LibGuides: Hot Topics: Immigration: Websites

Quick Links

Bellevue University Library
BUILD IT
An online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services
Copyright Center
Cyberactive Online Classroom
Interlibrary Loan
Library Databases
Library Hours/Contacts

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Research Assistance Program
A member of the reference team will work with you one-on-one throughout your academic career to answer your questions about the research process.
Writing Center
Zoom for Reference
Need help? Sign up for a 60-minute Zoom session with the Library Reference Team. Sessions are offered Monday through Friday 9-6 PM.

Refugee Populations by Country

This map displays which countries report refugee populations greater than 500,000 in each decade since 1960 and in 2015 and 2017.
Click on image to view data,

Source:
Migration Policy Institute tabulation of data from the United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs (2017), Trends in International Migrant Stock: Migrants by Destination and Origin (United Nations database,

Online Resources

Facts on U.S. Immigrants, 2017
Statistical portrait of the foreign-born population in the United States
Immigration Data & Statistics
Key datasets and resources published by the Office of Immigration Statistics, Department of Homeland Security.
Immigration Timeline
Significant eras and events in the history of immigration in the United States, 1790-2000. From The Statue of Liberty - Ellis Island Foundation website.
Key Findings About U.S. Immigrants
From the FACT TANK at Pew Research Center
The Nation’s Immigration Laws, 1920 - 2014
From Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center: Immigration
Many immigration resources are available at the Pew Research Center website. These include data, charts, and interactive maps.
Trump wall - all you need to know about US border in seven charts
BBC post from September 27, 2019 breaks down the Wall into seven points illustrated with charts and graphics.
U.S. Immigration before 1965
From History,com, details waves of immigration through 1965.
U.S. Immigration Since 1965
The Immigration and Naturalization Act of 1965 was enacted. By the end of the 20th century, the policies put into effect by the Immigration Act of 1965 had greatly changed the face of the American population. From History.com website.
U.S. Immigration Debate
From the Council on Foreign Relations, an overview of the issues related to immigration in the United States
US Immigration Throughout History
Timeline summarizing the ebb and flow of government immigration policies and programs over the past 170 years. Frp, USA Facts
U.S. Immigration Trends
Interactive charts and data that help track changing immigration patterns and characteristics of the immigrant population through time. From Migration Policy Institute (MPI).
The Wall
Interactive map exploring every mile of U.S.Mexico border created by USA Today. Includes video stories, 360 degree videos, and guided tours of portions of the border

U.S. Unauthorized Immigrant Total Dips to Lowest Level in a Decade
From Pew Research Center, by Jeffrey S. Passel and D’Vera Cohn
(November 27, 2018)
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
A compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals who, during a fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence,, were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis, applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. Yearbooks available from 2000-2017 and 1996-1999 From Department of Homeland Security, Office of Immigration Statistics.

Immigration and Nationality Act
The Immigration and Nationality Act (INA) was enacted in 1952. The INA collected many provisions and reorganized the structure of immigration law. The INA has been amended many times over the years and contains many of the most important provisions of immigration law.
How U.S. Immigration Laws and Rules Have Changed Through History
From the FACT TANK at Pew Research Center
Key Facts About U.S. Immigration Policies and Proposed Changes
From the FACT TANK at Pew Research Center.
Major U.S. Immigration Laws, 1790 - Present
Fact sheet from Migration Policy Institute (MPI) - a guide and timeline of all major U.S. Immigration Laws

LibGuide Curator

Kyle Williams

Email Me

Hot Topics: Immigration: Websites

Quick Links

Refugee Populations by Country

Online Resources

LibGuide Curator

Need help? Ask a Librarian!