LibGuides: Communication: Communication Fundamentals

Communication Fundamentals

Communication, a fundamental component of society, is the act of forming ideas and meaning between individuals using language, symbols, and gestures. While specifics of communication are determined by individual cultures, these broad elements remain relatively constant. Scientists often link different civilizations' development with their progress in various aspects of communication.

The resources on the right are arranged by type: general collection books, E-Books, articles, library videos, and websites. They all relate to general communication in some way, though they may delve into some specifics.

Quick Links

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Writing Center

Communication Fundamentals

The handbook of communication training: A best practices framework for assessing and developing competence by Wallace, J. D., & Becker, D.
Call Number: HD30.3 .H3539 2019
ISBN: 9781138736528
Routledge
Interpersonal communication: Putting theory into practice by Solomon, D., 7 Theiss, J.
Call Number: P94.7 S65 2022
ISBN: 9780815386971
Routledge
The Oxford handbook of the physiology of interpersonal communication by Aloia, L. S., Denes, A., & Crowley, J. P.
Call Number: BF637 C45 O94 2020
ISBN: 9780190679446
Oxford University Press
Theorizing crisis communication by Sellnow, T. L., & Seeger, M. W.
Call Number: P93 S45 2021
ISBN: 9781119615910
John Wiley & Sons
Visual communication: Insights and strategies by Page, J. T., & Duffy, M.
Call Number: P93.5 D86 2022
ISBN: 9781119226475
John Wiley & Sons

Communication: Breakdowns and breakthroughs by Ternès, A.
ISBN: 9781848882096
Publication Date: 2019
ProQuest Ebook Central
Communication as gesture by Schandorf, M.
ISBN: 9781787565166
Publication Date: 2019
Ebooks in EBSCOhost
Communications: Smart skills by Forsyth, P.
ISBN: 9781789550009
Publication Date: 2019
ProQuest Ebook Central
Conflict analysis and transformation: An introduction for students, activists and communitites by Janzen, R.
ISBN: 9781527520097
Publication Date: 2018
ProQuest Ebook Central
The construction of discourse as verbal interaction by González, M. & Mackenzie, J. L.
ISBN: 9789027263568
Publication Date: 2018
ProQuest Ebook Central
How to communicate effectively with anyone, anywhere: Your passport to connecting globally by Bullock, D., Sanchez, R., & Sánchez, R.
ISBN: 9781632657565
Publication Date: 2021
ProQuest Ebook Central
The pragmatics of sensitive activities in institutional discourse by Hansen, B. M. and Reiter, R. M.
ISBN: 9789027263681
Publication Date: 2018
ProQuest Ebook Central
Strategizing communication by Gulbrandsen, I. T., & Just, S. N.
ISBN: 9788759322079
Publication Date: 2020
Ebooks in EBSCOhost
Understanding communications systems principles - A tutorial approach by De Los Santos, H. J.
ISBN: 9781000794243
Publication Date: 2021
ProQuest Ebook Central

Communication studies: Effective communication leads to effective leadership by Banwart, M.
New Directions for Student Leadership, (2020, March), 2020(165), 87-97.
A hierarchical model for interpersonal verbal communication by Jiang, J., Zheng, L., & Lu, C.
Social Cognitive & Affective Neuroscience, (2021), 16(1/2), 246-255.
Integrating conflict: A proposed framework for the interdisciplinary study of workplace conflict and its management by Avgar, A.
ILR Review, (2020, March), 73(2), 281-311.
Non-verbal communication between two non-native English speakers: Iraqi and Chinese by Jabber, K. W., & Mahmood, A. A.
Theory & Practice in Language Studies, (2020, February), 10(2), 189-196.
Non-verbal communication in the online environment by Hodut, A.-M., Toma, L.-A., & Iosim, I.
Agricultural Management, (2020), 22(3), 33-36.
Predictions of miscommunication in verbal communication during collaborative joint action by Paxton, A., et al.
Journal of Speech, Language & Hearing Research, (2021, February), 64(2), 613-627.
A reinforcement-learning approach to efficient communication by Kågebäck, M., et al.
PLoS ONE, (2020, July 15), 15(7), e0234894.

4 communication skills everyone needs
Films on Demand - 13:10
This program outlines the four key communication skills needed: lean communication (getting straight to the point), connecting with others (social skills), adaptability (learning to read and relate to different types of people) and texting and using social media professionally (understanding the importance of sensitive, respectful and polite messaging).
Communication skills
Alexander Street Video - 30:00
This video provides individuals with strategies they can use to be more effective communicators, both on and off the job. Viewers will learn how to improve their verbal, nonverbal, and written communication skills.
Gestures
ProQuest Video - 5:26
Learn what 5 common gestures mean and how to use them. Improve your non-verbal communication skills with this useful and helpful video. All of these gestures are with your hands.
How can having good listening skills make you a better communicator?
Films on Demand - 1:34
It's not just how you relay information but also how you absorb and process it that makes you a better communicator, this animated episode provides an example of the process in action.
Social skills
Alexander Street Video - 4:00
We use social skills everyday to interact and communicate with others. Mastering those abilities includes verbal and non-verbal communication, such as speech, gesture, facial expression and body language.
Verbal communication & body language
Alexander Street Video - 8:00
This Video Explains Professionalism - Verbal Communication & Body Language.

Active listening definition, skills, and examples
(The Balance) What is active listening, and why is it important for your career? Active listening is the process by which an individual secures information from another individual or group.
Components of social communication
(ASHA) This page details the various components of social communication.
International association for media and communication research
(IAMCR) The International Association for Media and Communication Research - IAMCR - is the preeminent worldwide professional organisation in the field of media and communication research.
Perception process
(University of Minnesota) Perception is the process of selecting, organizing, and interpreting information. This process, which is shown in Figure 2.1 “The Perception Process”, includes the perception of select stimuli that pass through our perceptual filters, are organized into our existing structures and patterns, and are then interpreted based on previous experiences. Although perception is a largely cognitive and psychological process, how we perceive the people and objects around us affects our communication.
Principles of interpersonal communication
(University of Minnesota) In order to understand interpersonal communication, we must understand how interpersonal communication functions to meet our needs and goals and how our interpersonal communication connects to larger social and cultural systems. Interpersonal communication is the process of exchanging messages between people whose lives mutually influence one another in unique ways in relation to social and cultural norms.
Types of nonverbal communication
(University of Minnesota) Just as verbal language is broken up into various categories, there are also different types of nonverbal communication. As we learn about each type of nonverbal signal, keep in mind that nonverbals often work in concert with each other, combining to repeat, modify, or contradict the verbal message being sent.
What is communication
(University of Minnesota) Many theories have been proposed to describe, predict, and understand the behaviors and phenomena of which communication consists. When it comes to communicating in business, we are often less interested in theory than in making sure our communications generate the desired results. But in order to achieve results, it can be valuable to understand what communication is and how it works.

LibGuide Curator

Michelle Arnold

Email Me

Communication: Communication Fundamentals

Communication Fundamentals

Quick Links

Communication Fundamentals

LibGuide Curator

Need help? Ask a Librarian!