LibGuides: Clinical Mental Health Counseling: Counseling Basics

Counseling Basics

This section contains resources covering some of the basic aspects of clinical counseling, such as resources on counseling education and careers, myths and misconceptions of clinical counseling, and basic counseling skills and techniques. Information on more specific counseling theories and techniques can be found in the Counseling Techniques and Perspectives section.

The resources on the right are arranged by type: general collection books, eBooks, journal articles, videos, and websites.

Quick Links

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Writing Center

Counseling Basics

The art of creating a magical session: Key elements for transformative psychotherapy by Leslie, P. J.
Call Number: RC 480.5 L438 2019
ISBN: 9781138365636
Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group
Before you see your first client: 55 things counselors, therapists and human service workers need to know by Rosenthal, H.
Call Number: RC 466 R67 2022
ISBN: 9780367764265
Routledge/Taylor & Francis Group
Clinical psychology: Revisiting the classic studies by Davey, G.
Call Number: RC 467 C556 2019
ISBN: 9781526428127
SAGE
Clinician's thesaurus: The guide to conducting interviews and writing psychological reports by Zuckerman, E. L.
Call Number: RC480.7 Z83 2019
ISBN: 9781462538805
The Guilford Press
Insider's guide to graduate programs in clinical and counseling psychology by Norcross, J. C., & Sayette, M.
Call Number: RC 467 .7 N67 2022
ISBN: 9781462548477
The Guilford Press
Master the DSST fundamentals of counseling exam: Questions and answers
Call Number: BF636 M37 2021
ISBN: 9780768944501
National Learning Corp.
Myths, misconceptions, and invalid assumptions of counseling and psychotherapy by Kottler, J. A., & Balkin, R. S.
Call Number: BF636.6 K6845 2020
ISBN: 9780190090692
Oxford University Press
The psychology of counselling by Percival, M.
Call Number: BF 636 .6 P457 2023
ISBN: 9781032051802
Routledge
What therapists say and why they say it: Effective therapeutic responses and techniques by McHenry, B., & McHenry, J.
Call Number: RC 480 M394 2021
ISBN: 9780367355302
Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group
Writing measurable outcomes in psychotherapy by Kopyc, S.
Call Number: RC 480.75 K67 2020
ISBN: 9780190927684
Oxford University Press

Better results: Using deliberate practice to improve therapeutic effectiveness by Miller, S. D., Hubble, M. A., & Chow, D.
ISBN: 9781433831904
Publication Date: 2020
APA PsycBooks
Counseling and therapy: Recent developments in theories and practices by Fukao, K.
ISBN: 9781803555737
Publication Date: 2022
Directory of Open Access Books
Counseling leaders and advocates: Strengthening the future of the profession by Storlie, C. A., & Herlihy, B.
ISBN: 9781119814177
Publication Date: 2021
ProQuest Ebook Central
Doing counseling: Developing your clinical skills and style by Austin, J. T., II., & Austin, J. A.
ISBN: 9781119907695
Publication Date: 2023
Ebooks in EBSCOhost
International dictionary of psychotherapy by Nardone, G., & Salvini, A.
ISBN: 9780429658600
Publication Date: 2019
ProQuest Ebook Central
The other side of psychotherapy: Understanding client's experiences and contributions in treatment by Fuertes, J. N.
ISBN: 9781433835858
Publication Date: 2022
APA PsycBooks
Preventing suicide in patients with mental disorders by Pompili, M., & Fiorillo, A.
ISBN: 9783039436774
Publication Date: 2020
Directory of Open Access Books
Professional well-being: Enhancing wellness among psychiatrists, psychologists, and mental health clinicians by Gengoux, G. W., et al.
ISBN: 9781615372294
Publication Date: 2020
Ebooks in EBSCOhost
Pursuing a career in mental health: A comprehensive guide for aspiring professionals by Garland, A. F.
ISBN: 9780197544730
Publication Date: 2022
ProQuest Ebook Central
The responsive psychotherapist: Attuning to clients in the moment by Watson, J. C., & Wiseman, H.
ISBN: 9781433834011
Publication Date: 2021
APA PsycBooks
Speaking the unspoken: Breaking the silence, myths, and taboos that hurt therapists and patients by Pope, K. S., et al.
ISBN: 9781433841590
Publication Date: 2023
APA PsycBooks
Succeeding at your internship: A handbook written for and with students by Mruk, C. J., & Moor, J. C.
Publication Date: 2020
Open Textbook Library
Theories and applications of counseling and psychotherapy: Relevance across cultures and settings by Ginter, E. J., Roysircar, G., & Gerstein, L. H.
ISBN: 9781412967594
Publication Date: 2019
Ebooks in EBSCOhost
Therapy and counseling: Your questions answered by Selby, C. L. B.
ISBN: 9798216155430
Publication Date: 2019
ProQuest Ebook Central
Towards a transtheoretical definition of countertransference: Re-visioning the clinician's intersubjective experience by Roman, R.
ISBN: 9781000830750
Publication Date: 2022
ProQuest Ebook Central
Trusting in psychotherapy by Allen, J. G.
ISBN: 9781615373925
Publication Date: 2021
ProQuest Ebook Central

The availability of training opportunities in personality disorders in American Psychological Association- and Psychological Clinical Science Accreditation System-accredited clinical and counseling psychology doctoral programs by Levy, K. N., & Ellison, W. D.
Training and Education in Professional Psychology, (2022, November), 376-384,
Banter in psychotherapy: Relationship to treatment type, therapeutic alliance, and therapy outcome by Brooks, A. B. J., et al.
Journal of Clinical Psychology, (2023, May), 79(5), 1328-1341.
Basic counseling skills in psychology and teaching: Validation of a short version of the counselor activity self-efficacy scales by Hunsmann, J. J., et al.
BMC Psychology, (2024), Vol. 12, 1-10.
A behavioral strategy to nudge young adults to adopt in-person counseling: Gamification by Piao, S., & Joo, J.
Behavioral Sciences, (2022), 12(2), 40.
Choosing to be present with clients: An evidence-based model for building trainees' counselling competence by Tannen, T., Daniels, M. H., & Koro-Ljungberg, M.
British Journal of Guidance & Counselling, (2019), 47(4), 405-419.
Exploring cognitive empathy: Further validation of the Empathic Counselor Response Scale and application to practice by Bayne, H. B., & Hankey, M. S.
Journal of Humanistic Counseling, (2020, October), 59(3), 219-239.
The "journey" of doctoral study in applied psychology: Lived experiences of students in counseling, clinical, and school psychology programs by Frydman, J. S., Cheung, L., & Ponterotto, J. G.
Qualitative Report, (2019, June), 24(6), 1181-1210.
Modeling in psychotherapy training: A randomized controlled proof-of-concept trial by Kühne, F., et al.
Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology, (2022, December), 90(12), 950-956.
Physiological synchronization in the clinical process: A research primer by Kleinbub, J. R., Talia, A., & Palmieri, A.
Journal of Counseling Psychology, (2020, July), 67(4), 420-437.
The shape of knowledge: Situational analysis in counseling psychology research by Grzanka, P. R.
Journal of Counseling Psychology, (2021, April), 68(3), 316-330.
Student engagement and counseling skill self-efficacy: Comparing two course formats by Mason, E. C. M., et al.
Counselor Education & Supervision, (2022), 61(3), 206-216.
Validation of training module to increase self-efficacy of adolescent peer counsellors in Indonesia by Supriyadi, A., & Setiyawati, D.
Journal of Mental Health, (2020), 29(4), 385-391.
You never know what you are going to get: Large-scale assessment of therapists' supportive counseling skill use by Zhang, X., et al.
Psychotherapy, (2023, June), 60(2), 149-158.

Counseling skills: Practice and reflections
Films on Demand: 57:43
What do counselling skills look like, and what goes on for the counselor during the work. This program presents a brief demonstration of counseling practice with a client, 'Tara' (played by an actor), who has come to counseling with low mood and problems with studying. The practice is based on person-centred / Rogerian principles but with a change-focused emphasis.
Effective psychotherapists: Eight clinical skills that improve client outcomes
Alexander Street Video: 1:00:00
Counseling and psychotherapy are inseparable from the people who provide them. Drawing on six decades of therapeutic research, Dr. Miller will describe eight provider skills that influence client outcomes for better or worse, across a broad range of treatment methods.
Facing suicide
ProQuest Video: 1:24:18
Facing Suicide combines the poignant personal stories of people impacted by suicide with profiles of scientists at the forefront of research to reveal new insights into one of America’s most pressing mental health crises. Shining a light on this difficult topic can destigmatize suicide while revealing that there is help as well as hope for those at risk and their loved ones.
The goal of therapy
Alexander Street Video: 1:01:00
The process of contracting for change in the initial session will be described and discussed. Methods of targeting goals will be compared and contrasted.
How not to do counselling - 13 things to try and avoid
Films on Demand: 21:36
Designed for students of counseling and psychotherapy, this video with psychologist Mick Cooper examines what to avoid when talking to clients.
Listening and impact: What therapists can learn from music
Alexander Street Video: 1:06:00
At the heart of psychotherapy is the idea that listening to someone is an inherently healing act. Can an understanding of the grammar of music help us better understand the grammar of how patients communicate? Join NPR and PBS commentator Rob Kapilow [or conductor/composer/author—whichever you think is better] for a unique exploration inside the language of music to see if it can help us learn to listen.
What is integration in counseling and psychotherapy?
Films on Demand: 21:47
What is psychotherapy integration, and how does it relate to eclecticism and pluralism? In this program, psychologist Mick Cooper discusses the four main forms of psychotherapy integration — theoretical integration, assimilative integration, common factors, and eclecticism — and considers their relationship to pluralistic philosophy and practice.

American Counseling Association
(ACA) We are the home for professional counseling. Advancing mental health and well-being through advocacy, community, inclusion and research.
American Psychological Association
(APA) APA is the leading scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States, with more than 157,000 researchers, educators, clinicians, consultants, and students as its members.
Anxiety and Depression Association of America
(ADAA) Founded in 1979, ADAA is an international nonprofit organization dedicated to the prevention, treatment, and cure of anxiety, depression, OCD, PTSD, and co-occurring disorders through aligning research, practice and education.
A career in clinical or counseling psychology
(American Psychological Association) If you are interested in understanding human behavior and enjoy working with people, a career as a clinical or counseling psychologist may be for you.
Choosing a career in counseling
(American Counseling Association) Basic information on what a professional counselor is and how to become one.
Counseling careers
(Best Colleges) This guide provides the academic and employment information you need to pursue a counseling career. You will learn about entry requirements for major occupations in the field. The guide also covers professional development resources, which include massive open online courses (MOOCs), certification/licensure, and fellowship programs.
Counseling skills in a therapeutic relationship
(William & Mary School of Education) While a number of general counseling processes can be applicable in any situation, each type of counseling requires its own unique skill set, comprised of techniques designed to best reach certain kinds of clients. Below, we offer a brief overview of both general processes and skills that can help you on your developing counseling career, regardless of the type of client encounter you see in your future.
National Institute of Mental Health
(NIH) The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is part of NIH, a component of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Suicide prevention
(Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) Data, publications, and other resources on stress and suicide prevention provided by the CDC.

LibGuide Curator

Michelle Arnold

Email Me

Clinical Mental Health Counseling: Counseling Basics

Counseling Basics

Quick Links

Counseling Basics

LibGuide Curator

Need Help? Ask a Librarian