saver, or it can be frustrating if you don't know a few tips for getting good results.  Because of the large amounts of information it is searching, it may bring up thousands of scattered results.  There are a few strategies for getting this under control when you have too many results.‚Äč

A search for a very general topic will bring up a very large, overwhelming amount of results.  A search for "global warming" brings up well over one million results.  This includes items that are available full text, as well as those that are not, from all dates. It also includes all manner of content, including books and eBooks, newspaper and magazine articles. streaming videos, trade publications, conference proceedings, dissertations, and much more. It would be like trying to find a needle in a haystack to locate just the articles you need.

Using the filters in the left column to Refine Results will give you a much more focused list and will dramatically reduce the results.

Current Search. You may delete one or more of these Expanders to focus your search.  For example, eliminate "Also search within the full text of articles" where your search terms may appear but not be the focus of the article.

 

  • Expanders broaden your search to include similar subjects or to look for your search terms within the full text of the article. These can be deleted if desired
  • Limiters focus results on materials available in the BU Library collection. As you choose other limiters from this column, they are added to the list.but can be deleted at any time.

     

 


Limit To

Mark Full Text if you are looking for articles or eBooks from the library databases. Do not mark it if you are looking for print books. Mark Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals to find articles from academic journals. 

 

 

  • Publication Date Use the date slider to choose a date range or click on "Show More" to set the date range

 

 

 

Source Types
 Al the types available for  your search will be displayed with the number of results for each listed. It is a good idea to mark Academic Journals again if you are looking for scholarly journals.. 

  • The total number of results from each source is listed in parentheses
  • To select more than one source type, click on "Show More"

 

 

 

Subject 
It may be helpful to choose one of these as well, to filter out content that is outside the area you are researching.

  • The total number of results from each subject is listed in parentheses
  • To select more than one subject, click on "Show More"

The Advanced Search screen gives you more flexibility when setting up your search.  

  • You can set a number of options, including Publication Date, Full Text, and Scholarly Journals, before you start your search.
  • The link to Go to  Advanced Search is right under the Discovery Search box.

  • To enter multiple search terms and choose fields for each, such as author, title, subject, publication title, etc., click on Advanced Search again.

Are you looking for a specific article, maybe one that has been assigned, but have no idea how to track it down on the library website?  The first thing to try is Discovery Search.  Just enter the title of the article into the search box, enclosed in quotation marks, and it will likely bring it right up.

And here it is!

Tip.  If the title is very generic, add the authors last name in the search box, for example, "global warming" Bell

WHAT ABOUT THE INTERNET?

So far, we have only talked about locating library materials, but can't you find good information online too? 

Go on to the next page, WHAT ABOUT THE INTERNET, for tips about how to find reliable and useful information online