LibGuides: Finding Case Law Online: United States Supreme Court

United States Supreme Court

At the top of the United States' Judicial Branch of government is the Supreme Court. It is the highest court in the nation and the final word on the interpretation of the United States Constitution. The resources found in this section cover the opinions and decisions of this vital tribunal, many of which fundamentally changed the trajectory of United States history and culture.

Each link goes directly to the website described and is related to the United States Supreme Court in some way.

Quick Links

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Writing Center

United States Supreme Court Resources

The Supreme Court database
(Washington University Law) The Supreme Court Database is the definitive source for researchers, students, journalists, and citizens interested in the U.S. Supreme Court. The Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1791 and 2021 terms.
Supreme Court decisions, 1937-1975
(U.S. Government Publishing Office) The full text of Supreme Court Decisions issued between 1937 and 1975, containing 7,407 Decisions from volumes 300 through 422 of U.S. Reports has been provided to the Government Publishing Office through efforts of the Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs, Office of Management and Budget.
Supreme Court – Most recent decisions
(Cornell Law School: Legal Information Institute) Recent Supreme Court decisions, ranging from 1990 to the present.
Supreme Court of the United States
(Supreme Court of the United States) The Court is the highest tribunal in the Nation for all cases and controversies arising under the Constitution or the laws of the United States. As the final arbiter of the law, the Court is charged with ensuring the American people the promise of equal justice under law and, thereby, also functions as guardian and interpreter of the Constitution.
United States Supreme Court Cases
(FindLaw) FindLaw's searchable database of U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1760. Supreme Court opinions are browsable by year and U.S. Reports volume number, and are searchable by party name, case title, citation, full text and docket number.

LibGuide Curator

Michelle Arnold

Email Me

Finding Case Law Online: United States Supreme Court

United States Supreme Court

Quick Links

United States Supreme Court Resources

LibGuide Curator

Need help? Ask a Librarian!