LibGuides: Library Anxiety: Information Seeking Behavior

Quick Links

Bellevue University Library
BUILD IT
An online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services
Copyright Center
Cyberactive Online Classroom
Interlibrary Loan
Library Databases
Library Hours/Contacts

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Research Assistance Program
A member of the reference team will work with you one-on-one throughout your academic career to answer your questions about the research process.
Writing Center
Zoom for Reference
Need help? Sign up for a 60-minute Zoom session with the Library Reference Team. Sessions are offered Monday through Friday 9-6 PM.

Writing Resources

Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab) offers over 200 free resources related to writing, including in-depth citation guides.

General Writing
Covers the writing process for general, academic, and assignment writing, and includes writing mechanics, punctuation, and grammar.

Research and Citation
The basics of conducting research. The most popular features of the Purdue OWL are the style guides for APA, MLA, and Chicago.

Teacher and Tutor Resources
Though geared toward the teaching of writing, there are many useful handouts for students, including those addressing plagiarism.

Subject Specific Writing
This area provides resources on technical writing, writing in literature, social sciences, and engineering, as well as medical writing, journalistic writing, and creative writing.

Other sections include Job Search Writing and ESL Resources. Consult the Site Map for a complete look at OWL

What is information seeking behavior?

Initiation: when a person first becomes aware of a lack of knowledge or understanding. Feelings of uncertainty and apprehension are common.
Selection: when a general area, topic, or problem is identified. Initial uncertainty often gives way to a brief sense of optimism and a readiness to begin the search.
Exploration: when inconsistent, incompatible information is encountered. Uncertainty, confusion, and doubt frequently increase and people find themselves "in the dip" of confidence.
Formulation: when a focused perspective is formed. Uncertainty diminishes as confidence begins to increase.
Collection: when information pertinent to the focused perspective is gathered. Uncertainty subsides as interest and involvement deepens.
Presentation: when the search is completed with a new understanding. This enables the person to explain his or her learning to others or in some way put the learning to use.
Assessment:, when the work is done. A sense of accomplishment and increased self-awareness arrives.