Clinical Mental Health Counseling: Addiction Counseling

Alexander Street Video: 1:28:00
By looking at addictive behaviors – from drugs and alcohol to sex, technology, and binge eating -- as means of self-protection and a way of staving off deep personal pain, the IFS model provides a model of treatment that avoids power struggles, and feelings of shame and judgment that can often accompany treatment for trauma and addictions.

Alexander Street Video: 2:00:00
This workshop integrates the “Couple Recovery Development Approach” from Dr. Robert Navarra’s research of over 15 years, with the “Sound Relationship House” model developed by relationship experts Dr. Julie Gottman and Dr. John Gottman. Examples and demonstrations of specific strategies and interventions will provide a road map for professionals to help couples integrate recovery into family life, maximizing the chances for successful individual and family recovery.

ProQuest Video: 2:55:50
Do you know how to recognize the signs your client might have a gambling problem? Underlying gambling problems could be interfering with treatment outcomes and Nationally Certified Gambling Counselor Kathleen Zamperini is here to make sure you don’t miss this hidden secret in your next session!

Alexander Street Video: 2:28:00
Already addiction ranks as our number one public health problem dramatically outdistancing in financial costs compared to other illnesses such as cancer and diabetes. Unfortunately, deep public prejudice against mental health and addiction professionals as inept or even fraudulent is a steep barrier to the changes we need to make.The good news is that other countries have pioneered models for changing cultural attitudes. Further, catalytic combinations from genetics, trauma research, neuroscience, emotional regulation, and addiction treatment have cleared a path of hope via effective, core strategies that all clinicians and their patients can access.

Alexander Street Video: 1:53:00
This workshop offers a comprehensive psychobiosocial model for understanding and working with these behaviors through Integrative Harm Reduction Psychotherapy (IHRP), which can be immediately incorporated into your practice.

ProQuest Video: 1:08:23
This recording will clarify the neurobiological underpinnings of these broken biological systems, clarify how addictive behaviors of all kinds are invariably rooted in desperate attempts to manage and discuss the evidence-based methods that are available to help re-regulate mind and body.

Alexander Street Video: 2:53:00
Porn addiction can be very hard to identify and treat - and it can be uncomfortable to discuss with a client. This program will provide you with a proven start-to-finish plan for addressing these challenging cases.

ProQuest Video: 1:02:54
Contrary to what is often claimed, the source of addictions is not to be found in genes, but in the early childhood environment where the neurobiology of the brain’s reward pathways develops and where the emotional patterns that lead to addiction are wired into the unconscious. Stress, both then and later in life, creates the predisposition for addictions, whether to drugs, alcohol, nicotine or to behavioral addictions such as shopping or sex. Helping the addicted individual requires that we appreciate the function of the addiction in his or her life.

ProQuest Video: 1:34:55
Join Dr. Nicholas Kardaras, psychologist, expert in technology overuse, and author of the best-selling book Glow Kids, for this 90-minute recording packed with insight and strategies every clinician and educator should know about the effects of screen time – and what you can do about it.

Alexander Street Video: 2:01:00
This recording will give you a conceptual “map” for understanding addiction as a survival strategy for regulating environmental stress and personal distress.Using mindfulness-based and body-centered strategies drawn from Sensorimotor Psychotherapy, you can develop a toolkit for helping clients with addictive behavior virtually even in the midst of a pandemic.

ProQuest Video: 1:03:36
In this program, we will look at how underlying traumas often trigger and support addiction-based behavior and how the roots of addiction lie in unresolved trauma, insecure attachment, lack of support, overindulgence, and habitual childhood frustration.

(Addiction Center) There are various types of therapy options available that will allow you to understand what caused your addiction, as well as how to develop a recovery plan to stay sober.

(Cleveland Clinic) An addiction counselor (substance abuse counselor) helps people who have substance use disorders get treatment. They’re experts on the ins and outs of addiction and develop tailored treatment plans based on your specific addiction, needs and goals.

(Addiction-Counselors.com) Provides information on how to become a substance abuse counselor, including the requirements for each different state.

(Detox) We'll help you find the best drug or alcohol detox program for you or a loved one.

(National Institute on Drug Abuse) Research on the science of addiction and the treatment of substance use disorders has led to the development of research-based methods that help people to stop using drugs and resume productive lives, also known as being in recovery.

(Rehab) Rehab.com is a leading informational resource and web guide dedicated to encouraging and empowering those seeking life-saving treatment for addiction and co-occurring mental health disorders. Rehab.com provides visitors with a comprehensive nationwide directory of more than 25,000 facilities and addiction treatment centers, evidence-based and medically-reviewed information about addiction and the treatment process, and a library of free recovery resources.

(Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration) SAMHSA’s National Helpline, 1-800-662-HELP (4357) (also known as the Treatment Referral Routing Service), or TTY: 1-800-487-4889 is a confidential, free, 24-hour-a-day, 365-day-a-year, information service, in English and Spanish, for individuals and family members facing mental and/or substance use disorders. This service provides referrals to local treatment facilities, support groups, and community-based organizations.

(Free Rehab Centers) FreeRehabCenters.org is a comprehensive directory of free addiction treatment programs across the US... Our directory includes a wide range of free rehab programs, including inpatient, outpatient, and residential programs. We also offer information on how to qualify for free rehab and what to expect from treatment.

(American Psychological Association) Definitions and resources for substance use and addition, from the APA.

(Bellevue University) Information about Bellevue University's substance abuse counselor program

(Addictions.com) Find the best alcohol and drug rehab centers in Nebraska. Browse 134 outpatient, 59 inpatient, and 44 detox facilities. Get the answer to common rehab FAQs including drug laws in Nebraska, substance abuse stats, and how much addiction treatment costs.

(Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services) A collection of resources for mental health treatment in Nebraska

(Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
Millions of Americans have a substance use disorder (SUD), and it remains an important health issue in our country.
In 2022, more than one in six Americans aged 12 or older reported experiencing a SUD.
With effective treatment, recovery is possible for everyone. There is strength in getting help.

(Partnership to End Addiction) Treatment for substance use disorder can take place in different settings (inpatient or outpatient) and at different degrees of intensity. Typically, one’s treatment plan is designed to address their physical, psychological, emotional and social issues, in addition to their substance use.