LibGuides: World Religions: Sikhi

Sikhi

This section contains resources on Sikhi (also commonly referred to as Sikhism). Sikhi was founded by Guru Nanak in the Punjab region (present-day eastern Pakistan and northwestern India) in the 15th century. Today, Sikhi is practiced around the world, though the majority of Sikhs still live in India. Significant Sikh populations also exist in Western countries such as the United States, England, and Canada.

The resources on the right are arranged by type: eBooks, journal articles, videos, and websites.

Quick Links

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Writing Center

Sikhi

A dictionary of Sikh studies by Singh, P.
ISBN: 9780191831874
Publication Date: 2019
Oxford Reference
Exploring gender and Sikh traditions by Jakobsh, D. R.
ISBN: 9783036511900
Publication Date: 2021
Directory of Open Access Books
Exploring Sikh traditions and heritage by Singh, P.
ISBN: 9783036517834
Publication Date: 2021
Directory of Open Access Books
Exploring the Sikh tradition: A conversation with Eleanor Nesbitt by Burton, H.
ISBN: 9781771701556
Publication Date: 2021
ProQuest Ebook Central
Imperialism and Sikh migration: The Komagata Maru incident by Roy, A.
ISBN: 9781351802987
Publication Date: 2017
ProQuest Ebook Central
The Nirankari Sikhs by Webster, J. C. B.
ISBN: 9780429842931
Publication Date: 2018
ProQuest Ebook Central
Women and the Sikh diaspora in California: Signing the Seven Seas by Ranganath, N.
ISBN: 9781032384047
Publication Date: 2024
Directory of Open Access Books

Accessing attitude toward Sikhism: The psychometric properties of the Athwal-Francis Scale among Sikh adolescents by Francis, L. J., Athwal, S., & McKenna, U.
Mental Health, Religion & Culture, (2020), 23(3/4), 234-244.
Guru Nanak: 550th birth anniversary of Sikhism's founder: Phoenix Art Museum, The Khanuja Family Sikh Art Gallery, 17 August 2019-29 March 2020 by Baker, J.
Sikh Formations, (2019), 15(3-4), 495-515.
Helena Blavatsky, Dorothy Field and Annie Besant: Theosophy's role in introducing Sikhism to the West by Nesbitt, E.
Sikh Formations, (2020), 16(3), 227-243.
Narratives in action: Modelling the types and drivers of Sikh activism in diaspora by Singh, J.
Religions, (2020), 11(10), 539.
Parenting with the Sikhi spirit by Kaur, K.
Cross Currents, (2021, September), 71(3), 264-274, 332.
Philosophical transgression and self cultivation in the Purātan Janamsākhī: Bhāī Vīr Singh and modern Sikh reading practices by Grewal, H.
Sikh Formations, (2020), 16(1-2), 66-84.
Racialisation, 'religious violence' and radicalisation: The persistence of narratives of 'Sikh extremism' by Singh, J.
Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies, (2020), 46(15), 3136-3156.
Reform in fragments: Sovereignty, colonialism, and the Sikh tradition by Judge, R. S.
Modern Asian Studies, (2022, July), 56(4), 1125-1152.
Remembering Guru Nanak: Articulations of faith and ethics by Sikh activists in post 9/11 America by Luthra, S. K.
Religions, (2021), 12(2), 113.
Sikhism: A targeted religion by Choongh, G. K.
Culture, Society, and Praxis, (2020), 12(1).
Theorizing the (un)sounded in Sikhī: Anhad, sabad, and kīrtan by Kaur, I. N.
Religions, (2021), 12(11), 1007.
Understanding gender identity in Sikhism by Cheema, K., & Chattha, T.
Journal of the Research Society of Pakistan, (2022, March), 59(1), 132.
The 'vexed' status of Guru images: Visuality, circulation and iconographic conflicts by Duggal, K.
South Asian Popular Culture, (2022), 20(1), 97-117.
Vice and virtue in Sikh ethics by Singh, K.
Monist, (2021, July), 104(3), 319-336.
Women and Sikhism in theory and practice: Normative discourses, seva performances, and agency in the case study of some young Sikh women in Northern Italy by Bertolani, B.
Religions, (2020), 11(2), 91.
Yoga concept in Sri Guru Granth Sahib teachings: A conceptual frame development by Kaur, G., & Gowda, P.
Yoga Mimamsa, (2021), 53(2), 129-133.

Library Database Videos

Inside a Sikh Gurdwara
Films on Demand: 6:58
What is a guru? Why do Gurdwaras have four doors? What food is served during services? This programme explores these questions and more by tracing the history of Sikhism and looking at the rituals that serve as expressions of faith. Learners will be transported inside a Sikh service and understand how the Gurdwara serves as a place of worship.
Under the turban
ProQuest Video: 1:28:36
Originating nearly 500 years ago, Sikhism is now the world's fifth largest religion, with many of its 25 million members choosing to express their commitment to their faith and culture by wearing a very recognizable piece of clothing -- the turban. But who are these people, where do they live, and for what do they stand? Or, put simply, what makes one a Sikh?
When nine-year-old Zara Garcha asks such a question, her family decides to answer it in a most extraordinary manner -- by embarking on an international journey to learn about their heritage from modern day Sikhs.

Internet Videos

About Sikhs
(The Sikh Coalition) Learn more about the world's 5th largest major world religion
Decoding rituals and symbols of Sikhism
(The Guibord Center - Religion Inside Out) The Khalsa Care Foundation opened its doors to our group of more than 40 people for a spiritual conversation and teaching about “Decoding Rituals and Symbols of Sikhism.”
Sikhism
(The Pluralism Project, Harvard University) A collection of resources on Sikhism, including essays, images, recent news, and more, provided by Harvard University.
Sikhism
(Forum on Religion and Ecology, Yale University) In the Overview Essay, Dr. Rajwant Singh speaks of the vision of the founder of the Sikh tradition, Guru Nanak–a vision in which we are all spiritual beings “who have realized God. To these spiritual beings the earth and the universe are sacred; all life is unity, and their mission is the spiritualization of all.”
Sikhism
(Britannica) Sikhism, religion and philosophy founded in the Punjab region of the Indian subcontinent in the late 15th century. Its members are known as Sikhs. The Sikhs call their faith Gurmat (Punjabi: “the Way of the Guru”).
Sikhi worldview traditions
(RE:ONLINE) Links to different parts of an essay written by Dr Ranvir Singh on Sikhi traditions, part of the series of subject knowledge essays.

LibGuide Curator

Michelle Arnold

Email Me

World Religions: Sikhi

Sikhi

Quick Links

Sikhi

LibGuide Curator

Need Help? Ask a Librarian