LibGuides: Recurring Reference Questions: Counseling and Breach of Ethics

Relevant Library Databases

Try the library psychology databases, such as ProQuest One Psychology, PsycARTICLES
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection.

Use the advanced search to combine multiple search terms and mark the "Full Text" and "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" filters.

You may also start you search using the search box on the library homepage, Discovery Search, which searches all of the journal databases simultaneously. After you have added your search terms and gotten a list of results, apply the "Full Text" and "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" filters, found in the left column.,

Discovery Search also has an Advanced Search which lets you set those filters before you search, combine search terms, and set search fields.

LibGuide Curator

Tyler Nordstrom

Email Me

Information on Ethics Codes and Violations

2014 ACA code of ethics
(American Counseling Association) The ACA Code of Ethics contains nine main sections that address the following areas:
Section A: The Counseling Relationship
Section B: Confdentiality and Privacy
Section C: Professional Responsibility
Section D: Relationships With Other Professionals
Section E: Evaluation, Assessment, and Interpretation
Section F: Supervision, Training, and Teaching
Section G: Research and Publication
Section H: Distance Counseling, Technology, and
Social Media
Section I: Resolving Ethical Issues
Ethical & professional standards
(American Counseling Association) The American Counseling Association Center for Practice, Policy, and Research is responsible for providing access to, and interpretation of, the American Counseling Association Code of Ethics. This web page provides ACA members and members of the public with the necessary tools to ensure compliance with the ethical standards of the counseling profession.
Ethical principles of psychologists and code of conduct
(American Psychological Association) Effective date June 1, 2003 with amendments effective June 1, 2010 and January 1, 2017.
Possible ethical violations
(American Psychological Association) Know your rights and your psychologist’s responsibilities in several common ethical dilemmas
Psychology: Ethics
(Bellevue University) This section of the Bellevue University Psychology LibGuide contains sources discussing ethical practices and issues in the field of psychology.
What are the more common ethical violations in therapy?
(Jenner Law) Individuals in positions of power sometimes abuse that power and harm others. Unfortunately, therapy is no exception.

ACA ethical standards casebook by Herlihy, B., & Corey, G.
Publication Date: 2015
Part III – Issues and Case Studies
Each chapter of this section focuses on one key ethical issue followed by two case studies..The case studies illustrate common ethical concerns related to that chapter, in which counselors confront ethical dilemmas and make either wise or unwise decisions..
ProQuest Ebook Central

Search Tips

Search Terms

"Breach of ethics" typically does not work well as a search term.To locate articles describing unethical behavior in the counseling profession, try search terms such as these:

counselors AND ethics AND violations

ethics violations AND counselors

unethical behavior AND counselors

ethical misconduct AND counselors

Experiment by combining them in different ways or substituting related terms. Also, try using one of the breaches of ethics outlined in "Examples of Breach of Ethics for Counselors" at the top of the middle column. Add it to your search terms, for example:

confidentiality AND counselors AND ethics violations

breach of confidentiality AND counselors