LibGuides: Hot Topics: Immigration: Introduction to U.S. Immigration

Quick Links

Bellevue University Library
BUILD IT
An online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services
Copyright Center
Cyberactive Online Classroom
Interlibrary Loan
Library Databases
Library Hours/Contacts

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Personal Librarian Program
A member of the reference team will work with you one-on-one throughout your academic career to answer your questions about the research process.
more...less...
Previously called the Research Assistance Program
Writing Center
Zoom for Reference
Need help? Sign up for a 60-minute Zoom session with the Library Reference Team. Sessions are offered Monday through Friday 9-6 PM.

Overview of Immigration in the United States

Immigration by Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection
Publication Date: 2019
Defines immigration and briefly discusses the motivations and impact it has, historical immigration in the U.S., and immigration issues.
Immigration by Michelson, M. R.
Publication Date: 2017
From Encyclopedia of American Government and Civics, discusses history of immigration and its legislation in the United States.
Immigration and the American Dream by Gale Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection
Publication Date: 2020
Though the concept of the American Dream means different things to different people, the idea that an immigrant can succeed in the United States if they work hard has become a common component of many definitions of the American Dream.
Immigration: Topic Page by Anheier, H. K., & Anheier.,
Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Global Studies. brief explanation of the statistics and waves of immigration, as well as the economics, legal issues, and impact associated with it.

Changing Patterns: Immigration & Population Growth in the U.S. - Slide Show

Two Centuries of U.S. Immigration

Click on map to see interactive visualization of the 79 million people and the countries they came from, who emigrated to the United States 1820 - 2013.

Source: Immigration data: Department of Homeland Security’s Office of Immigration Statistics. The data used for the map is “persons obtaining lawful permanent resident status,” which does not include illegal immigration or, people brought to the U.S. as slaves (“forced immigration"). From .Metrocosm website