Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Video Databases
The following library databases can be accessed from the Databases page.
Films on Demand - Provides streaming films from sources such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational.
Kanopy - Provides streaming videos on a variety of subjects; includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Alexander Street Videos - Multidisciplinary collection contains thousands of videos.
Choosing Sustainable Materials
Films on Demand (21:44 min)
This program profiles CO2 Zero, an eco-friendly housing development in the UK, focusing on its use of recycled plastics and FSC-certified wood. The architect built with renewable and reclaimed resources, and took into account how all parts of the houses would be disposed of at end-of-life, thus minimizing the carbon footprint of this unique living space.
Last Call for Planet Earth: Sustainable Development and Architecture
Films on Demand (1 hr 15:12min)
This program studies the work of leading architects around the globe, all of whom employ green concepts and eco-friendly materials.
Films on Demand - Segment from "Breaking the Wall of Concrete Pollution: How Green Concrete Can Reduce the Giant Carbon Footprint of Construction" (2 min)
Franz-Josef Ulm of MIT explains large-scale infrastructure renewal. Will it be green? Three components of sustainable renewal are its economic, social, and environmental impacts.
Thinking Green, Building Smart
Films on Demand (42:27 min)
This video explores the thought process at the core of green architectural design and construction as it takes viewers behind the scenes of an architectural firm specializing in sustainable design, a remodeler who has built a green construction business, a supplier of eco-friendly building materials, and a homeowner who has remodeled his house from the ground up using green materials, technologies, and practices.