LibGuides: Hot Topics: Climate Change: Streaming Videos

Quick Links

Bellevue University Library
BUILD IT
An online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services
Copyright Center
Cyberactive Online Classroom
Interlibrary Loan
Library Databases
Library Hours/Contacts

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Research Assistance Program
A member of the reference team will work with you one-on-one throughout your academic career to answer your questions about the research process.
Writing Center
Zoom for Reference
Need help? Sign up for a 60-minute Zoom session with the Library Reference Team. Sessions are offered Monday through Friday 9-6 PM.

Library Video Databases

The following library databases can be accessed from the Databases page and searched for additional videos.

Films on Demand - Provides streaming films from sources such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational.
Kanopy - Provides streaming videos on a variety of subjects; includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Alexander Street Videos - Multidisciplinary collection contains thousands of videos.

A Burning Question: Propaganda & the Denial of Climate Change
Kanopy (56 min)
This fascinating and clarifying look at the debate surrounding global warming explores the striking disconnect between the relatively clear-cut concerns of the world's most prominent scientists and the maze of speculation, rhetorical posturing, and outright misinformation that attaches to this issue whenever it's taken up by politicians, PR specialists, and political pundits.
Climate Change: A Horizon Guide
Alexander Street Video (55 min)
The journey of climate change from scientific obscurity to the full glare of publicity has been fascinating, full of strange twists, extreme natural disasters, ambitious theories and changing fashions. This Horizon Guide looks back through the program archive to reveal how climate change emerged from the shadows, to take its place at the center stage of global debate.
Climate Change: The Facts
Films on Demand (57 min)
After one of the hottest years on record, Sir David Attenborough looks at the science of climate change and potential solutions to this global threat. Interviews with some of the world’s leading climate scientists explore recent extreme weather conditions such as unprecedented storms and catastrophic wildfires. They also reveal what dangerous levels of climate change could mean for both human populations and the natural world in the future. A BBC Production.
Climate Change by Numbers: Part 1
Films on Demand (44:16 min)
Climate Change by Numbers reveals why scientists are so certain they are right, where we have reached the limits of our knowledge, and what uncertainty really means.
Climate Change by Numbers: Part 2
Films on Demand (46:28 min)
Earth’s climate is changing—understanding how has become one of the biggest scientific projects ever undertaken.
Climate Change Denial
Films on Demand (44:12 min)
In this segment of Bill Nye's Globl Meltdown, Nye does an experiment showing the way water expands when warmed. Nye flies over Miami and looks at the increased construction in an area where sea level rise may eliminate land. Florida legislators are resistant to studying and talking about climate change
Cllimate Change
Films on Demand (37 min)
The impacts of climate change can be hard to see, but footage from the Arctic, Greenland, Iceland, Africa, the Alps, Bangladesh, India, and China shows it's all too much of a reality for the poorest and most vulnerable. The program also provides clear visual explanations of the processes that can cause climate change.
Decoding the Weather Machine
Films on Deand (1hr 53 min)
PBS documentary asks why scientists overwhelmingly agree that our climate is changing, and discusses how we can be resilient - even thrive -in the face of enormous change
Ice
Films on Demand (50 min)
Dr. Helen Czerski examines two of the coldest natural phenomena on Earth: icebergs and avalanches. Icebergs pose a serious hazard to shipping—and as the planet warms up, the number of icebergs calving from the world's glaciers has been increasing steadily.
This Scientist Made a Super-Tree to Fight Climate Change
Alexander Street Video (10 min)
Scientists at The Center for Negative Carbon Emissions at Arizona State University are developing technology to clean up carbon emissions we’ve already made. On this episode of Unsolvable, Bloomberg looks at a device that outcompetes trees at absorbing carbon dioxide