LibGuides: Clinical Mental Health Counseling: Cognitive and Behavioral Therapies

Cognitive and Behavioral Therapies

This section contains resources for cognitive and behavioral counseling techniques and theories. This includes cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT), exposure therapy, rational emotive behavior therapy (REBT), and dialectical behavior therapy (DBT). Acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) is given its own section.

The resources on the right are arranged by type: general collection books, eBooks, journal articles, videos, and websites.

Quick Links

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Writing Center

Cognitive and Behavioral Therapies

Cognitive-behavioral therapy in groups by Bieling, P. J., McCabe, R. E., & Antony, M. M.
Call Number: RC 489 C63 B54 2022
ISBN: 9781462549849
The Guilford Press
Exposure therapy for anxiety: Principles and practice by Abramowitz, J. S., Deacon, B. J., & Whiteside, S. P. H.
Call Number: RC 531 A27 2019
ISBN: 9781462539529
The Guilford Press
Mindful cognitive behavioral therapy: A simple path to healing, hope, and peace by Gillihan, S.
Call Number: RC 489 M55 G55 2022
ISBN: 9780063075719
HarperOne

The big book of exposures: Innovative, creative, and effective CBT-based exposures for treating anxiety-related disorders by Springer, K. S., & Tolin, D. F.
ISBN: 9781684033744
Publication Date: 2020
ProQuest Ebook Central
CBT made simple: A clinician's guide to practicing cognitive behavioral therapy by Josefowitz, N., Myran, D., & Segal, Z. V.
ISBN: 9781684034574
Publication Date: 2021
ProQuest Ebook Central
Cognitive-behavioral therapy for insomnia (CBT-I) across the life span: Guidelines and clinical protocols for health professionals by Baglioni, C., Espie, C. A., & Riemann, D.
ISBN: 9781119785149
Publication Date: 2022
ProQuest Ebook Central
Cognitive-behavioral therapy for OCD and its subtypes by Clark, D. A.
ISBN: 9781462541027
Publication Date: 2020
Ebooks on EBSCOhost
Cognitive-behavioral therapy for PTSD: A case formulation approach by Zayfert, C., & Becker, C. B.
ISBN: 9781462541201
Publication Date: 2020
Ebooks on EBSCOhost
Cognitive behavioral therapy: Basic principles and application areas by Hocaoglu, C., et al.
ISBN: 9781839698972
Publication Date: 2023
Directory of Open Access Books
Cognitive behavioral therapy: Theories and applications by Misciagna, S.
ISBN: 9781839621659
Publication Date: 2020
Directory of Open Access Books
The comprehensive clinician's guide to cognitive behavioral therapy by Sokol, L., & Fox, M.
ISBN: 9781683732563
Publication Date: 2019
ProQuest Ebook Central
Deliberate practice in cognitive behavioral therapy by Boswell, J. F., & Constantino, M. J.
ISBN: 9781433835551
Publication Date: 2022
APA PsycBooks
Deliberate practice in dialectical behavior therapy by Boritz, T., et al.
ISBN: 9781433837890
Publication Date: 2023
APA PsycBooks
Dialectical behavior therapy by Chapman, A. L., & Dixon-Gordon, K. L.
ISBN: 9781433831454
Publication Date: 2020
APA PsycBooks
Dialectical behavior therapy, vol. I, 2nd edition: The clinician's guidebook for acquiring competency in DBT by Moonshine, C., & Schaefer, S.
ISBN: 9781683731917
Publication Date: 2019
ProQuest Ebook Central
Dialectical behavior therapy, vol II, 2nd edition: More than 275 worksheets, activities and games for acquiring competency in DBT by Moonshine, C., & Schaefer, S.
ISBN: 9781683731948
Publication Date: 2019
ProQuest Ebook Central
Good psychiatric management and dialectical behavior therapy: A clinician's guide to integration and stepped care by Sonley, A. K. I., & Choi-Kain, L. W.
ISBN: 9781615373727
Publication Date: 2020
ProQuest Ebook Central
Handbook of cognitive behavioral therapy: Overview and approaches (Vol. 1) by Wenzel, A.
ISBN: 1433833522‎
Publication Date: 2021
APA PsycBooks
Imagery in cognitive-behavioral therapy by Stopa, L.
ISBN: 9781462547289
Publication Date: 2021
Ebooks in EBSCOhost
Rational emotive behavior therapy (2nd ed.) by Ellis, A., & Ellis, D. J.
ISBN: 9781433830327
Publication Date: 2019
APA PsycBooks
Retraining the brain: Applied neuroscience in exposure therapy for PTSD by Rauch, S. A. M., & McLean, C. P.
ISBN: 9781433834042
Publication Date: 2021
APA PsycBooks
Single-session 'one-at-a-time' therapy: A rational emotive behaviour therapy approach by Dryden, W.
ISBN: 9780429615702
Publication Date: 2019
ProQuest Ebook Central
Training and supervision in specialized cognitive behavior therapy: Methods, settings, and populations by Storch, E. A., Abramowitz, J. S., & McKay, D.
ISBN: 9781433835803
Publication Date: 2022
APA PsycBooks
Written exposure therapy for PTSD: A brief treatment approach for mental health professionals by Sloan, D. M., & Marx, B. P.
ISBN: 9781433830136
Publication Date: 2019
APA PsycBooks

Awareness of and attitudes toward CBT, DBT, and ACT in an acute psychiatric sample by Kuckertz, J. M., et al.
Journal of Clinical Psychology, (2020), 76(4), 749-768.
Can dialectical behavior therapy skills group treat social anxiety disorder? A brief integrative review by Andino, M. V., Garcia, K. M., & Richey, J. A.
Frontiers in Psychology, (2024, January 8), Vol. 14, 1331200.
Cognitive-behavioral therapy for Internet gaming disorder: A systematic review and meta-analysis by Stevens, M. W. R., et al.
Clinical psychology & Psychotherapy, (2019), 26(2), 191-203.
Cue Exposure Therapy for alcohol use disorders: What can be learned from exposure therapy for anxiety disorders? by Byrne, S. P., et al.
Substance Use & Misuse, (2019), 54(12), 2053-2063.
Dialectical behavior therapy adapted for binge eating compared to cognitive behavior therapy in obese adults with binge eating disorder: A controlled study by Lammers, M. W., et al.
Journal of Eating Disorders, (2020), Vol. 8, 1-11.
Dialectical pain management: Feasibility of a hybrid third-wave cognitive behavioral therapy approach for adults receiving opioids for chronic pain by Barrett, D., et al.
Pain Medicine, (2021, May), 22(5), 1080-1094.
Effectiveness of rational emotive behavior therapy in reducing depression among undergraduate medical students by Victor-Aigbodion, V., et al.
Medicine, (2023), 102(4), e32724.
Exploring DBT skills training as a treatment avenue for generalized anxiety disorder by Malivoire, B. L.
Clinical Psychology, (2020, December), 27(4).
Exposure therapy for PTSD during pregnancy: A feasibility, acceptability, and case series study of Narrative Exposure Therapy (NET) by Stevens, N. R., et al.
BMC Psychology, (2020), Vol. 8, 1-18.
Factors influencing the use of cognitive-behavioral therapy with autistic adults: A survey of community mental health clinicians by Maddox, B. B., et al.
Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders, (2019, November), 49(11), 4421-4428.
Group brief cognitive behavioral therapy for suicide prevention compared to dialectal behavior therapy skills group for military service members: A study protocol of a randomized controlled trial by Baker, J. C., et al.
BMC Psychiatry, (2023), Vol. 23, 1-15.
Identifying the organizational innovation-specific capacity needed for exposure therapy by Becker-Haimes, E. M., et al.
Depression & Anxiety, (2020), 37(10), 1007-1016.
Internet delivered cognitive behavioral therapy for adults with ADHD - A randomized controlled trial by Nasri, B., et al.
Internet Interventions, (2023), Vol. 33, 100636.
Reduction in suicidal ideation from prolonged exposure therapy for adolescents by Brown, L. A., et al.
Journal of Clinical Child & Adolescent Psychology, (2020), 49(5), 651-659.
Stress in teachers of children with neuro-developmental disorders: Effect of blended rational emotive behavioral therapy by Obiweluozo, P. E., et al.
Science Progress, (2021), 104(4), 1-27.
Study of the effects of cognitive behavioral therapy versus dialectical behavior therapy on executive function and reduction of symptoms in generalized anxiety disorder by Afshari, B., et al.
Trends in Psychiatry and Psychotherapy, (2022), Vol. 44, 1-7.
Targeted prescription of cognitive-behavioral therapy versus person-centered counseling for depression using a machine learning approach by Delgadillo, J., & Gonzalez Salas Duhne, P.
Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology, (2020, January), 88(1), 14-24.
Therapists' experience of the lifeline in narrative exposure therapy by Dix, J., & Fornells‐Ambrojo, M.
Journal of Traumatic Stress, (2023, February), 36(1), 106-116.
Treating patients with driving phobia by virtual reality exposure therapy - A pilot study by Kaussner, Y., et al.
PLoS ONE, (2020, January), 15(1), e0226937.
Virtual reality exposure therapy for adolescents with fear of public speaking: A non-randomized feasibility and pilot study by Kahlon, S., Lindner, P., & Nordgreen, T.
Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Mental Health, (2019), Vol. 13.

Adolescence in crisis: Racial trauma and identity (a trauma-focused DBT perspective)
Alexander Street Video: 1:31:00
Join Dr. Eboni Webb for this compelling 90-minute recording that focuses on racial trauma through the lens of Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT).
CBT for Cluster B personality disorders: Techniques and strategies you need to know
Films on Demand: 3:03:07
Clients with cluster B personality disorders (borderline, antisocial, histrionic, and narcissistic) can be amongst the most challenging for therapists... In this video seminar, clinical psychologist and author Dr. Richard Sears offers solid principles and detailed case examples to teach a compassionate yet direct approach for working with these individuals using cutting edge, practical interventions that are grounded in theory.
CBT strategies for kids and adolescents: Supporting students with ADHD and anxiety
Films on Demand: 1:49:30
This video seminar with child and adolescent CBT expert Dr. David Pratt explains why students with anxiety and/or ADHD are especially vulnerable to difficulties re-entering school after a prolonged absence. Pratt presents easy to implement CBT strategies and tools to help students meet academic and social demands of school.
Cognitive-behavioral therapy
Alexander Street Video: 1:36:00
Counseling Theories in Action series presents four clinicians working with four different clients. The theories represented are Solution-Focused, Transpersonal, Existential, and Cognitive Behavioral...
Intervention Techniques for Cognitive Behavioral:
• Identifying, evaluating, and responding to automatic thoughts
• Changing one’s language
• Socratic dialogues and questioning
• Use of Imagery
• Building resilience
Evolution and status of cognitive behavior therapy: A personal and professional journey
Alexander Street Video: 1:01:00
Don Meichenbaum will be discussing the “lessons learned”, including what “expert” psychotherapists do to achieve lasting changes and ways to spot HYPE in the field of psychotherapy. This will include a critique of the “state of the art” of both psychotherapy and cognitive behavior therapy.
Mindfulness-centered CBT: Daily practices for managing stress and anxiety
Alexander Street Video: 1:04:00
More and more people are seeking effective ways to reduce anxiety and manage overwhelming stress. The Think Act Be approach to mindfulness-centered cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) offers three research-proven ways to cope with these challenges
Telehealth and DBT: Best practices, essential skills, and ensuring safety
ProQuest Video: 2:41:15
How do therapists take an organized treatment like DBT and use it in a new service delivery? What DBT skills and interventions are most essential? And how do we address safety concerns remotely?Join Dr. Lane Pederson to get the answers and best practices you need to navigate these unchartered waters.
Understanding cognitive-behavioral therapy
Films on Demand: Series
This series provides an introduction to Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy (CBT). It features CBT counseling sessions that demonstrate this approach’s key features, as well as commentary on each session by CBT practitioner Stuart Rose.

Cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT)
(Cleveland Clinic) Cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) is a structured, goal-oriented type of talk therapy. It can help manage mental health conditions, such as depression and anxiety, and emotional concerns, such as coping with grief or stress. CBT can also help manage nonpsychological health conditions, such as insomnia and chronic pain.
Cognitive behavior therapy
(National Library of Medicine) This activity reviews the efficacy of CBT in both psychiatric and non-psychiatric disorders and the role of the interprofessional team in using it to improve patient outcomes.
Cognitive therapy (CT)
(American Psychological Association) CT entails modifying the pessimistic evaluations and memories of trauma, with the goal of interrupting disturbing behavioral and/or thought patterns that have been interfering in daily life.
DBT
(American Institute for Cognitive Therapy) Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT) is an empirically supported treatment developed by Dr. Marsha Linehan. Originally, DBT was created to help people who were suicidal and struggling with self-harm urges.
Dialectical behavior therapy (DBT)
(Cleveland Clinic) Dialectical behavior therapy (DBT) is a type of talk therapy for people who experience emotions very intensely. It’s a common therapy for people with borderline personality disorder, but therapists provide it for other mental health conditions as well.
Exposure therapy
(Cleveland Clinic) Exposure therapy is a type of therapy in which you’re gradually exposed to the things, situations and activities you fear. There are a few different approaches to this therapy. It can help treat several conditions, like phobias, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and panic disorder.
Prolonged exposure (PE)
(American Psychological Association) Prolonged exposure teaches individuals to gradually approach their trauma-related memories, feelings and situations. They presumably learn that trauma-related memories and cues are not dangerous and do not need to be avoided.
Rational emotive behavior therapy
(The Albert Ellis Institute) REBT is the pioneering form of cognitive behavior therapy developed by Dr. Albert Ellis in 1955. REBT is an action-oriented approach to managing cognitive, emotional, and behavioral disturbances.
Rational emotive behavior therapy (REBT) for substance abuse
(American Addiction Centers) Clinicians began using rational emotive behavioral therapy (REBT) in the 1950s, and it has since influenced other life-changing therapies such as cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT). REBT holds the potential to enhance substance abuse treatment alongside other therapies and modalities.
What is cognitive behavioral therapy?
(American Psychological Association) Cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) is a form of psychological treatment that has been demonstrated to be effective for a range of problems including depression, anxiety disorders, alcohol and drug use problems, marital problems, eating disorders, and severe mental illness.
What is cognitive therapy?
(American Institute for Cognitive Therapy) Cognitive-behavioral therapy is a relatively short-term, focused psychotherapy for a wide range of psychological problems including depression, anxiety, anger, marital conflict, loneliness, panic, fears, eating disorders, substance abuse, alcohol abuse and dependence and personality problems. The focus of this therapy is on how you are thinking, behaving, and communicating today rather than on your early childhood experiences.
What is exposure therapy?
(American Psychological Association) Exposure therapy is a psychological treatment that was developed to help people confront their fears... In this form of therapy, psychologists create a safe environment in which to “expose” individuals to the things they fear and avoid. The exposure to the feared objects, activities or situations in a safe environment helps reduce fear and decrease avoidance.
What is exposure therapy?
(Anxiety & Depression Association of America) ADAA Member Taylor Wilmer, PhD shares an introduction on exposure therapy as a treatment option for your mental health journey and discusses what exposure therapy's goals and core principals are, when it is generally used to treat, and what to expect if seeking treatment.

LibGuide Curator

Michelle Arnold

Email Me

Clinical Mental Health Counseling: Cognitive and Behavioral Therapies

Cognitive and Behavioral Therapies

Quick Links

Cognitive and Behavioral Therapies

LibGuide Curator

Need help? Ask a Librarian!