Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Video Databases
The following library databases can be accessed from the Databases page.
Films on Demand - Provides streaming films from sources such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational.
Kanopy - Provides streaming videos on a variety of subjects; includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Alexander Street Videos - Multidisciplinary collection contains thousands of videos.
Green Technology: How Does That Work?
Films on Demand (23:42 min)
Protecting and fixing the environment is perhaps the most important use of technology we have today. This film discovers how fuel can be made from plants and how wave and wind power works. Take a look inside a new eco-house then find out how composting helps the planet.
Agricultural and Urban Conservation
Films on Demand - Segment from "Agricultural and Urban Conservation" (2:07 min)
Conservation is important for preserving plants and animals that farms and cities overtake. Designating wild areas and creating natural growth conditions allows diversity to flourish. Humans are rapidly changing the climate.
The Green Encyclopedia, Part 1: Environmental Innovations and Opportunities
Films on Demand (1hr 19:46 min)
This collection of 60 video clips (1 minute, 10 seconds each) presents innovations and opportunities arising from the impact of environmental threats on the people of the world.
A Conservation Success Story
Films on Demand - Segment from Stories from the Hudson (3:27 min)
Engravings and photographs from the early 1900s awakened many Americans to the environmental destruction that nearly destroyed the Adirondacks and the Hudson River. Strict conservation laws have been wildly successful in restoring the region's health.
Conservation Projects: Investment in the Future
Films on Demand - Segment from "Fueling Our Future: A Fred Friendly Seminar on Alternative Energy" (3:18 min)
On most conservation projects, there is a payback because the project is an investment in the future. Decisions about alternative energy projects involve a diverse body of people.
Technology for Water Removal
Films on Demand - Segment from "Blue Gold: World Water Wars" (1:34 min)
Technology today can more efficiently and rapidly take water from underground sources. The manufacture of an average automobile requires 350,000 liters of water.