Online Library Instruction
Date: Monday, July 24, 2023
Time: 6:00pm - 7:00pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Online: Register HERE
This is an online meeting. Registration is required.
***
Want to know more about how to navigate the library website and utilize its resources and tools? This instructor-led online library instruction tutorial will walk you through the main functions of the library, and show you how and where to search. This is a great tool for online students who want a more in depth understanding of the library without having to visit the library.
Online Library Instruction
Date: Wednesday, July 26, 2023
Time: 10:00am - 11:00am CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Online: Register HERE
This is an online meeting. Registration is required.
***
Want to know more about how to navigate the library website and utilize its resources and tools? This instructor-led online library instruction tutorial will walk you through the main functions of the library, and show you how and where to search. This is a great tool for online students who want a more in depth understanding of the library without having to visit the library.
Virtual Reference Help Drop-In
(Ongoing)
Date: Mondays & Wednesdays (coming up - July 17 & 19)
Time: 9am - 11am CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Remote Session (Zoom meeting)
Online: Access HERE
This is an online meeting. Registration is required.
****
Do you have reference questions or need help using library resources? Drop into this Zoom room to chat with one of our librarians! They can walk through the problem with you and even share your screen (if you get stuck).
Welcome to the Bellevue University guide for Data Analytics. The purpose of this LibGuide is to provide a limited set of resources to get you started understanding the exciting and often confusing world of Data Analytics. As Data Analytics represents rapidly changing technologies and capabilities, the organization of this LibGuide will likely change over time. At present, this LibGuide is organized to provide a high-level overview of key Data Analytics topics and resources to further your knowledge in this space.
If you need further assistance, please contact the Library Reference Staff
The term “Data Analytics” carries varied meanings depending on the context of the discussion. Often, the terms Data Analysis and Data Analytics are used interchangeably, although in many circles these terms carry very different and specific meanings. The attached document Demystifying and Developing a Framework for "Data Analytics" examines a brief history of data and analytics, provides a framework for Analytics, and provides examples of technologies and techniques used at different levels of complexity when working with data.
Figure 1 presents a contextual model of “Data Analytics” as used in business. Guided by the principle that technology should not be pursued for the sake of the technology itself, but rather for a specific business purpose, the center of any Data Analytics effort should focus on supporting a business strategy, value, or objective. Once a clear business need is established, the model recognizes that a comprehensive analytics effort involves domain knowledge, numeracy and statistics skills, data literacy, and problem-solving skills.
Further, the concepts, skills, and technologies used when working with Data Analytics involves a hierarchy, which includes basic data skills, data analysis, data analytics, and data science. The aforementioned article explores these components and Appendix A provides examples of the concepts and techniques used at each of these levels.
BELLEVUE UNIVERSITY INFORMATION LITERACY DEVELOPMENT
INTERACTIVE TUTORIAL
http://library.bellevue.edu/find/tutorials/build-it/
BUILD IT is an online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services. It is made up of five self contained modules, each followed by an interactive quiz. Go through BUILD IT from beginning to end or start at the Site Map using just the pages you need. Click on the link above or on one of the modules below, or look for BUILD IT in the left menu of the library homepage under Tutorials.
Module One: Getting to Know the Bellevue University Library
An overview of library resources and services and introduction to the library homepage.
Module Two: Planning Your Project
The steps involved in planning your research paper: Includes focusing your topic, outlining, identifying keywords, Boolean searching, and more.
Module Three: Locating Information
Finding and evaluating information, including books, eBooks, articles, and websites. Includes sample and interactive database searches.
Module Four: Citing Your Sources
Covers the basics of plagiarism, citation, and copyright.
Module Five: Putting it all together
How to organize your research into a formal paper, includes note taking, revising, and formatting.
You will be prompted for your BRUIN Connect login when you attempt to access the online library databases from off-campus. Your password is the same one you use for Blackboard. If you experience issues logging in, try clearing your browsing history and/or change browsers Make sure your password is current; it must be changed every 90 days. Click here to change your password.
