Common Research Pitfalls
Date: Thursday, October 17, 2024
Time: 7:00pm - 8:00pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Online: Register HERE
This is an online meeting. Registration is required.
***
In this session, you will learn how to avoid common mistakes that students often make when conducting research. Reference Librarian Michelle Arnold will cover issues such as starting in the wrong place, trouble accessing articles, searches that don't yield good results, and more. From knowing where to begin to keeping track of what you've found, this workshop will help you avoid getting lost on your research journey.
Online Library Instruction
Date: Tuesday, October 22, 2024
Time: 6:00pm - 7:00pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Online: Register HERE
This is an online meeting. Registration is required.
***
Want to know more about how to navigate the library website and utilize its resources and tools? This instructor-led online library instruction tutorial will walk you through the main functions of the library, and show you how and where to search. This is a great tool for online students who want a more in depth understanding of the library without having to visit the library.
Stress-Less Stress Balls
Date: Tuesday, November 05, 2024
Time: 2:00pm - 3:00pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Bellevue University Freeman/Lozier Library, Main Area
Information: HERE
***
Take a break during Stress-Less Week and swing by the Library to make a DIY stress ball before finals! Supplies will be provided.
Wounded Knee & Impact of Northwest Nebraska
Date: Tuesday, November 12, 2024
Time: 12:30pm - 1:30pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Bellevue University Freeman/Lozier Library, LIB 480
Online: Register HERE
This is both in-person & online. Registration is required
***
Join the library for a presentation by Broc Anderson about the complex economic and social relationship between Northwest Nebraska and Pine Ridge Reservation from the 1870s to the early 20th century.
This event is made possible by Humanities Nebraska and the Nebraska Cultural Endowment.
Virtual Reference Help
(Ongoing)
Date: Schedule at least 24 hours in advance
Time: CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Remote Session (Zoom meeting)
Online: Make an Appointment
This is an online meeting. Registration is required.
****
Do you have reference questions or need help using library resources? Book a Zoom room to chat with one of our librarians! They can walk through the problem with you and even share your screen (if you get stuck).
Welcome to the Bellevue University guide on Dr. Clif Mason--Professor Emeritus Collection. This guide honors Bellevue University's Professor Emeritus and Poet Dr. Clif Mason. The guide showcases his poetry, presentations, and poetry recommendations. The collection provides resources found in the library poetry collection. Resources include print and electronic books, streaming videos, and websites. Print book titles link directly to the library online catalog, e-book titles link directly to the full text of the book, streaming videos and websites cover various aspects of the topic.
You will be prompted for your Bellevue University login when accessing the library resources from off campus.
If you have research questions, the Bellevue University Library reference staff is available for assistance.
You will be prompted for your BU login when you attempt to access the library databases and e-books from off campus.Your username is your 8 digit student ID# preceded by Bellevue\ . Be sure to use a backslash and not a forward slash, after Bellevue, with no spaces before or after it. Your password is the same one you use for Blackboard and BRUIN. It must meet the requirements of 8-32 characters using a combination of upper and lower case letters, numerals, and special characters. You will be required to change your password every 90 days.
BELLEVUE UNIVERSITY INFORMATION LITERACY DEVELOPMENT
INTERACTIVE TUTORIAL
http://library.bellevue.edu/find/tutorials/build-it/
BUILD IT is an online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services. It is made up of five self contained modules, each followed by an interactive quiz. Go through BUILD IT from beginning to end or start at the Site Map using just the pages you need. Click on the link above or on one of the modules below, or look for BUILD IT in the left menu of the library homepage under Tutorials.
Module One: Getting to Know the Bellevue University Library
An overview of library resources and services and introduction to the library homepage.
Module Two: Planning Your Project
The steps involved in planning your research paper: Includes focusing your topic, outlining, identifying keywords, Boolean searching, and more.
Module Three: Locating Information
Finding and evaluating information, including books, eBooks, articles, and websites. Includes sample and interactive database searches.
Module Four: Citing Your Sources
Covers the basics of plagiarism, citation, and copyright.
Module Five: Putting it all together
How to organize your research into a formal paper, includes note taking, revising, and formatting.
