Common Research Pitfalls - Subject Headings & Cited Sources
Date: Wednesday, December 4, 2024
Time: 3:00pm - 4:00pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Online: Register HERE
This is an online meeting. Registration is required.
***
Learn how to find appropriate Library of Congress headings and use those headings in the catalog to search. Reference Librarian Kyle Williams will teach you search tactics for finding related articles through sources cited in the Discovery Search. With this information, you will be able to utilize the Library's catalog to streamline your search process.
Fidget Jewelry Craft
Date: Thursday, December 5, 2024
Time: 2:00pm - 3:00pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Bellevue University Freeman/Lozier Library, Main Area
Information: HERE
***
Stop in the Library and create fidget-friendly jewelry or keychains! Supplies will be provided.
Hot Cocoa Bar
Date: Tuesday, December 17, 2024
Time: All Day
Campus: Bellevue University Freeman/Lozier Library, Main Area
Information: HERE
***
Drop by the Library and make yourself a tasty cup of cocoa. Choose from a variety of mix-ins while supplies last!
Virtual Reference Help
(Ongoing)
Date: Schedule at least 24 hours in advance
Time: CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Remote Session (Zoom meeting)
Online: Make an Appointment
This is an online meeting. Registration is required.
****
Do you have reference questions or need help using library resources? Book a Zoom room to chat with one of our librarians! They can walk through the problem with you and even share your screen (if you get stuck).
Research Assistance Program (RAP)
(Ongoing)
Enroll: Information
****
The Research Assistance Program (RAP) pairs you with a BU Librarian to work with one-on-one throughout your academic career and answer questions about the research process.
Welcome to the Bellevue University guide for HI 111 World History II. This introduces students to world history for 1500 AD to modern times. The course emphasizes histories of Europe, Asia, and North America and includes histories of Africa, Latin America, the Middle East, and Oceania. Primary focus is on the historical significance of political, economic, demographic, and cultural changes.
This guide provides electronic resources to support all the courses offered for this degree. Click on the tab for the appropriate course, then navigate to the desired type of resource. Resources include electronic books, journal articles, and streaming videos. In addition, there is a separate tab for library databases that are most useful for finding more information on topics for World History II, as well as a websites tab listing online sources of reliable information. There is also a Citations tab with links to tools to use for citing sources.
You will be prompted for your BU login when accessing the library resources from off campus.Your username is your 8 digit student ID# preceded by Bellevue\ . Be sure to use a backslash and not a forward slash, after Bellevue, with no spaces before or after it. Remember, you must change your password every 90 days.
For best results, use Google Chrome. If you need further assistance, please contact the Library Reference Staff
BELLEVUE UNIVERSITY INFORMATION LITERACY DEVELOPMENT
INTERACTIVE TUTORIAL
http://library.bellevue.edu/find/tutorials/build-it/
BUILD IT is an online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services. It is made up of five self contained modules, each followed by an interactive quiz. Go through BUILD IT from beginning to end or start at the Site Map using just the pages you need. Click on the link above or on one of the modules below, or look for BUILD IT in the left menu of the library homepage under Tutorials.
Module One: Getting to Know the Bellevue University Library
An overview of library resources and services and introduction to the library homepage.
Module Two: Planning Your Project
The steps involved in planning your research paper: Includes focusing your topic, outlining, identifying keywords, Boolean searching, and more.
Module Three: Locating Information
Finding and evaluating information, including books, eBooks, articles, and websites. Includes sample and interactive database searches.
Module Four: Citing Your Sources
Covers the basics of plagiarism, citation, and copyright.
Module Five: Putting it all together
How to organize your research into a formal paper, includes note taking, revising, and formatting.
