LibGuides: Clinical Mental Health Counseling: Psychoanalysis and Psychodynamic Therapies

Psychoanalytic/Psychodynamic Therapies

This section contains resources for psychoanalytic/psychodynamic techniques and theories. Sources for Adlerian therapy can also be found in this section.

The resources on the right are arranged by type: general collection books, eBooks, journal articles, videos, and websites.

Quick Links

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Writing Center

Psychoanalytic/Psychodynamic Therapies

The ego and the id by Freud, S., & Strachey, J.
Call Number: BF173.F645 1962
Norton
The psychopathology of everyday life by Freud, S., & Strachey, J.
Call Number: BF173.F825
Publication Date: 1965
Norton
Selected papers of Karl Abraham, M. D. by Abraham, K., & Jones, E.
Call Number: BF173.A3 1979
ISBN: 0876302061
Brunner/Mazel

Beyond fragmentation: Clinical journeys in contemporary psychoanalysis and psychotherapy by Pedroni, I.
ISBN: 9781800131170
Publication Date: 2023
ProQuest Ebook Central
Disorder-specific psychodrama therapy in theory and practice by Krüger, R. T.
ISBN: 9789819975082
Publication Date: 2024
Directory of Open Access Books
Dream psychology: Psychoanalysis for beginners by Eder, M. D., & Freud, S.
ISBN: 9788382176575
Publication Date: 2020
ProQuest Ebook Central
Deliberate practice in psychodynamic psychotherapy by Levenson, H., Gay, V., & Binder, J. L.
ISBN: 9781433836732
Publication Date: 2023
APA PsycBooks
Group psychodynamic-interpersonal psychotherapy by Tasca, G. A., Mikail, S. F., & Hewitt, P. L.
ISBN: 9781433833618
Publication Date: 2021
APA PsycBooks
Hatred, emptiness, and hope: Transference-focused psychotherapy in personality disorders by Kernberg, O. F.
ISBN: 9781615374625
Publication Date: 2022
ProQuest Ebook Central
Problem-focused psychodynamic psychotherapy by Busch, F. N.
ISBN: 9781615373857
Publication Date: 2021
ProQuest Ebook Central
Psychoanalysis, history, and radical ethics: Learning to hear by Orange, D.
ISBN: 9781000681642
Publication Date: 2019
ProQuest Ebook Central
Psychoanalysis: A new overview by Irtelli, F., Marchesi, B., & Durbano, F.
ISBN: 9781839627811
Publication Date: 2021
Directory of Open Access Books
Psychoanalysis and psychoanalytic therapies by Safran, J. D., & Hunter, J.
ISBN: 9781433832321
Publication Date: 2020
APA PsycBooks
Psychoanalysis and the act of artistic creation: A look at the unconscious dynamics of creativity by Delgado, L. M. R.
ISBN: 9781000801170
Publication Date: 2022
ProQuest Ebook Central
Psychodynamic psychopharmacology: Caring for the treatment-resistant patient by Mintz, D.
ISBN: 9781615374007
Publication Date: 2022
ProQuest Ebook Central
Theraplay: Innovations and integration by Hong, A. R., Colman, R., & Booth, P.
ISBN: 9781787755925
Publication Date: 2023
ProQuest Ebook Central
Transpersonal psychology: Altered states of consciousness, biofeedback, and neurotechnology by Valverde, R.
ISBN: 9789815036459
Publication Date: 2022
ProQuest Ebook Central
Treatment for body-focused repetitive behaviors: An integrative psychodynamic approach by Nakell, S. K.
ISBN: 9781000689419
Publication Date: 2022
ProQuest Ebook Central

Adherence, flexibility, and outcome in psychodynamic treatment of depression by Katz, M., et al.
Journal of Counseling Psychology, (2019, January), 66(1), 94-103.
The analyst's courage and vulnerability in the countertransference by Blitzer, M.
American Journal of Psychoanalysis, (2023, March), 83(1), 74-88.
Child and adolescent psychodynamic therapy: Using Q-methodology in process research by Goodman, G.
Psychoanalytic Study of the Child, (2022), 75(1), 260-277.
Client-therapist closeness-distance dynamics as a pathway for understanding changes in the alliance during psychodynamic therapy by Egozi, S., Tishby, O., & Wiseman, H.
Counselling & Psychotherapy Research, (2022, September), 22(3), 784-794.
Doing-together with words: The sequential unfolding of a moment of meeting in a psychoanalytic therapy session by Herrera, M., et al.
Frontiers in Psychology, (2023), Vol. 14, 1205500.
Evidence-based individual psychology practice: Adlerian pattern focused therapy by Kaynak, Ü.
Psikiyatride Guncel Yaklasimlar, (2024), 16(2), 258-270.
Exploring termination setback in a psychodynamic therapy for panic disorder by Nilsson, T., et al.
Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology, (2021, September), 89(9), 762-772.
How speakers orient to the notable absence of talk: A conversation analytic perspective on silence in psychodynamic therapy by Knol, A. S. L., et al.
Frontiers in Psychology, (2020), Vol. 11, 584927.
Integrating mindfulness into Adlerian therapy as a medical alternative treatment for depression by Shienko, L.
Journal of Individual Psychology, (2021), 77(4), 427-445.
"It was hard work every session": Therapists' view of successful psychoanalytic treatments by Werbart, A., et al.
Psychotherapy Research, (2019, April), 29(3), 354-371.
Making meaning through play: Psychoanalytic intervention in a pre-school child with global developmental delay by Donner, S. L.
The Psychoanalytic Study of the Child, (2021), 74(1), 209-226.
Mentalizing and the growth of symbolic play and affect regulation in psychodynamic therapy for children with behavioral problems by Halfon, S., & Bulut, P.
Psychotherapy Research, (2019), 29(5), 666-678.
Mysteries of the psychoanalytic process: Reflections on chaos, complexity, and emergence by Turtz, J. S.
American Journal of Psychoanalysis, (2020, June), 80(2), 176-195.
Patient factors predict therapists' emotional countertransference differently depending on whether therapists use transference work in psychodynamic therapy by Nissen-Lie, H. A., Dahl, A.-S. J., & Høglend, P. A.
Psychotherapy Research, (2022, January), 32(1), 3-15.
Play in social workers' psychodynamic therapy supervision by Yerushalmi, H.
Journal of Social Work Practice, (2020, September), 34(3), 297-308.
Psychoanalysis with adults inspired by parent-infant therapy: Reconstructing infantile trauma by Salomonsson, B.
International Journal of Psychoanalysis, (2020), 101(2), 320-339.
Studying the process of psychoanalytic parent-infant psychotherapy: Embodied and discursive aspects by Avdi, E., et al.
Infant Mental Health Journal, (2020), 41(5), 589-602.
Therapist effects in yearlong psychodynamic therapy: An exploratory study by Yonatan‐Leus, R., et al.
Clinical Psychology & Psychotherapy, (2019, November), 26(6), 751-760.

Adlerian therapy, in counseling theories in action
ProQuest Video: 1:45:10
Counseling Theories in Action presents four clinicians working with four different clients. The theories represented are Psychodynamic, Adlerian, Gestalt, and Multicultural Feminist. Viewers will see how professionals make sense of their chosen theoretical model and witness a variety of evidence-based theoretical interventions with the client.
Intervention Techniques for Adlerian:
- Encouragement
- Early Recollections
- Spitting in the Soup
- Push Button Technique
- Acting “As If”
- Task Setting
Conversation hour with Otto Kernberg
ProQuest Video: 1:00:29
In this video Otto Kornberg takes questions from the audience about psychotherapy.
Psychodynamic therapy, in counseling theories in action
ProQuest Video: 1:51:43
Counseling Theories in Action presents four clinicians working with four different clients. The theories represented are Psychodynamic, Adlerian, Gestalt, and Multicultural Feminist. Viewers will see how professionals make sense of their chosen theoretical model and witness a variety of evidence-based theoretical interventions with the client.
Intervention Techniques for Psychodynamic:
- Working Through
- Free Association
- Interpretation
- Resistance
- Confrontation
- Transference

About psychoanalysis
(American Psychoanalytic Association) Psychoanalysis arose from an appreciation of the power of people talking directly to one another about questions that matter and issues that are difficult to understand. In examining what lies beneath the surface of human behavior—in providing multi-layered and multi-dimensional explanations—psychoanalysis teaches us about the unconscious psychological and psychosocial forces that fall outside of everyday awareness.
Adlerian therapy
(National Library of Medicine) Adlerian Therapy, introduced by Alfred Adler (1870-1937), is a constructivist and encouragement-based counseling technique concentrating on prevention rather than remediation. His advising method progressed to a combination of purposeful, cognitive, and psychodynamic views.
Alfred Adler: Theory and Application
(Adler Graduate School) Alfred Adler (1870-1937), world renowned philosopher and psychiatrist, stressed the need to understand individuals within their social context. During the early 1900s, Adler began addressing such crucial and contemporary issues as equality, parent education, the influence of birth order, life style, and the holism of individuals. Adler believed that we all have one basic desire and goal: to belong and to feel significant.
Foundational Adlerian principles
(Adler University) The core Adlerian principles are only briefly reviewed here for context, as a more thorough explanation is readily available
Psychoanalytic and psychodynamic psychology
(American Psychological Association) Psychoanalytic and psychodynamic psychotherapies help people to improve their lives by gaining a better understanding about how they think and feel.
Psychoanalytic psychotherapy
(American Psychoanalytic Association) Psychoanalytic or Psychodynamic Psychotherapy is a form of clinical practice that is based on psychoanalytic theory and principles.
Psychoanalytic therapy
(National Library of Medicine) This activity reviews the history, theory, technique, and future direction of psychodynamic psychotherapy and explains the role of the healthcare team in improving care for patients who undergo psychiatric treatment.
What is psychoanalysis? - Is it weird?
(Freud Museum London) These films are intended to facilitate first encounters with Sigmund Freud’s thought.
What is psychodynamic therapy?
(British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy) Our member Sarai Monk explains what psychodynamic therapy is and what to expect from the psychodynamic approach

LibGuide Curator

Michelle Arnold

Email Me

Clinical Mental Health Counseling: Psychoanalysis and Psychodynamic Therapies

Psychoanalytic/Psychodynamic Therapies

Quick Links

Psychoanalytic/Psychodynamic Therapies

LibGuide Curator

Need help? Ask a Librarian!