LibGuides: Nature Smart Library: Pollution

Quick Links

Bellevue University Library
BUILD IT
An online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services
Copyright Center
Cyberactive Online Classroom
Interlibrary Loan
Library Databases
Library Hours/Contacts

NoodleTools
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Personal Librarian Program
A member of the reference team will work with you one-on-one throughout your academic career to answer your questions about the research process.
more...less...
Previously called the Research Assistance Program
Writing Center
Zoom for Reference
Need help? Sign up for a 60-minute Zoom session with the Library Reference Team. Sessions are offered Monday through Friday 9-6 PM.

Pollution Resources

Carbon criminals, climate crimes by Kramer, R. C.
Call Number: HV6401 K73 2020
ISBN: 9781978805583
Rutgers University Press
Pollution by Grey House Publishing (compiler)
Call Number: TD174 P65 2020
ISBN: 9781642656046
Grey House Publishing
The science of environmental pollution by Spellman, F. R.
Call Number: TD174 S675 2021
ISBN: 9781032016832
CRC Press
The war on the EPA: America's endangered environmental protections by Alley, W. M., & Alley, R.
Call Number: GE140 A45 2020
ISBN: 9781538131510
Rowman & Littlefield

Air pollution studies by Passerini, G., et al.
ISBN: 9781784663735
Publication Date: 2020
Ebooks in EBSCOhost
Are SDGs a myth?: Industrial development and water pollution in India by Bansal, N., & Parthasarathy, R.
ISBN: 9781000196375
Publication Date: 2020
ProQuest Ebook Central
Blue skies, blue seas: Air pollution, marine plastics, and coastal erosion in the Middle East and North Africa by Heger, M., et al.
ISBN: 9781464818134
Publication Date: 2022
ProQuest Ebook Central
Environmental pollution, biodiversity, and sustainable development: Issues and remediation by Nangyal, H., & Khan, M. S.
ISBN: 9780429560033
Publication Date: 2020
ProQuest Ebook Central
Environmental technologies to treat rare earth element pollution by Sinharoy, A., & Lens, P.
ISBN: 9781789062243
Publication Date: 2022
ProQuest Ebook Central
The great smog of China: A short event history of air pollution by Ahlers, A. L., Hansen, M. H., & Svarverud, R.
ISBN: 9781952636127
Publication Date: 2020
Ebooks in EBSCOhost
Light pollution, urbanization and ecology by Hufnagel, L.
ISBN: 9781838809720
Publication Date: 2022
Directory of Open Access Books
Management of noise pollution by Suhanek, M.
ISBN: 9781837686551
Publication Date: 2023
Directory of Open Access Books
Marine pollution - Monitoring, management and mitigation by Reichelt-Brushett, A.
ISBN: 9783031101274
Publication Date: 2023
ProQuest Ebook Central
Microplastic pollution: Causes, effects and control by Singh, R., & Sharma, N. R.
ISBN: 9789815165104
Publication Date: 2023
ProQuest Ebook Central
The mitigation of marine plastic pollution in international law: Facts, policy and legal implications by Schäli, J.
ISBN: 9789004508613
Publication Date: 2022
Directory of Open Access Books
Organic pollution in the marine environment of Tunisia by Necibi, M., & Mzoughi, N.
ISBN: 9781527584501
Publication Date: 2022
ProQuest Ebook Central
Plastic legacies: Pollution, persistence, and politics by Farrelly, T., Taffel, S., & Shaw, I.
ISBN: 9781771993289
Publication Date: 2021
ProQuest Ebook Central
Potentially toxic elements pollution in urban and suburban environments by Guagliardi, I.
ISBN: 9783036562377
Publication Date: 2023
Directory of Open Access Books
Resisting garbage: The politics of waste management in American cities by Pollans, L. B.
ISBN: 9781477323717
Publication Date: 2021
ProQuest Ebook Central
Striving for clean air: Air pollution and public health in South Asia by The World Bank
ISBN: 9781464818387
Publication Date: 2023
ProQuest Ebook Central
Traffic-related air pollution and exposure in urbanized areas by Połednik, B., et al.
ISBN: 9781000482423
Publication Date: 2021
ProQuest Ebook Central
Water pollution XV by Mambretti, S., & Palencia Jiménez, J. S.
ISBN: 9781784663834
Publication Date: 2021
Ebooks in EBSCOhost

Aluminum environmental pollution: The silent killer by Alasfar, R. H., & Isaifan, R. J.
Environmental Science and Pollution Research, (2021, September), 28(33), 44587-44597.
Ambient air pollution: Health hazards to children by Brumberg, H. L., et al.
Pediatrics, (2021, June), 147(6), e2021051484.
Are developed countries outsourcing pollution? by Levinson, A.
Journal of Economic Perspectives, (2023), 37(3), 87-110.
Discovery and quantification of plastic particle pollution in human blood by Leslie, H. A., et al.
Environment International, (2022, May), Vol. 163, 107199.
Ecological light pollution by Jones, T. M., & McNamara, K. B.
Current Biology, (2023, August 21), 33(16), R843-R844.
The global threat from plastic pollution by MacLeod, M., et al.
Science, (2021, July 2), 373(6550), 61-65.
How does green investment affect environmental pollution? Evidence from China by Ren, S., Hao, Y., & Wu, H.
Environmental and Resources Economies, (2022, January), 81(1), 25-51.
Human health and ocean pollution by Demeneix, B., & Hahn, M. E.
Annals of Global Health, (2020), 86(1), 151.
The mortality and medical costs of air pollution: Evidence from changes in wind direction by Deryugina, T., et al.
American Economic Review, (2019), 109(12), 4178-4219.
Noise pollution by Slabbekoorn, H.
Current Biology, (2019, October 7), 29(19), pR957-R960.
Pharmaceutical pollution of the world's rivers by Wilkinson, J. L., et al.
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, (2022), 119(8), e2113947119.
Plastic pollution in the marine environment by Thushari, G. G. N., & Senevirathna, J. D. M.
Heliyon, (2020, August 27), 6(8), e04709.
Plastic pollution on the world's coral reefs by Pinheiro, H. T.
Nature, (2023), 619(7969), 311-316.
Plastic pollution solutions: Emerging technologies to prevent and collect marine plastic pollution by Schmaltz, E., et al.
Environment International, (2020, November), Vol. 144, 106067.
Pollution and the heart by Rajagopalan, S., & Landrigan, P. J.
The New England Journal of Medicine, (2021, November 11), 385(20), 1881-1892.
Unwatched pollution: The effects of intermittent monitoring on air quality by Zou, E. Y.
American Economic Review, (2021), 111(7), 2101-2126.
US water pollution regulation over the past half century: Burning waters to crystal springs? by Keiser, D. A., & Shapiro, J. S.
Journal of Economic Perspectives, (2019), 33(4), 51-75.

Library Database Videos

After smoke
Alexander Street Video: 2:07
You may have heard of first and second-hand smoke but did you know about third hand and after smoke? NIST scientists have measured how much chemical airborne emissions we are exposed to once a cigarette but has been extinguished.
Air pollution: Health risks you should know about
Films on Demand: 1:25
According to the Environmental Defense Fund air pollution is now the biggest environmental risk for early death. Find out how this hazard might impact your health.
Battling space, ocean and noise pollution
Alexander Street Video: 23:05
The power of technology to build a better world - incredible people beating the odds to follow their dreams, and the remarkable new technologies enabling them and others to thrive.
Can we turn back the tide of plastic packaging?
Alexander Street Video: 5:00
The consumer movement against plastic food and beverage packaging is gathering momentum, and companies are beginning to respond. The FT's Anna Gross takes a closer look at some of the more innovative products available, including reusable takeaway cups and compostable packaging.
India's effort to clean up sacred but polluted Ganga River
Films on Demand: 5:23
The Ganga River, known as the Ganges under British rule, is one of the most revered waterways in the world -- and also among the most polluted. Stretching from the Himalayan foothills to the Bay of Bengal, it provides water to nearly half a billion people, more than any other river in the world. Special correspondent Fred de Sam Lazaro reports from India on the latest efforts to clean the river.
Learn about the impact of light pollution on the environment
Alexander Street Video: 3:33
Demystified video for light pollution.
Learn more about the major kinds of pollution in this infographic explainer
Alexander Street Video: 5:06
Discover the major kinds of pollution: air, land, and water pollution; plastic pollution; light, noise, and heat pollution.
Listening to our planet
Alexander Street Video: 22:59
For 30 years, French bio-acoustic engineer Michel Andre has been measuring ocean noise pollution to help mitigate its impact on marine wildlife. Learn how he listens to our planet in order to protect it.
Plastic, plastic, everywhere, in Journey to a New Earth, episode 2
ProQuest Video: 18:14
The New Earth team joins pro surfer Koa Smith to learn about the problem of microplastics on Oahu’s North Shore, what efforts are underway to fix the issue and innovative ways entrepreneurs are utilizing what is being reclaimed.
The plastic industry knowingly pushed recycling myth for decades, new report finds
Alexander Street Video: 6:00
The world produces an average of 430 million metric tons of plastic each year. The United States alone produces tens of millions of tons of plastic waste annually. Yet on average, only about 5 to 6 percent of plastic in the U.S. is recycled. NPR correspondent Michael Copley joins Ali Rogin to discuss a new report on the plastic industry’s tactics to push recycling and avoid regulation.
Plastic wars
Films on Demand: 53:16
Did the plastic industry use recycling to sell more plastic? With the industry expanding like never before and the crisis of ocean pollution growing, FRONTLINE and NPR investigate the fight over the future of plastics.
Poisoned ground: The tragedy at Love Canal
Films on Demand: 1:52:39
The dramatic and inspiring story of ordinary women who fought against overwhelming odds for the health and safety of their families. In the late 1970s, residents of Love Canal in Niagara Falls, NY, discovered that their homes, schools and playgrounds were built on top of a former chemical waste dump. Housewives activated to create a grassroots movement that galvanized the landmark Superfund Bill.
Pollution
Films on Demand: 2:46
This short program looks at the causes and dangers of pollution on our planet.
Why cows, steel and cement pollute so much (and how to fix it) - Bloomberg quick tales
Films on Demand: 4:43
The scope of decarbonization isn’t just limited to power generation and transportation. The approach extends to industries including steel, cattle, and cement manufacturing. All will require major change in order to slow global warming.

Online Videos

Air pollution
(World Health Organization) Air pollution is contamination of the indoor or outdoor environment by any chemical, physical or biological agent that modifies the natural characteristics of the atmosphere... WHO data show that almost all of the global population (99%) breathe air that exceeds WHO guideline limits and contains high levels of pollutants, with low- and middle-income countries suffering from the highest exposures.
Air pollution
(U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) Climate change is increasing ground-level ozone and particulate matter air pollution in some locations. This leads to many negative impacts on human health.
Air pollution and your health
(National Institute of Environmental Health Services) Air pollution is a familiar environmental health hazard. We know what we’re looking at when brown haze settles over a city, exhaust billows across a busy highway, or a plume rises from a smokestack. Some air pollution is not seen, but its pungent smell alerts you.
Disparities in the impact of air pollution
(American Lung Association) The burden of air pollution is not evenly shared. Poorer people and some racial and ethnic groups are among those who often face higher exposure to pollutants and who may experience greater responses to such pollution.
Effects of air pollution
(UCAR Center for Science Education) Air pollution affects all things. It is harmful to our health, and it impacts the environment by reducing visibility and blocking sunlight, causing acid rain, and harming forests, wildlife, and agriculture. Greenhouse gas pollution, the cause of climate change, affects the entire planet.
Ground-level ozone pollution
(United States Environmental Protection Agency) Ozone can be “good” or “bad” for health and the environment depending on where it’s found in the atmosphere. Stratospheric ozone is “good” because it protects living things from ultraviolet radiation from the sun. Ground-level ozone, the topic of this website, is “bad” because it can trigger a variety of health problems.
EPA regulations help states reduce ozone levels in outdoor air. Learn more about ground-level ozone.
Ocean plastics pollution
(Center for Biological Diversity) Plastic accumulating in our oceans and on our beaches has become a global crisis. Billions of pounds of plastic can be found in swirling convergences that make up about 40 percent of the world's ocean surfaces. At current rates plastic is expected to outweigh all the fish in the sea by 2050.
Ocean pollution and marine debris
(National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) Each year, billions of pounds of trash and other pollutants enter the ocean. Where does this pollution come from? Where does it go?
Particle pollution and health
(New York State Department of Health) Particle pollution from fine particulates (PM2.5) is a concern when levels in air are unhealthy. Breathing in unhealthy levels of PM2.5 can increase the risk of health problems like heart disease, asthma, and low birth weight. Unhealthy levels can also reduce visibility and cause the air to appear hazy.
Plastic pollution
(U.S. Department of State) Plastic pollution is a global problem that affects our natural world and its biodiversity. It impacts our environment, health, food security, and economies.
Pollution
(National Geographic) Pollution is the introduction of harmful materials into the environment. These harmful materials are called pollutants.
Pollution
(National Wildlife Federation) Every day the byproducts of our daily lives—sewage, exhaust, trash, agricultural and lawn chemicals, industrial and powerplant emissions, and more—make their way via the air and water into the natural environment and become pollutants. As big as our planet is, it's not big enough to dilute or absorb all the waste, chemicals, and nutrients that billions of people are continuously producing.
Pollution
(World Bank Group) Industrialization, use of pesticides and nitrogen-based fertilizers, crop residues in agriculture, urbanization, forest fires, desert dust, and inadequate waste management have intensified environmental health risks and pollution, especially in low- and middle-income countries.
Pollution prevention (P2)
(United States Environmental Protection Agency) Pollution prevention (P2), also known as source reduction, is any practice that reduces, eliminates, or prevents pollution at its source prior to recycling, treatment or disposal.
Learn more about P2 and why the U.S. Congress declared it the most desirable approach for addressing pollution whenever feasible.
Soil contaminants
(Soil Science Society of America) In its original state, soil was an uncontaminated substance covering the earth. But humans have intentionally and accidentally poured harmful products onto it in some areas. The waste can hurt the soil and possibly human, plant, and animal health. This section covers the most common soil contaminants, how they got there, and how they can pose problems for human health.
Types of pollution
(UN Environment Programme) Click on the boxes to get an overview of each different type of pollution, including air, freshwater, land and social, chemical, etc.

Libguide Curator

Lorraine Patrick

Email Me

Contact:

Bellevue University
Freeman/Lozier Library
1000 Galvin Rd. S.
402-557-7313

Nature Smart Library: Pollution

Quick Links

Pollution Resources

Libguide Curator

Need help? Ask a Librarian!